map placeholder

Roger Hickman's Restaurant

79 Upper St. Giles Street, Norwich, NR2 1AB

((((( British
  • Roger Hickman's Restaurant - Norwich
  • Roger Hickman's Restaurant - Norwich
  • Roger Hickman's Restaurant - Norwich
  •  - Norwich
  •  - Norwich
  • Roger Hickman's Restaurant - Norwich
  • Roger Hickman's Restaurant - Norwich
Average
Main course: £20
Food spend: £40
Opening hours
Tuesday to Saturday: 12:00 - 14:30 & 19:00 - 22:00.

Excellent restaurant. Great food & service. Highly recommended

Dan 12 September 2019
from London

View all 924 reviews

The only restaurant in Norwich to hold 3 AA Rosettes, Roger Hickman’s Restaurant offers supreme British fine dining. The highly-respected Good Food Guide named Roger Hickman’s one of its Best Regional Restaurants in 2012.

Championed for its ‘clean, sharply-defined seasonal flavours’ in the discerning Good Food Guide, the Roger Hickman’s menu showcases complex flavour combinations and artful presentation. As well as stunning signature tasting menus offering journeys through flavour, favourite main courses include spring lamb with aubergine caviar and roast garlic puree, or wild sea trout with pea and bacon casserole.

An extensive wine list at Roger Hickman’s in Norwich includes some covetable vintage bins, as well as easy drinking bottles. Indulgent Hickman treats include dainty petit fours with rich coffee, or desserts like poached cherries with chocolate soil and cherry sorbet.

Enjoying lengthy critical acclaim and a glowing reputation in the local area, Roger Hickman’s is nestled in a modest building on a quaint side street. Norwich Rail Station is a 5-minute drive away.

Roger Hickman's Restaurant

79 Upper St. Giles Street, Norwich, NR2 1AB

Contact +44 1603633522
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Norwich

Customer reviews for Roger Hickman's Restaurant

4.8 ((((( (based on 924 reviews)
97% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((((
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((((
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (721)
  • lunch (505)
  • romantic (446)
  • luxury (423)
  • private dining (267)
  • business (175)
  • value (158)
  • trendy (87)
  • entertainment (32)
  • large parties (17)
  • afternoon tea (13)
  • child friendly (5)
  • al fresco (1)
  • breakfast (1)
  • views (1)
  • ((((( 18 August 2019 by Mike from Norwich

    Thoroughly enjoyable evening. Not sure whether I deserve some commission for ordering the strawberry dessert or Hickmans for developing it, as several tables nearby saw it and changed their dessert order!
    Front of house staff knowledgeable and very approachable, and they very much left us to enjoy our evening, which was excellent.
    The food was superb, we had elements in the menus we hadn't tasted previously but all fitted in extremely well with food and opened our eyes to some interesting but very pleasant combinations.
    I also liked the fact we could order several (very good) wines by the glass as opposed to having to buy a bottle and being restricted.

  • ((((( 18 August 2019 by Lesley from Norwich

    Outstanding in all respects. Not only was the food exceptional but also the front of house team.

  • ((((( 18 August 2019 by Andrew from Norfolk

    Great food and service

  • ((((* 17 August 2019 by Ray from Norwich

    We had lunch at Roger Hickmans and as expected every aspect of our experience was good.

  • ((((( 16 August 2019 by Linda from Las Vegas

    Great food in a lovely location!

  • ((((( 15 August 2019 by Ralph from Paris

    Fantastic food. Well presented and excellent value for such high quality. Good choice of wines and again at reasonable prices. Attentive service. All in all everything was perfect.

  • ((((( 15 August 2019 by Loyola from Norwich

    Great lunch with 4 friends. Ambience wonderful. Had the mackerel and lamb, fabulous.

  • ((((( 12 August 2019 by David from Norwich

    Amazing. The food was delicious and would highly recommend the restaurant.

  • (((** 12 August 2019 by Norman from Norwich

    We had a lovely evening. The food was very good, with only one or two small disappointments but generally very positive. The service was also good. The one issue which annoyed me was being charged £24 for water, which is a bit obscene in my view! We would have been completely happy with tap water and that’s what I expected when asking for still water. We weren’t offered a choice of tap water or mineral and I didn’t see the price of mineral water clearly advertised anywhere. Quite off-putting after a great evening. We paid a lot for a good meal plus £56 for service (which I was happy to pay) but I don’t like getting ripped off like that!

  • ((((( 11 August 2019 by Amanda from norwich

    The experience was excellent as always, we have been several times. However we noted that the wine prices had risen over £4 a bottle for our usual wine selection so opted for beer and a soft drink for the driver. The chocolate, cherry and pistachio dessert was wonderful and the halibut ceviche was also excellent. I had the lamb for main which was really good but i felt the balance of meat to vegetable elements on the plate needed a little tweak, i needed more veg on my plate. the piece of potato was tiny.

    The introduction of bread is an excellent move ! i loved the selection.

    it was a very warm evening and we sat in the back of the resturant which was very warm, the fan that was being used to cool this area had to be moved as too noisy for the table nearest it. some future thought to better air con longer term will make everyone in the resturant more comfortable.

    we will be back.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant