Reviews of St Andrews Surf & Turf

4.2
(based on 19 reviews)
Pilmour Links, St Andrews, KY16 9JQ
19 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Carina S from St Andrews
    25 October 2019

    Excellent food (the salmon starter, the monkfish main dish and the dessert). Also very kind waitresses and waiters! What was amazing to hear was that the chef didn't want to prepare my initial order (tuna) because he didn't like the quality of the tuna - it's great to hear they do value quality so much.

  • By Susan W from Motherwell
    27 August 2019

    Had booked surf and turf for birthday treat ,we have a black lab who is our baby .such a big baby not used to being n his own! Staff at surf and turf ,offered so many options that buddy could be near us to dine ,so we had fab meal and staff were so friendly and helpful will definitely come back

  • By David M from Perth
    25 August 2019

    Good food, good surroundings and great service

  • By Stephanie D from Leven
    24 August 2019

    Delicious steak and excellent service. The waiting staff were veyy accommodating for our two children and the children's menu was good. Beautiful views are a bonus and would make an excellebt choice for a special celebration.

  • By Jacqueline G from Dundee
    17 August 2019

    Fabulous

  • By Julie S from St Andrews
    17 August 2019

    Great service, lovely view and very well presented and beautifully tasting food.

  • By Philip E from Inverkip
    15 August 2019

    For a four star hotel the availability of produce from the menu was a disgrace. My wife is a vegetarian and as such requested the vegetarian menu. However there was little on this menu and all main courses appeared to be restricted to 3 choices of sushi. As a result my wife chose a soup with crispy croutons to start and a avocado sushi. The soup when it arrived had no crispy croutons. Her choice of avocado sushi was not available as they had almost no avocado to make the sushi as such she ordered another type of sushi only to be told that apparently they now had no sushi making products. However they could now offer her an avocado salad? In addition to this when my wife ordered a gin cocktail (one of only 5 options on the menu) it was no longer available neither was her second option? Even when it came to dessert 2 of the choices of ice cream were no longer available either. This lack of choice was not restricted to us as I overheard other tables being told that their choice from the menu was no longer available as the last one had just been sold? Ok that can sometimes happen, but there were only 3 tables in use at the time? As for the non vegetarian choice I chose, I chose the steak with a lobster tail. The steak was tiny and ruined by too much chewy fat. The lobster tail was a good size however it was very chewy and I was of the impression it had just been taken from the freezer and thrown on the barbecue. And finally when we were handed the bill it came to £20 more than I had ordered. Apparently they split the bill to itison and a room number (even if you are not a resident) As such thy had only taken half of my itison voucher off the bill. Added to this the waitress serving was suffering from a bad throat infection and was constantly coughing. The overall experience definitely leaves a lot to desire.

  • By Donald S from Edinburgh
    3 August 2019

    Had received a voucher for my birthday. Setting was wonderful, food excellent, service personable and attentive. Very much enjoyed the experience. Downside.. Wine list over the top expensive.

  • By Daisy M from StFillans
    27 July 2019

    Good.

  • By Derek R from Dundee
    27 July 2019

    Lovely atmosphere

2 Next page