map placeholder

Helix Restaurant at The Gherkin

30 St Mary Axe, London, EC3A 8EP

(((() Modern European
  • Helix Restaurant at The Gherkin - London
  • Helix Restaurant at The Gherkin - London
  • Helix Restaurant at The Gherkin - London
  • Helix Restaurant at The Gherkin - London
  • Helix Restaurant at The Gherkin - London
  • Helix Restaurant at The Gherkin - London
  • Helix Restaurant at The Gherkin - London
  • Helix Restaurant at The Gherkin - London
  • Helix Restaurant at The Gherkin - London
  • Helix Restaurant at The Gherkin - London
  • Helix Restaurant at The Gherkin - London
  • Helix Restaurant at The Gherkin - London
  • Helix Restaurant at The Gherkin - London
Average
Main course: £27
Food spend: £60
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 12:00 - 14:00 & 18:00 - 21:00
Sunday: 11:00 - 16:00.

Amazing view, superb service. Very reasonable price for 3 course meal that was outstanding! Thank you again!

James 08 June 2019
from OKC

View all 1480 reviews

There are few spots on the London landscape as striking as Searcys at The Gherkin, where HELIX restaurant and IRIS bar are open to the public for the first time. A proud celebration of British produce in one of London’s finest landmarks, the menus put seasonal and local produce centre stage, all while enjoying panoramic views from the top 3 levels of one of London’s most iconic skyscrapers.

The HELIX restaurant menu is led by seasonal and local produce. Highlights include Dorset crab with grapefruit, soy and sesame, and Rhug Estate Welsh lamb with bell peppers, aubergine, courgette, pepper and pine nuts.

Perched above Helix on level 40 is Iris bar, offering 360° views an extensive cocktail menu as unique as the setting. As well as cocktails which pay homage to the city below, an exquisite selection of champagne and English sparkling wine is also served.

One of London ’s most desirable dining experiences, Helix restaurant in The Gherkin is found 5 minutes’ walk from Aldgate Tube Station.

Helix Restaurant at The Gherkin

30 St Mary Axe, London, EC3A 8EP

Contact +44 3301070816
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in London

See all restaurants in City of London

Customer reviews for Helix Restaurant at The Gherkin

4.5 (((() (based on 1480 reviews)
92% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((((
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • views (1091)
  • dinner (940)
  • lunch (881)
  • romantic (704)
  • luxury (605)
  • business (462)
  • trendy (375)
  • private dining (326)
  • value (195)
  • afternoon tea (148)
  • entertainment (102)
  • large parties (91)
  • breakfast (58)
  • al fresco (16)
  • child friendly (9)
  • ((((( 27 July 2019 by Hank from 2755 Chokecherry Ave.

    The food was excellent, the employees were nice and the price was acceptable.

  • ((((( 27 July 2019 by Christine from WOKING

    Booked in to celebrate a birthday with family ( all adults) and were very impressed with the dining experience. We had booked a three course dinner with a gin tasting menu. The service was exceptionally good and the food excellent. The views from the restaurant were stunning and although small with limited tables we were not hurried at all. The staff suggested we visited the bar upstairs before we left to enjoy the view and we were not disappointed. Great value for money considering the location.

  • ((((* 27 July 2019 by Liza from Watford

    It was very good. The food was excellent with reasonably sized portions. Waitresses were lovely too.
    A few things we didn’t like - we had to order the dessert with the starters and main course. None of us have had to do this before.
    Additionally, meals were brought to the table when we weren’t all seated and table clearing commenced before we had all finished.

  • ((*** 26 July 2019 by Tracy from Oakland

    This dining experience unfortunately was very disappointing. It was even more so of a let down since our family was so looking forward to it based on a recommendation from a friend. We found the entire experience off-putting from the start. Upon arrival, there was not a host to greet us. After a couple of minutes looking around, a waiter carrying plates made eye contact but no vocal or any other indication that someone would be there to greet us. That same waiter returned to the front to address us and it turned out she was the hostess. She informed us our table was not ready yet and we could wait at the bar upstairs. We went upstairs but realized that we didn't know how we would be notified so my husband went down to ask procedures. This hostess proceeds to snap at my husband informing him she is too busy to address his question. What?! We try to shake off her rudeness once we are sitting down to finally dine (20 min delay) figuring maybe she is over worked at the moment. But the food was completely unimpressive from end to end course. We found each course to be lacking in taste, presentation and imagination for such an expensive restaurant. Also, a very drab environment with little appeal with the exception of the view. We expected so much more and this restaurant fell short in so many ways. I would never recommend this restaurant to anyone let alone return myself. So many more wonderful restaurants to dine in London without the snooty, rude attitude and bland food.

  • ((((( 23 July 2019 by Angela from London

    The Summer Set Menu was superb, the food could not be faulted. The idea of trying your own choice of 3 gins with the meal was delightful and we thoroughily enjoyed our gin tasting. And the view as usual wonderful.

  • ((((( 22 July 2019 by Sally from London

    We had a lovely lunch. The food was excellent, service exceptional and everyone was so helpful and friendly. Very nice champagne too!

  • ((((( 21 July 2019 by Nick from London

    A great experience, the view was incredible, food beautiful and the service top class. Really enjoyed our visit which we ended with some drinks in the cocktail bar. Will definitely be back.

  • ((*** 17 July 2019 by Ivan from London

    The overall setting of the restaurant is not worthy of the amount they are charging for food. Feels like a greenhouse if anything. The environment of the bar is by far better than the restaurant. The worn-out cutleries, together with the tables, looked like we were dinning of someone's apartment. The portions of their tasting menu were appalling that I don't remember if I was ever left hungry after enjoying a tasting menu. The service was all over the place as they lost track of our orders and charging for service as such is unacceptable.

  • ((((( 17 July 2019 by Grant from Colchester

    Fantastic experience, couldn't fault it any way. The food was superb, the service perfect and the deal with 3 gin drinks and a 3 course meal for £45 incredible value.

  • ((((( 17 July 2019 by Colin from Durham

    This was a birthday outing and my wife and I were looking for a place that was elegant, with a good ambience. It was just what we wanted. The view is breathtaking and it was a peaceful atmosphere: pleasant music, not obtrusive; not very busy on a Monday lunchtime, so it felt as if we had the place all to ourselves (for us, that's good!). Particularly commend our waiter, who was attentive, and an interesting conversationalist. When he picked up that it was a celebration meal, he came back with a "Happy Birthday" concoction as an extra for the dessert. The food was very enjoyable: every item was a bit novel without being bizarre. To be honest, we would never normally spend £150 on a lunch (we are pensioners who find stretching to £50 a treat), so I have no way of knowing what sort of food to expect for the money. But it was worth it for the whole experience.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant