Reviews of Restaurant at East Sussex National Resort

3.6
(based on 37 reviews)
Little Horsted, Uckfield, South East England, TN22 5ES
37 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Wendy T from East Grinstead
    28 October 2020

    We really enjoyed our afternoon tea. The selection of sandwiches and cakes (all homemade) was excellent. Coronation chicken sandwich was a big hit! Only negative was the service was slow and we had to ask for fresh tea. Otherwise all good.

  • By Tim B from Brighton
    25 October 2020

    Sandwiches were good , scones were good , cakes were ok , service was ok , but we were not shown a menu , so not sure what was available, also not sure what teas and coffees were available, Would of like the choice of Prosecco or champagne but was just offered Prosecco.

  • By Laurina J from Eastbourne
    8 October 2020

    Lovely afternoon tea with beautiful views. Staff were however very busy and didn’t check that we were happy. We had to hunt someone down for more tea. We were told to pay at the bar but when I got there the server seemed extremely annoyed that I was there. I understand things are very tricky with COVID restrictions but a little more attentiveness would have made a lovely afternoon perfect.

  • By Fiona H from Polegate
    27 September 2020

    One of the best afternoon teas I have ever had and lovely friendly staff

  • By Jackie A from Ashford
    17 September 2020

    Staff friendly but once afternoon tea delivered no one came to see if we were OK. Tea and coffee lukewarm when delivered and no top up offered. No one offered the choice to sit outside and we sat in an empty restaurant. Overall experience for £20 head very poor. Your staff could've up sold to include prosecco but didn't.

  • By Daren B from Eastbourne
    16 September 2020

    Appalling! Afternoon tea was terrible and not worth the money. I would seriously consider elsewhere prior to wasting £19.99 per person for poor quality cakes that were either over baked or under baked. Staff member we had stated afternoon teas were not his department so couldn’t tell us anything about our options and had to be asked to go and find out having initially only offering ‘normal’ tea or coffee. Overall, a very poor experience and a waste of money. On finally arriving with the tea, this was spilt over the table and left for us to clean up. Very poor service! Apparently, if you’re paying £19.99 per person, that excludes you from sitting on the lawn where golfers sit with a packet of crisps and you are forced to settle for a metal table and chairs on the balcony, surrounded by smokers despite others seated there receiving table service by waiting staff that walked past is to serve them. Who’d have thought that paying £39.98 made you second class to a cheese sandwich.

  • By Angela B from Worthing
    5 September 2020

    It was actually nice not to have to book, it means you don’t have to worry about the weather or arrival time.

  • By John M from Crowborough
    26 August 2020

    Went for afternoon tea. Everything was good. The only small complaint would be that the bread was slightly stale. The fillings were perfect. Cakes were a very good collection and the scone, possibly a little bland. The restaurant area itself was stark, lack character. The service itself was spot on.

  • By Claire H from Whyteleafe
    17 August 2020

    Friendly, spacious & clean Afternoon tea was delicious with a good variety of sandwiches, cakes & scones The Bakewell tart, especially, was my favourite

  • By Steve B from Hailsham
    1 August 2020

    Had a very enjoyable meal, Have no complaints.