Reviews of Restaurants at The Ickworth Hotel

4.0
(based on 102 reviews)
The Ickworth Hotel Horringer, Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, IP29 5QE
102 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Lynda B from Ickworth
    24 November 2019

    The hotel and eating ares are lovely at the Ickworth Hotel. We dined in Fredrick's restaurant which was an adult only area. The food was very nice and service good. Wines were a little expensive but to be expected at a hotel of this standard.

  • By Jennifer H from LONDON
    16 November 2019

    Poor choice of food. Very inexperienced service. Wrong Champagne delivered. Wine poured without offering tasting - and slopped all over the table.

  • By Nicholas C from Ipswich
    13 November 2019

    Booked for an afternoon tea for 12.30 for 2 people, (winter wonderland) we were the only ones in the restaurant but still waited a long time for food to arrive( 30minutes plus) Sandwiches were dry & tasteless, scones were nice, small cakes were very rich & the cupcake was dry as well. Not worth the money paid. Waitress was friendly. Disappointing as it was for a birthday treat.

  • By George D from Hainault
    12 November 2019

    Lovely fresh sandwiches.good selection. Could be warmer in the restaurant.

  • By Austin D from BEXLEY KENT
    9 November 2019

    Staff very attentive and polite, manager also kindly found us a table at short notice. Cuisine here is above average and was o f good quality and sufficient in portion sizes. We had the Chateaubreaund platter for 2 and it was amazing.. cooked to perfection. All served in calm nicely lit surroundings.

  • By Norman H from Colchester
    7 November 2019

    Staff were very welcoming and we were shown to our table quickly. Food choice was very good as were the wines. Qulity of both was excellent. We were allowed to eat at our pace with no intrusive questions about the food etc. After dinner drinks arrived quickly.

  • By Sam C from Ipswich
    1 November 2019

    We only had soup and a cheese board for lunch but the food took ages to come out. The food was very tasty although the portion sizes were very limited especially the cheese. You got a very small slice of each cheese which was barely enough to cover the cracker!!! Food is expensive for what you get. Service was okay.

  • By Leanne H from Bury St Edmunds
    13 October 2019

    Interesting location. Limited food choice. Beef and vegetables undercooked. Disappointing and unlikely to return.

  • By Jo L from Hertfordshire
    12 October 2019

    I was disappointed with our Saturday lunch and annoyed that I didn’t check the , very average at best, menu. The pavlova was largely some uncooked Italian meringue slop and the second pot of coffee was limp despite the fact that we had sent back the first pot that tasted of dishwater. Lovely staff food needs a major re think. We watched wonderful afternoon teas being delivered and wondered why the massive mid match !

  • By Adrian B from Newmarket
    6 October 2019

    We thoroughly enjoyed our afternoon tea. The food was lovely and the service very good.