map placeholder

Thackeray's

85 London Rd, Tunbridge Wells, TN1 1EA

(((() French
  •  - Kent
Average
Main course: £25
Food spend: £45
Opening hours
Tuesday to Saturday: 12:00 - 14:30 & 18:30 -22:30
Sunday: 12:00 - 14:30.

Consistently top class in every respect

Charlie 28 October 2017
from London

View all 304 reviews

Praised by renowned critics Giles Coren and Jay Rayner, Thackeray’s Tunbridge Wells serves fine French food in the former home of the novelist William Makepeace Thackeray. Built in the traditional Kentish style, the 17th-century building provides a unique setting for the flavour-packed modern French menu.

Created by head chef Richard Phillips, the Thackeray’s menu changes regularly to offer local and seasonal ingredients at their best. With each dish exquisitely presented, expect the likes of pot roasted mallard duck with a reduced sherry glaze, or the rich roasted loin of venison with sautéed foie gras, potato fondant, butternut squash, honey-glazed parsnip and a dark chocolate and juniper jus.

Desserts at Thackeray’s restaurant are every bit as imaginative. Savour the bitter chocolate and clementine jaffa cake with clementine gel and poached kumquats, or the Italian lime torte with lemongrass and black pepper crumble, lime leaf syrup, almond sponge and bay leaf ice cream.

Boasting a Japanese terrace for al fresco dining, Thackeray’s Kent offers fine dining in a historic tranquil setting. Tunbridge Wells town centre is a short walk away.

Thackeray's

85 London Rd, Tunbridge Wells, TN1 1EA

Contact +44 1892511921
Website

See all restaurants in Kent

See all restaurants in Tunbridge Wells

Customer reviews for Thackeray's

4.5 (((() (based on 304 reviews)
95% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (210)
  • lunch (206)
  • luxury (156)
  • romantic (142)
  • private dining (127)
  • value (69)
  • business (54)
  • large parties (37)
  • al fresco (28)
  • entertainment (22)
  • trendy (21)
  • views (13)
  • afternoon tea (8)
  • breakfast (4)
  • child friendly (3)
  • ((((( 14 August 2017 by Anna from Tonbridge

    A really fantastic lunch. The service was impeccable and the food wonderful.

  • ((((( 14 August 2017 by Paul from Dartford

    We have dined several times at Thackeray's, this was the first time on the terrace with the music. Absolutely fantastic afternoon, music great, young staff very polite and great knowledge on the food. Service was well timed , not rushed and food fantastic. We'll be back for sure.

  • ((((( 7 August 2017 by Alan from Tunbridge Wells

    Absolutely wonderful evening with great and interesting food and attentive friendly service. Great place to celebrate our daughters 21st

  • (((** 6 August 2017 by Alan from Woking

    Good but not as good as on previous visits. Has the chef changed?

  • ((((( 31 July 2017 by Wiz from Tunbridge Wells

    Very lovely as usual. Amazing food, lovely building, great staff. Love it - can't fault it :). The Jo Malone toiletries are a lot better than the previous offering. I would like to see a return to paper towels/ cloths to dry one's hands on.

  • ((((( 31 July 2017 by Will from Eridge

    Everything was fantastic - great meal !

  • ((((( 30 July 2017 by Nancy from Tunbridge Wells

    Excellent & worthy of regaining a star. Excellent lunch menu value. We will be back again and again!

  • ((((( 28 July 2017 by Patrick from UK

    Excellent lunch, attentive staff, high quality food, imaginative menu, very good value.

  • ((((* 27 July 2017 by Prof from Tunbridge Wells

    Very nice for a long lingering lunch. Very surprised that the lunch menu in the restaurant was different to the one on display outside. First course a bit of a joke as tiny piece of food swamped in a huge bowl. Main course excellent all round. Desserts also good. Bread excellent. Service slow but good. WE had the wine accompaniment the glasses were minimally filled which is a shame as not expensive wines. Very good value.

  • ((*** 25 July 2017 by Chantilly from LONDON

    Disappointing.....
    I had been to Thackeray's a few years ago with my family and thought I would re-book for my birthday! I was so disappointed after having such an amazing experience previously.
    Our main waiter was quite rude and forceful. Four of my guests ordered the beef rump which came with a side of roast potatoes, however when our main was delivered these were forgotten. When we questioned this, the main waiter said we could add these as a side (even though they came with the dish). He didn't apologise for the mistake but instead wanted to cover it up and think we had misunderstood the menu, even though other guests around us having the same dish had the side included.
    We had to wait for the potatoes to be cook and brought to the table, hence our food went cold and one of my guests had finished their meal by the time they did arrive.
    For pudding we ordered cheese and a souffle but were not told this would take additional wait time to cook, when we questioned why the food was taking a while, we were then told the souffle needed the extra time. We were told it would be another 15 minutes, even though we had already been waiting this. However minutes later the Head Waiter told us it was minutes away? Our main waiter was again unapologetic for the confusion and continued to shrug his shoulders which was extremely rude and frustrating, he didn't seem to care.
    This was my birthday meal to celebrate with my family that I was really looking forward too, which turned into a disappointing and frustrating meal, highlighted by the lacking service. I will not be returning. To add insult a Chocolate Birthday Message on a plate was delivered as we were paying the bill, which they had obviously forgotten to bring out, even thought this was mentioned in the booking.

Unfortunately, you can't book Thackeray's online on this site

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant