map placeholder

Roger Hickman's Restaurant

79 Upper St. Giles Street, Norwich, NR2 1AB

((((( British
  • Roger Hickman's Restaurant - Norfolk
  • Roger Hickman's Restaurant - Norfolk
  • Roger Hickman's Restaurant - Norfolk
  •  - Norfolk
  •  - Norfolk
  • Roger Hickman's Restaurant - Norfolk
  • Roger Hickman's Restaurant - Norfolk
Average
Main course: £20
Food spend: £40
Opening hours
Tuesday to Saturday: 12:00 - 14:30 & 19:00 - 22:00.

Dry pleasant service and first class cooking

Lister 27 September 2019
from Langton Green, Tunbridge Wells

View all 948 reviews

The only restaurant in Norwich to hold 3 AA Rosettes, Roger Hickman’s Restaurant offers supreme British fine dining. The highly-respected Good Food Guide named Roger Hickman’s one of its Best Regional Restaurants in 2012.

Championed for its ‘clean, sharply-defined seasonal flavours’ in the discerning Good Food Guide, the Roger Hickman’s menu showcases complex flavour combinations and artful presentation. As well as stunning signature tasting menus offering journeys through flavour, favourite main courses include spring lamb with aubergine caviar and roast garlic puree, or wild sea trout with pea and bacon casserole.

An extensive wine list at Roger Hickman’s in Norwich includes some covetable vintage bins, as well as easy drinking bottles. Indulgent Hickman treats include dainty petit fours with rich coffee, or desserts like poached cherries with chocolate soil and cherry sorbet.

Enjoying lengthy critical acclaim and a glowing reputation in the local area, Roger Hickman’s is nestled in a modest building on a quaint side street. Norwich Rail Station is a 5-minute drive away.

Roger Hickman's Restaurant

79 Upper St. Giles Street, Norwich, NR2 1AB

Contact +44 1603633522
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Norfolk

See all restaurants in Norwich

Customer reviews for Roger Hickman's Restaurant

4.8 ((((( (based on 948 reviews)
97% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((((
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((((
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (743)
  • lunch (514)
  • romantic (458)
  • luxury (432)
  • private dining (273)
  • business (176)
  • value (161)
  • trendy (89)
  • entertainment (33)
  • large parties (17)
  • afternoon tea (13)
  • child friendly (5)
  • al fresco (1)
  • breakfast (1)
  • views (1)
  • ((((( 21 August 2019 by Brenda from Norwich

    We had a great meal. It was very relaxed, service was good, the food was really good and they catered for food allergies brilliantly. So pleased I'm booked in for Xmas as the little touches and additional surprise elements made it very special.

  • ((((( 20 August 2019 by Nigel from Norwich

    Our first time and certainly not our last. We thought the restaurant was well decorated, clean and perfect for intimate dining. The staff were excellent, attentive and very knowledgeable of the food and detail of the ingredients. The lamb was amazingly cooked and sublime to eat. The accompaniments were well chosen and added to the eating experience. I would happily recommend to anyone that they should definitely try this superb cuisine. We will most definitely be returning soon.

  • ((((( 19 August 2019 by Valerie from Nazeing, Waltham Abbey, Essex

    My family party enjoyed the dining experience at Roger Hickman Restaurant and the quality and presentation of the food was very good.
    A lovely evening, thank you.

  • ((((* 18 August 2019 by Sue from Norwich

    Took my daughter at lunchtime for the vegetarian tasting menu. Top quality produce, amazing presentation and packed with flavour. Favourite for me was the miso aubergine. Service was very good too. I can’t say excellent as it was a little slow. Good value at £30 per head for food of such quality and in such a nice restaurant. Five courses plus an amuse bouche and a pre starter. But ouch to the price of drinks. £9 for a tiny glass of Prosecco and £4 for a cola that was mainly ice. There is also a 12.5% service charge which although optional is added to the bill and you’d feel awkward if you wanted it removed (they do ask). The other high quality restaurant nearby doesn’t add this.

  • ((((( 18 August 2019 by Mike from Norwich

    Thoroughly enjoyable evening. Not sure whether I deserve some commission for ordering the strawberry dessert or Hickmans for developing it, as several tables nearby saw it and changed their dessert order!
    Front of house staff knowledgeable and very approachable, and they very much left us to enjoy our evening, which was excellent.
    The food was superb, we had elements in the menus we hadn't tasted previously but all fitted in extremely well with food and opened our eyes to some interesting but very pleasant combinations.
    I also liked the fact we could order several (very good) wines by the glass as opposed to having to buy a bottle and being restricted.

  • ((((( 18 August 2019 by Lesley from Norwich

    Outstanding in all respects. Not only was the food exceptional but also the front of house team.

  • ((((( 18 August 2019 by Andrew from Norfolk

    Great food and service

  • ((((* 17 August 2019 by Ray from Norwich

    We had lunch at Roger Hickmans and as expected every aspect of our experience was good.

  • ((((( 16 August 2019 by Linda from Las Vegas

    Great food in a lovely location!

  • ((((( 15 August 2019 by Ralph from Paris

    Fantastic food. Well presented and excellent value for such high quality. Good choice of wines and again at reasonable prices. Attentive service. All in all everything was perfect.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant