Guide MICHELIN 2020

Reviews of Staith House

4.4
(based on 199 reviews)
57 Low Lights, North Shields, North East England, NE30 1JA
199 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Lin S from Newcastle
    24 October 2020

    As ever super lunch at Staith House

  • By Christine T from Newcastle
    18 October 2020

    Sunday roast

  • By Gemma P from North Shields
    18 October 2020

    The Sunday lunch was amazing. The reason for scoring a bit less was that my little boy didn’t receive his drink of water and my husband couldn’t have his first choice of beer as there was none left on draught. I also felt the restaurant felt quite cold. But otherwise amazing food.

  • By David I from Newcastle
    16 October 2020

    Food delicious place was lovely service great .been a few times always good

  • By Janine McCluskey M from Newcastle
    11 October 2020

    Poor service, empty glasses collected but nobody asking if you wanted another drink. Sunday lunch was nice but massively over priced for one slice of meat and one roast potato. Will not be back anytime soon.

  • By Kate M from NE
    11 October 2020

    Sunday dinner was really good we both had the beef- the Yorkshire pudding was amazing!

  • By Andrea L from North Shields
    9 October 2020

    Another fantastic meal at the Staith House! This is the first time we have been our for dinner since March and I wouldn’t chose anywhere else to visit for our 10th anniversary meal! It felt surprisingly safe to be out again as the team at the Staith House clearly took the Covid pandemic very seriously and we were given a lovely quiet table away from other diners. As always, the food was exceptional. Beautifully presented, tasty and such a great menu of locally sourced dishes to chose from. It was such a shame that we were too full to enjoy a desert! The cod, lentils and bacon was stunning! So was the ham hock starter - the toasted bread was gorgeous! Some local folk don’t appreciate the effort put into this standard of food and post ugly comments about it being over priced...it isn’t the cheapest place around, for sure, but we believe that you pay for what you get! And what you get is outstanding food, carefully prepared and stunningly presented which is full of great flavour! The young man who served us, who has been there for four and a half years, is always a pleasure to see - friendly, chatty and an all round canny lad! We just love it there. Thanks guys - you are the best!

  • By MRS JOAN JORDAN J from North Shields
    2 October 2020

    This is one of our favourite restaurants. We think staff are very friendly and well trained on covid prevention and shows through procedures in restaurant. The food is always amazing. We do prefer the Sunday menu as there is more to choose from.(especially the lamb roast).

  • By Lesley C from North Shields
    27 September 2020

    Food was realky delicious but could have been hotter

  • By John H from Newcastle Upon Tyne
    26 September 2020

    Really good experience, friendly staff as everything was explained to us especially the electronic menu. The food was excellent as well as the couple of pints I had. Really good atmosphere and would definitely go back.