map placeholder

Sorrel

77 South Street, Dorking, RH4 2JU

((((( British
  • Sorrel - Surrey
  • Sorrel - Surrey
  • Sorrel - Surrey
  • Sorrel - Surrey
  • Sorrel - Surrey
  • Sorrel - Surrey
  • Sorrel - Surrey
  • Sorrel - Surrey
  • Sorrel - Surrey
  • Sorrel - Surrey
  • Sorrel - Surrey
  • Sorrel - Surrey
Average
Main course: £35
Food spend: £55
Opening hours
Tuesday & Wednesday: 19:00 - 21:00
Thursday to Saturday: 12:00 - 14:00 & 19:00 - 21:00

Fab-u-lous!

Tim 25 September 2019
from Elstead

View all 490 reviews

Holder of 3 AA Rosettes and winner of the AA Restaurant of the year 2018, Michelin-starred Sorrel specialises in creating stunningly presented dishes, filled with bold imagination. The menus constantly evolve with the changing seasons, while the restaurant setting is filled with historic British charm, and features rustic exposed wooden beams alongside other original features.

The Sorrel menu celebrates seasonal British flavours, and uses carefully sourced ingredients from the local area, and further afield in the UK. Game dishes include Norfolk quail with tamarind, rhubarb and grapes, while fresh seafood delicacies are showcased with options like scallops with apple and celery cannelloni and cucumber ketchup.

Carefully chosen wines from the sommelier at Sorrel in Dorking perfectly complement the bold, imaginative menu. For dessert, there are unique creations such as hibiscus poached pear with cardamom, goats' milk and crystallised gin.

Combining bold, modern British recipes with a classically styled setting, Sorrel is a 5-minute drive from Dorking West Rail Station.

Sorrel

77 South Street, Dorking, RH4 2JU

Contact +44 1306889414
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Surrey

See all restaurants in Dorking

Customer reviews for Sorrel

4.8 ((((( (based on 490 reviews)
97% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((((
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (383)
  • lunch (309)
  • luxury (296)
  • romantic (256)
  • private dining (149)
  • business (84)
  • value (66)
  • trendy (44)
  • entertainment (22)
  • large parties (13)
  • afternoon tea (4)
  • child friendly (4)
  • views (3)
  • al fresco (1)
  • ((((( 28 September 2019 by Steve from EPSOM

    We love the layout of the upstairs room. Comfortable but stylish. The staff make you feel very welcome. The portion sizes are just right, especially with all the "extras".
    Our favourite dish was the wood pigeon with beetroot & blackberry. Both desserts were fantastic. Great value for such high quality food at lunchtime.

  • ((((( 25 September 2019 by Tim from Elstead

    Fab-u-lous!

  • ((((( 24 September 2019 by Olwen from dorking

    Loved the taster menu - a little expensive but the food & service was perfect

  • (((** 23 September 2019 by Tanya from Epsom

    Second time at this restaurant this year and unfortunately disappointed this time. Food delicious, however had an 8.15 booking and left at 12.15. Only ordered 3 courses. Our friends did arrive 10-15 minutes late and we were slow to order drinks, but that was not enough of a delay to not have our starter until 10pm. Then we were told that there was a problem in the kitchen and were given an additional course, but we just wanted our main. Food all delicious and of expected portion size, however courses so slow that we left feeling hungry. Also no sorbet or chocolates/treat offered at the end of the meal which I would have expected. Low service mark is for the above issues. Waiting staff were good and stayed v calm under stressful circumstances.
    I would have liked more of an explanation for the delays.
    I would still go back at some point in the future, but not sure I would risk bringing friends or that my husband would agree. His opinion was that we should not need to eat cereal at 1am after a luxurious/expensive dinner.
    Also frustrating that cab home was so expensive as Dorking doesn’t allow Uber and babysitters upset as we expected to be home by 11ish rather than nearly 1am.

  • ((((( 23 September 2019 by Catherine from Redhill

    The food was absolutely incredible and the service was excellent. Absolutely faultless.

  • ((((( 23 September 2019 by Caroline from Leatherhead

    Another fantastic night at Sorrel. Great service. Sensational food. Beautiful setting. We will be back again soon.

  • ((((( 23 September 2019 by Richard from Ashtead

    A really enjoyable evening with a taster menu that lived up to all the recommendations we had received before hand. We also enjoyed the selection of single glass wines in the wine list, which made a refreshing change from the usual house reds and whites offered elsewhere. The visit to inspect the kitchen was really appreciated. Meeting the keen and friendly staff in their spotlessly clean uniforms working in their equally clean kitchen was an eye opener. Well done and thank you for a splendid evening.

  • ((((( 22 September 2019 by Ralph from Banstead

    Utterly fabulous. Waitstaff excellent - attentive and knowledgeable. We had the 5-course tasting menu and it was a perfect anniversary lunch. My allergies were noted and expertly worked around. Not a single bum note: split pea with quail’s egg and truffle and the John Dory were particular high points.

  • ((((( 21 September 2019 by Peter from London

    Excellent all round meal, with a very knowledgable and attentive female waitress. One of the best meals we have had this year!

  • ((((( 20 September 2019 by Russell from Cobham

    Great food well presented and served in cosy setting.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant