map placeholder

Salsa Restaurant

34 London Road, Southend-on-Sea, SS1 1NT

(((() Mediterranean
  •  - Essex
  •  - Essex
  •  - Essex
  •  - Essex
  •  - Essex
  •  - Essex
  •  - Essex
  •  - Essex
Average
Main course: £12
Food spend: £20
Opening hours
Sunday - Tuesday: 12:00 - 17:00 & 17:00 - 22:00
Wednesday - Saturday: 12:00 - 17:00 & 17:00 - 23:00

Food and service was amazing

David 04 July 2016
from Southend-on-Sea

View all 72 reviews

A fun, family-run Mexican/Mediterranean restaurant in Southend-on-Sea, Salsa Restaurant and Tapas Bar offers delicious Mexican, tapas & Portuguese food, along with live music and entertainment.

One of the largest family-run venues in south east Essex, Salsa Restaurant and Tapas Bar was established in 2009. Ideal for family meals and parties, Salsa focuses on offering great value for money, quality food and a fabulous vibe throughout.

Salsa is dedicated to using fresh quality produce from local markets, whilst importing specialty ingredients, coffee and wines direct from Mexico, Portugal and Spain. This philosophy ensures that Salsa can support the local business community and provide an authentic Mexican dining experience at the same time. Choice on the Salsa menu ranges from traditional homemade chilli con carne, enchiladas and burritos, to the mouth-watering Tex Mex chicken, a succulent rack of ribs, Spanish tapas, paellas, fresh fish, and Portuguese specialties. In addition, 80% of Salsa's suppliers are based within 10 miles of the restaurant.

Salsa Restaurant

34 London Road, Southend-on-Sea, SS1 1NT

Contact +44 1702213000
Website

See all restaurants in Essex

See all restaurants in Southend-on-Sea

Customer reviews for Salsa Restaurant

4.3 (((() (based on 72 reviews)
95% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (53)
  • large parties (45)
  • lunch (29)
  • value (29)
  • romantic (26)
  • child friendly (23)
  • entertainment (20)
  • trendy (14)
  • business (11)
  • private dining (5)
  • luxury (4)
  • al fresco (3)
  • breakfast (2)
  • afternoon tea (1)
  • views (1)
  • (((** 18 January 2016 by Sharn from Southend On Sea

    We had a lovely meal, but from start to finish we did feel like we were being rushed. It did ruin the atmosphere a little.

  • ((((* 9 January 2016 by Craig from Basildon

    Lovely food lovely place

  • ((((( 2 January 2016 by Daniel from Leigh on sea

    It was a really quick service. All the food was cooked so well. We thoroughly enjoyed it!

  • (**** 1 January 2016 by Jack from Salsa Restaurant, Southend

    Been coming here for years and unfortunately we have noticed a significant downfall in service.
    Waited 20 minutes for drinks to arrive, never offered a high chair despite having an infant, the mains took an hour to arrive and 3 dishes were wrong.
    Much to my reluctance some at the table wanted to order dessert which subsequently still took half an hour to arrive, after two hours of barely two courses they even took 15 minutes to finally take payment! All on a Tuesday evening when the place was hardly quarter full.
    A massive shame as I used to sing from the roof tops about this place, I think a jump across the road the Ask or Bella Itialia is required.

  • ((*** 14 November 2015 by Milad from Southend

    Very weak services. The staff seemed bored. I asked for some ketchup and Mayo and they took 5 mins to arrive. The restaurant was not even that busy. I cannot believe how they expect a bill. The food quality was not so bad though but for that price you can get so much better service

  • ((((( 10 November 2015 by Andy from Southend-on-Sea

    Excellent and authentic tapas and Portuguese dishes served by helpful enthusiastic staff in a good atmosphere.

  • ((((( 31 October 2015 by Vanessa from Southend-on-Sea

    Great food, attentive staff, fabulous atmosphere, wish there was one in Bucks! Highly recommended

  • ((((( 27 September 2015 by Terence from Southend-on-Sea

    Great evening. Good food, nice music. Some entertainers in the past have been too heavy with the bass and have presented music that is largely unknown. They must offer popular tunes which are recognisable.

  • (((** 22 September 2015 by Lesley from London

    Evening stated well. Lovely starter but went down hill as they missed off my main, so eat after everyone had nearly finished and it was disappointing to be fair they took it off the bill. Thought the prosseccco was way over priced at a few pence short of £25 per bottle! Overall 9 out of 10 had a decent meal..

  • ((((( 4 August 2015 by Luke from Southend-on-Sea

    Lovely staff, excellent food and good timing, all round great experience!

Unfortunately, you can't book Salsa Restaurant online on this site

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant