Reviews of Texture Restaurant and Champagne Bar

Guide MICHELIN 2019

4.6
(based on 64 reviews)
34 Portman Street, London, W1H 7BY
64 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Michael H from HK
    10 August 2019

    Excellent

  • By Amanda S from London
    10 August 2019

    The food was absolutely sublime- well deserving of its Michelin star. Of particular note the scallop starter and pea amuse bouche. Particularly interesting was the. He’d skilful pairing of young vegetables with Asian influences with locally sourced fish. In our opinion though the prices are steeper than necessary - particularly a ribeye steak dish at £48. Portion sizes of the mains are incredibly small but diners are satisfied having eaten very heavy bread. The service wasn’t of a sufficiently high standard on this occasiin, waiters being too few so there was a slightly frantic feeling. Our waiter’s English was also extremely difficult to understand even on several repetitions of ingredients.

  • By Chris R from Charlottesville
    5 July 2019

    Great fish spiced in an imaginative way. Great breads and served with healthy olive oil

  • By Fabian Fjeldstad E from Dublin
    1 June 2019

    Brilliant service and incredible food!

  • By Sarah H from London
    11 May 2019

    We ate on a lunch deal, which was very good value. We loved almost everything about this restaurant. The food was amazing, the service excellent and the surroundings modern, yet inviting. The only negative were the tables. The base flares out so that if you are at a table for 2 there's no where to put your feet unless you want to sit straddling the table base, which isn't an elegant position for a woman. Also the height relationship of the chair to the table was totally wrong. The tables were far too high.

  • By Pamela M from LONDON
    9 May 2019

    A most marvellous lunch with perfectly judged courses, an excellent sommelier's advice, attentive - not intrusive - service. This was our best ever Bookatable deal.

  • By Naomi G from London
    3 May 2019

    Wasn’t sure exactly what to expect but this place is exquisite. The food is perfect and the service is beautiful. If you were to be a little bit picky (and I can), the food is really just classics cooked elegantly (don’t expect wild and wacky) and the seats are uncomfortable (luckily a bit too much alcohol and the great food does take your mind off this).

  • By Megan S from Swansea
    27 April 2019

    As soon as we walked into the restaurant we were impressed with the friendly service and the chic but quirky decor. We booked for lunch and ended up staying for over 3 hours, enjoying the lovely champagne and wine and delicious food off the lunch menu. We didn’t feel rushed at all, and the staff went over and above to make sure our glasses were kept topped up. Loved everything about it- particularly the fluffy stool for my handbag!! Will visit again!

  • By Carsten R from Brussels
    26 April 2019

    Chic bar, good service, excellent Nordic cuisine, fair price!

  • By Tomas T from Kärna
    13 April 2019

    Lokal med trevlig skandinaviskinspirerad inredning. Maten och serveringen överträffade förväntningarna. Det var både en fest visuellt och smakmässigt. Möjligen kunde sparrisrätten ha haft en bättre bredd i smaker. Exvis haft marinerad (syrad) sparris också. Laxförrätten var bättre enligt sällskapet.