map placeholder

Mad Hatter's Tea at Sanderson

Sanderson Hotel, 50 Berners Street, London, W1T 3NG +44 2077686853

((((* Afternoon Tea
  • Mad Hatter's Tea at Sanderson - London
  • Mad Hatter's Tea at Sanderson - London
  • Mad Hatter's Tea at Sanderson - London
  • Mad Hatter's Afternoon Tea at Sanderson - London
  • Mad Hatter's Afternoon Tea at Sanderson - London
  • Mad Hatter's Afternoon Tea at Sanderson - London
  • Mad Hatter's Afternoon Tea at Sanderson - London
  • Mad Hatter's Afternoon Tea at Sanderson - London
  • Mad Hatter's Afternoon Tea at Sanderson - London
  • Mad Hatter's Tea at Sanderson - London
  • Mad Hatter's Tea at Sanderson - London
  • Mad Hatter's Tea at Sanderson - London
Average
Main course: £20
Food spend: £50
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 07:00 - 11:30 12:00 - 16:30 17:00 - 23:30
Sunday: 07:00 - 11:30 12:00 - 16:30 17:00 - 22:00

Fantastic experience overall : the service was very friendly, the presentation wonderful, and the food was lovely.

Marine 14 July 2018
from LONDON

View all 1164 reviews

A chic pop-up dining hotspot in London, Sanderson showcases eclectic international indulgences in a year-round summery setting. At the luxurious 5-star Sanderson Hotel, the buzzing Long Bar and the exquisite Courtyard Garden bar serve up fresh, exotic cocktails whilst the Mad Hatter's Tea Party at Sanderson offers a unique twist on the classic afternoon tea.

Celebrating the 150th anniversary of Alice in Wonderland, menus are hidden inside vintage books, kings and queens adorn teapots and sandwich plates decorated with zebras, birdcages and ticking clocks.

The Mad Hatters afternoon tea menu features delectable savoury bites, including smoked salmon quails egg with caviar and cream cheese, and melt-in-your-mouth King of Hearts parmesan croque-monsieur stack.

Completing the experience, come face to face with Tweedle Dee’s lemon and curd financier before enjoying the mocha chessboard gateau and with the Mad March Hare vanilla pocket watch macaroon, there’s no excuse to be late for this important date! Wash everything down with Alice’s exotic fruits “Drink Me” potion and for the afternoon tea traditionalists, finish up with warm scones clotted cream and fruit preserves.

Diverse flavours and eclectic recipes make Sanderson in Fitzrovia a favourite in London’s fashionable West End. Goodge Street Tube Station is a 6-minute walk away.

Mad Hatter's Tea at Sanderson

Sanderson Hotel, 50 Berners Street, London, W1T 3NG

Contact +44 2073005588
Reservations +44 2077686853

Make a booking

See all restaurants in London

See all restaurants in West End of London

Customer reviews for Mad Hatter's Tea at Sanderson

4.1 ((((* (based on 1164 reviews)
85% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value ((()*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (955)
  • trendy (296)
  • luxury (212)
  • al fresco (151)
  • lunch (138)
  • romantic (138)
  • child friendly (129)
  • large parties (104)
  • dinner (87)
  • value (76)
  • entertainment (72)
  • private dining (56)
  • business (52)
  • views (35)
  • breakfast (30)
  • ((*** 1 March 2018 by Tracy from Hertfordshire

    To be honest for the money I was not impressed. Very small portions and food was not overly tasty and I was expecting more of a theme. Overall disappointing.

  • ((((* 21 February 2018 by Jon from West Sussex

    Enjoyed the whole thing. Staff very polite & friendly nothing too much trouble. The choice of cake and sandwiches was delicious and you can ask for more. Only one mention , ceiling heating was too hot in the conservatory. Didn’t spoil it though.

  • (**** 15 February 2018 by Olga from Feltham

    Booking service excellent
    Service excellent
    Food is so bad that I can’t even rate it.
    Never tasted anything as bad as this.
    The only thing that reminds you of a Mad Hat is the name of the tea and teapots.
    So boring and not a thing to write home about.
    The worst experience I had.

  • ((((( 5 February 2018 by Clare from Alton

    Absolutely fantastic, a real treat. everything was perfect, the staff are very attentive and just charming. Loved it.

  • ((((* 24 January 2018 by Sherylyn from London

    More choice of sandwiches would be lovely. Staff helpful and friendly.

  • (**** 19 January 2018 by Sarah from Epping

    I was so excited to be taking my friend here for her birthday but it turned out to be such a huge disappointment, it was honestly the worst afternoon tea I've ever been to and ridiculously overpriced. The tiny stack of three ham and cheese croque monsieur were cold and the toast hard so didn’t eat them. The cornish crab bridge roll looked lovely but the roll was stale so they were replaced but these were stale too. The cucumber and cream cheese finger had so much cream cheese in it made it soggy, I couldn’t eat it.

    This hotel certainly didn’t have a 5 Star feel about it and the toilet facilities were more like 3 Star, plus you have to walk all the way back through the hotel past reception and up 2 flights of stairs, so avoid going during your afternoon tea.

    Very expensive for what you get, I’d go to The Ritz and get an amazing afternoon tea for less.

  • ((*** 19 January 2018 by Lisa from London

    Wouldn’t go back , sandwiches were stale , the Toasted ones were only half toasted almost like they got put in the oven/ toaster altogether , so the top one was the only one actually toasted , we were sat at a tall bar table on a wobbly bar stool , I have the pleasure of claradges last year and so was utterly disappointed , they need to go to claradges and learn how to do afternoon tea properly

  • (((** 18 January 2018 by Rachel from London

    Cute theme but food too sweet and service can be improved. Didn’t get our cocktails which are included in the package until requested for.

  • (**** 11 January 2018 by Susan from London

    We were all really looking forward to the experience but sadly, having been fortunate to experience similar experiences in Thailand when we lived there, this fell a long way short. The service was poor, no one asked if we were OK or needed anything else throughout the whole afternoon. There was a door leading to the annexe which when opened created a really cold draft. The food was lovely to look at but was mainly quite sickly sweet - more savoury pieces would have been better. The tea options were good and we enjoyed them. The cocktail was possibly the worst I have ever had - we weren't given a choice and no idea what it was.

  • (**** 3 January 2018 by Denise from London

    Totlly overpriced. Very a erage sandwiches, not refulled cakes and scones alright. Glass of laurent perrier was the best it gad goingbfir it. With a bill of over £500 for 5 persons and one bottle of Laurent perrier it was outrageous. Im recheking bill. Setting not as expected was very boring.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant