map placeholder

Sorrel

77 South Street, Dorking, RH4 2JU

((((( British
  • Sorrel - Surrey
  • Sorrel - Surrey
  • Sorrel - Surrey
  • Sorrel - Surrey
  • Sorrel - Surrey
  • Sorrel - Surrey
  • Sorrel - Surrey
  • Sorrel - Surrey
  • Sorrel - Surrey
  • Sorrel - Surrey
  • Sorrel - Surrey
  • Sorrel - Surrey
Average
Main course: £35
Food spend: £55
Opening hours
Tuesday & Wednesday: 19:00 - 21:00
Thursday to Saturday: 12:00 - 14:00 & 19:00 - 21:00

Fab-u-lous!

Tim 25 September 2019
from Elstead

View all 492 reviews

Holder of 3 AA Rosettes and winner of the AA Restaurant of the year 2018, Michelin-starred Sorrel specialises in creating stunningly presented dishes, filled with bold imagination. The menus constantly evolve with the changing seasons, while the restaurant setting is filled with historic British charm, and features rustic exposed wooden beams alongside other original features.

The Sorrel menu celebrates seasonal British flavours, and uses carefully sourced ingredients from the local area, and further afield in the UK. Game dishes include Norfolk quail with tamarind, rhubarb and grapes, while fresh seafood delicacies are showcased with options like scallops with apple and celery cannelloni and cucumber ketchup.

Carefully chosen wines from the sommelier at Sorrel in Dorking perfectly complement the bold, imaginative menu. For dessert, there are unique creations such as hibiscus poached pear with cardamom, goats' milk and crystallised gin.

Combining bold, modern British recipes with a classically styled setting, Sorrel is a 5-minute drive from Dorking West Rail Station.

Sorrel

77 South Street, Dorking, RH4 2JU

Contact +44 1306889414
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Surrey

See all restaurants in Dorking

Customer reviews for Sorrel

4.8 ((((( (based on 492 reviews)
97% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((((
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (385)
  • lunch (310)
  • luxury (297)
  • romantic (257)
  • private dining (149)
  • business (84)
  • value (66)
  • trendy (45)
  • entertainment (22)
  • large parties (13)
  • afternoon tea (4)
  • child friendly (4)
  • views (3)
  • al fresco (1)
  • ((((( 21 September 2019 by Peter from London

    Excellent all round meal, with a very knowledgable and attentive female waitress. One of the best meals we have had this year!

  • ((((( 20 September 2019 by Russell from Cobham

    Great food well presented and served in cosy setting.

  • ((((( 20 September 2019 by John from Epsom

    We had the 5 course taster lunch. Every taste was delicious from start to finish and our only regret was that we didn’t have time for the 9 course version.
    Particular favorites were the hidden quail egg in the broth and the quail dish and the John Dory - well, all of it.

  • ((((( 19 September 2019 by Nancy from San francisco

    Amazing!

  • ((((( 19 September 2019 by Paul from Dorking

    From first to last a memorable experience. The food was superb, the staff helpful and the food info just perfect. Great value for money with the sharpest attention to detail.

  • ((((( 19 September 2019 by Mr from Fetcham

    The ambience was as expected at this class of restaurant - bright and airy, clean and smart with glasses, crockery and cutlery to match the house style. The service was attentive, informative and professional. We had the 5-course tasting menu which had 2 extra dishes added and we opted for some cheese - only English cheeses on the board so they were most enjoyable. Very difficult to say which was our favourite course as we found they were all intriguing and delicious. We will certainly be returning.

  • ((((( 13 September 2019 by Tony from Sydney

    Usual excellent food wine and staff
    Dinning is a pleasure

  • ((((( 13 September 2019 by Theresa from Dorking, Surrey

    Amazing lunch..loved the Quail to start and all the exciting little extras..the pea mousse with the quail egg and homemade onion brioche was delicious..we loved the whole experience and thought it was good value. We couldn’t recommend it highly enough probably the best meal I have had for years..

  • ((((( 12 September 2019 by Linda from Horsham

    We enjoyed an excellent lunch at Sorrel with friends. The Lunch Menu was fabulous and represents good value. Service was outstanding with all the waiting staff friendly, courteous and professional throughout the entire occasion. We particularly liked the way the space has been used in the restaurant, making smaller dining areas out of a large space. Although a traditional building there's a contemporary feeling to the restaurant and tables are nicely spaced out to give privacy to each table. I can't think of anything we didn't like! We will definitely return.

  • (((** 12 September 2019 by Stephen from London

    Beautiful setting and ambience. We went for the 9 course taster and accompanied by a different wine with each course. The presentation of the food was great. The food itself was ok and not the same level as other fine dining experiences. The wine was missed with one of the courses- not a big drama, but just didn’t feel slick. The waiting staff were a little too relaxed and quite jovial amongst themselves, with eye rolling amongst themselves which felt like commenting on problems diners. We were the last sitting of the night and felt they were more worried about getting out the door than caring about our dining experience. Overall £450 was overpriced for the average experience by staff and food.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant