Helix Restaurant at The Gherkin

(1632 Reviews)
30 St Mary Axe, London, EC3A 8EP
Modern European
View main menu

Top offer

Star Deal - 3-courses & a drink - lunch £35 / dinner £40 per person

Subject to availability as displayed in the booking interface. Dishes from a set menu & subject to change. Includes VAT, excludes service.

Average

Main course: £27
Food spend: £60

Opening hours

Monday to Saturday: 12:00 - 14:00 & 18:00 - 21:00
Sunday: 11:00 - 16:00.

Restaurant description

There are few spots on the London landscape as striking as Searcys at The Gherkin, where HELIX restaurant and IRIS bar are open to the public for the first time. A proud celebration of British produce in one of London’s finest landmarks, the menus put seasonal and local produce centre stage, all while enjoying panoramic views from the top 3 levels of one of London’s most iconic skyscrapers.

The HELIX restaurant menu is led by seasonal and local produce. Highlights include Dorset crab with grapefruit, soy and sesame, and Rhug Estate Welsh lamb with bell peppers, aubergine, courgette, pepper and pine nuts.

Perched above Helix on level 40 is Iris bar, offering 360° views an extensive cocktail menu as unique as the setting. As well as cocktails which pay homage to the city below, an exquisite selection of champagne and English sparkling wine is also served.

One of London ’s most desirable dining experiences, Helix restaurant in The Gherkin is found 5 minutes’ walk from Aldgate Tube Station.

Dishes displayed on a la carte menus are representative of the type of food available at the restaurant.

Customer reviews for Helix Restaurant at The Gherkin
4.4
(based on 1632 reviews)

91%
of diners recommend this restaurant

  • Food
  • Drinks
  • Ambience
  • Service
  • Value
  • Location

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (160)
  • al fresco (17)
  • breakfast (65)
  • business (492)
  • child friendly (13)
  • dinner (1025)
  • entertainment (114)
  • large parties (100)
  • lunch (965)
  • luxury (646)
  • private dining (340)
  • romantic (761)
  • trendy (404)
  • value (214)
  • views (1212)
  • By J-m F from Annemasse
    17 January 2020

    On a passé un excellent moment avec un très jolie contexte

  • By Ellie K from London
    17 January 2020

    Had a lovely evening really relaxed atmosphere, staff were very friendly and food was great.

  • By Richard C from London
    16 January 2020

    Very good

  • By Rob M from London
    15 January 2020

    We had a lunch to celebrate a birthday. Our table was close to the window (as are most tables) and we therefore had stunning views over London. We dined from the lunch set menu. The food was generally good (not brilliant). We both had the smoked salmon to start with: that was very tasty. My wife chose the cod as her main course and it was swimming in juice (not at all like the photo on the restaurant's website). The restaurant substituted that with the chicken breast without quibbling which was much tastier. We both had pear/ricotta dessert with was good. Our side orders of: artisan bread (with our starters), triple cooked chips and honey-roasted parsnips/heirloom carrots (with our main courses) were all excellent. The service was excellent throughout: attentive without be suffocating. We ended the meal by having a glass of wine in the bar upstairs: the views were even better (the bar is above the restaurant and has 360o views). If you enjoy meals with a view, I can thoroughly recommend Helix at The Gherkin: do finish your meal by going upstairs to the bar!!

  • By Paula P from Bournemouth
    13 January 2020

    Staff really pleasant. We were not hurried at all allowing a good catch up with our friends. Views amazing although inclement weather. Lovely combinations of taste on each plate and beautifully seasoned.

  • By Gareth M from Folkestone
    11 January 2020

    Great location Great value Great service Really enjoyed my visit

  • By Marian F from London
    11 January 2020

    We dined on the star deal, amazing value, food was beautiful, staff were very attentive, helpful and friendly without being intrusive. Loved that you can retire to the bar upstairs after your meal. Views are fantastic. We will definitely dine here again.

  • By Justin B from Peterborough
    10 January 2020

    Great setting, felt very welcome and staff very attentive. Food was very good but not excellent. Would definitely recommend

  • By Gareth A from London
    10 January 2020

    a

  • By David S from London
    10 January 2020

    It was great. I had written to write it was for an anniversary celebration and they brought us a complementary desert beautifully decorated

Restaurant Location Map
Helix Restaurant at The Gherkin
30 St Mary Axe, London, EC3A 8EP

Available offers

  • Star Deal - 3-courses & a drink - lunch £35 / dinner £40 per person
  • Star Deal - 3-courses & a drink - lunch £35 / dinner £40 per person (parties of 5+)
  • 6 Course Tasting Menu- £75 per person
  • Brunch at the top of the Gherkin- 4 Course Brunch including a glass of Champagne
  • Valentine's lunch or dinner - five-courses with a glass of Champagne £99 per person

Similar Restaurants

  1. The Don

    The Don

    Modern European
    (57 Reviews)
    648m
    The Don
  2. 1 Lombard Street Brasserie

    1 Lombard Street Brasserie

    Modern European
    (68 Reviews)
    612m
    1 Lombard Street Brasserie
  3. Provisioners

    Provisioners

    Burger
    (0 Reviews)
    1.3km
    Provisioners
  4. Terrace - South Bank & Waterloo

    Terrace - South Bank & Waterloo

    Modern European
    (122 Reviews)
    2.5km
    Terrace - South Bank & Waterloo
  5. The Delaunay

    The Delaunay

    European
    (1 Reviews)
    2.6km
    The Delaunay