Reviews of Spice Merchant - Henley-on-Thames

4.3
(based on 12 reviews)
25 Thameside, Henley On Thames, Berkshire, RG9 2LJ
12 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Andrew B from Delabole
    16 February 2019

    We used to live near Henley and went to Spice Merchant frequently and now whenever we are in the area we will visit. The food is outstanding and the service is always perfect too. We had a company party and used their outside catering service which was also superb.

  • By Louise C from Wallingford
    25 January 2019

    Great food but service slow and not particularly great. Wouldn’t mind too much but 12.5% service charge automatically added to bill and felt a £13 tip wasn’t deserved especially when it only covered 2 diners. Drinks expensive but food is excellent

  • By Tracy W from HENLEY-ON-THAMES
    24 August 2018

    Restaurant is nicely laid out and the back seating area is real surprise. Staff were friendly but obviously busy so felt a little hap-hazard. We were waiting to be seated for a while and then for our drinks and Food order. However food was lovely and tasted freshly cooked. We tried a variety of starters and mains. We enjoyed the evening but not as good experience we have had in the past.

  • By Julia F from Henley on Thames
    11 February 2018

    Great food and wine. Great service. great atmosphere.

  • By Keith B from maidenhead
    2 February 2018

    Excellent location, professional and experienced waiters, well presented table, fast service. Food tasty and up to standard though no 'wow' factor.

  • By Ann G from Sonning Common
    28 October 2017

    Wonderful evening at The Spice Merchant. Great food, great service and great choices. Wonderful options for vegetarians. Good quality and value for money.

  • By Andrew B from Fort Lauderdale
    21 October 2017

    Pleasant venue overlooking the water. Crisp white linens with attractive place settings and table centres. Very attentive service and excellent curry! The naan was a little bit doughy otherwise no complaints.

  • By Audrey A from Henley on Thames
    1 October 2017

    Had we stuck to the set menu our meal would probably have been fine Two of us enjoyed our prawn curry meal but my grandsons lamb was very hot even though we did ask for medium hot as we all love curry My bill was far higher than I expected I think £176 for three people is high

  • By Aysha B from Reading
    5 August 2017

    Absolutely amazing experience, food was delicious and service was incredible

  • By KEBH H from Henley-on-Thames
    17 July 2017

    Interesting menu and a lovely setting. Duck Tikka starter is very tender and tasty, but expect it to be a little more on the hotter side than some Tikka. Everything was very tasty. If you order Onion Bhaji - it is enormous, so plenty to share. A good wine list is also on offer. Only negative comments are that the washrooms, although clean, could do with an update - no hand towels and a hand dryer that is most ineffective.

2 Next page