Guide MICHELIN 2020

Reviews of Route

4.8
(based on 140 reviews)
35 side, Newcastle, NE1 3JE
140 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By David H from Bishop Auckland
    14 March 2020

    This is a first class dining experience, The food was well prepared and very tasty. We took advantage of the fixed price three course meal at £20 and enjoyed a wonderful terrine starter, then red mullet and mussel with orzo (which was very like a seafood risotto) followed by a buttermilk pannacotta .Sevice was good the atmosphere casual and relaxing. If you want expensive food and linen tablecloths then this is not for you but for an excellent culinary experience at moderate prices it would take some beating.

  • By Stella H from Newcastle
    23 February 2020

    This is becoming a regular favourite - every time a friend visits Newcastle for the first time I take them to Route, and it never fails to impress.The atmosphere is relaxed, staff friendly and knowledgeable, cooking superb. No wonder they are Regional Winner: Best Local Restaurant – Northern England in the Good Food Guide after such a short time. Fish is always super fresh with tasty and inventive saucing, and though I try to avoid carbs the black treacle bread and hand cut chips cannot be resisted - they are so good for mopping up the chicken juices on the red mullet, or the spicy salted chilli on the mackerel. Endive ~ Walnut ~ Anchovy – Blood Orange – Sparkenhoe was an inspired combination - and we just HAD to have dessert because the train wasn't due for another hour and what else to do but check the quality of the valrhona chocolate fondant and the buttermilk pannacotta, needless to say both were excellent so I just need another friend to turn up so I can go again soon!

  • By Sarah N from Newcastle
    15 February 2020

    Route is a small and personal restaurant with a relaxed and chilled vibe. You are encouraged to be adventurous and share the dishes. The flavours and textures were exceptional and we had a fantastic and memorable meal. Very good value and highly recommended.

  • By Josh M from Newcastle upon Tyne
    15 February 2020

    Great experience start to finish. Food was 10/10 especially considering its price. Already booked to go again!

  • By Ali C from Newcastle
    14 February 2020

    food was good but waitress didn't appear to understand the menu - she recommended sharing all things. I specifically asked whether the items that appeared to be main courses were for sharing or not and she said yes, that they were all sliced up for sharing. They weren't and when 2 main courses arrived for 3 of us, this wasn't easily shared and probably not enough food. Also, we asked for chips for 3 people and got 8 thick cut chips. A bit odd.

  • By Jianna C from Newcastle upon Tyne
    25 January 2020

    Always excellent food here.

  • By J S S from Newcastle
    25 January 2020

    We had an excellent lunch. Restaurant Week was a great chance to try Route for the first time (we've long intended to), and each of our 3 courses were quite delicious, and a real treat. My husband particularly liked the sea bream, and I loved the smoked aubergine dish, which was packed with flavour. Service was attentive, not intrusive and very friendly.

  • By Kathryn M from Newcastle
    24 January 2020

    Evening meal in restaurant week. Delicious food, interesting wine list with unique offerings

  • By Christopher P from Newcastle
    24 January 2020

    A great atmosphere but I felt like the restaurant week menu did not showcase the attention to detail and the quality that I have previously experienced at Route. I will no doubt return as hopefully this was a one off issue.

  • By Matthew M from Newcastle upon Time
    23 January 2020

    N/A