Reviews of St Clements Restaurant

4.7
(based on 94 reviews)
3 Mercatoria,St Leonards on Sea, East Sussex, South East England, TN38 0EB
94 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Chris P from Tunbridge Wells
    23 October 2020

    Lovely food, great service, very pleased we went. Definitely will return, thanks!

  • By Elaine T from Dorchester
    10 October 2020

    A gem. Tucked away from the sea front but well worth a visit. The chef knows how to cook fish!

  • By Jayne B from London
    3 October 2020

    This is a hidden gem in St. Leonards. Food was amazing. The soda bread was outstanding! I’m not usually a desert person but couldn’t resist the treacle tart paired with the recommended Chenin blanc. Foodies heaven!!

  • By Simon I from London
    1 October 2020

    The seafood was top quality and cooked with skill. We had sardines, wild sea bass, john dory and hake. The dishes were well-thought out with a good balance of flavours. The menu changes daily so this is just a snapshot of what is available. We finished with a good traditional cheddar and local soft and blue cheeses. The service was attentive and timely without being intrusive. We would eat here again if we find ourselves in St Leonards.

  • By Clinton D from Hastings
    1 October 2020

    Cannot fault it for its presentation of local sourced fish and at a reasonable price. Good enough selection of wines. Party of 6 all happy.

  • By Mark P from London
    1 October 2020

    Lovely food and service. Definitely go for the fish! Even had a great English white wine!

  • By Peter M from London
    30 September 2020

    A quaint little restaurant offering great seafood dishes. The seafood linguini and Pancetta wrapped cod fillet with Hastings’ smoked haddock were both amazing.

  • By Fran T from London
    27 September 2020

    Charming service overall. Partner loved the hake. Sadly my own experience was let down by a couple of kitchen errors so in the spirit of Positive feedback I leave these. One - roast beef was not even medium rare which I find surprising. Perhaps best to ask customers how they like their beef. The galette Breton was dry and hard to eat even with ice cream.

  • By Maria S from Cambridge
    12 September 2020

    Hidden gem Fantastic food and service

  • By Jon A from Cambridge
    9 September 2020

    Recommended by bank dining club. Did not disappoint. Food was excellent and service friendly and welcoming but not overdone. Full on the Wednesday night and we were the last table at 8. Good atmosphere but loud which was OK for us but meant we cancelled lunch on Friday with my elderly parents as they would not have been heard over the background noise. Parking very difficult so allow ten mins to get there or go by taxi.