Reviews of Refectory Kitchen & Terrace

4.0
(based on 87 reviews)
The Principal York Hotel, York, Yorkshire, YO24 1AA
87 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Gregory C from Preston
    11 October 2020

    Made our booking for the restaurant three weeks prior to reservation date. Simple booking process very easy... So upon turning up at The Principal, York; where the restaurant is located, we asked the receptionist of the hotel for directions to the restaurant and proceeded to be looked up and down, quite literally, before being advised where it was located. Upon finding the restaurant the server at the front desk for the restaurant stated they didn't accept walk-ins and was for hotel guests only. To which we informed her we had a booking made three weeks prior. Now if their website, which we located via TripAdvisor stated the restaurant was for hotel guests only then it certainly wasn't made clear. She kindly checked with her manager if they could let us in but it seemed more hassle that it was worth for them so we politely said they need not worry and we would go elsewhere. So unfortunately I cannot comment on the food/ drinks of the restaurant but if you like being judged and messed around then this is the place for you!

  • By Elizabeth R from York
    20 September 2020

    Fabulous Sunday lunch - food was lovely. Felt safe and secure re COVID and staff were very attentive at all times. Would definitely recommend

  • By Danni jo F from Ashington
    6 September 2020

    Absolutely amazing

  • By David P from Dorking
    3 September 2020

    An expensive but awful meal and mediocre red and white wine. Absolutely no atmosphere in the restaurant and poor/indifferent service. I have never been served a steak with absolutely no accompanying vegetables and my choice of carrots to go with the meat which was tough and overcooked was a mistake. Soggy and over-sweet!

  • By Julie W from York
    30 August 2020

    This was by far the best meal I’ve had out for a very long time. From first arriving to such a lovely warm welcome from Oliver through to leaving all staff were wonderful. The starters were very tasty (bruschetta) and the main course was superb. The beef was so tender, vegetables cooked to perfection, mash was divine and roast potatoes so yummy. And the home made Yorkshire pudding fabulous. Additionally the portion sizes were generous and more than adequate...,hardly had room for dessert but squeezed in a gorgeous chocolate tart and very tasty raspberry cheesecake. We will definitely return and have no hesitation recommending this restaurant to friends and family. What a great meal ! All the staff wore face coverings too.

  • By Karen M from London
    23 August 2020

    Delicious meal and lovely waiter very welcoming

  • By Ravi S from Wirral
    20 August 2020

    Atmosphere and staff where great, but the new menu is awful. We were left very disappointed.

  • By Julie L from Sunderland
    9 August 2020

    Excellent 3 course Sunday lunch. All fresh produce, good flavours. Staff helpful and friendly.

  • By Kirsty S from York
    8 August 2020

    Food was average here. Not happy at all with the options of the reduced menu, along with the shocking prices. £18 for a steak ON ITS OWN. Then you have to add sides, at £3 each!!! This steak was just above Weatherspoon standard, not worth £18 at all. I had chicken with mushrooms, my mushrooms tasted like perfume, I could not eat them. Then when ordering drinks myself and partner request a gin and lemonade single and a rum and coke single. When receiving the bill we found that we had actually been charged £8.90 for a DOUBLE!! Thats £8.90 not including the mixer. This is the first time I have ever left a bad review. But honestly I was absolutely disgusted that the bill came to just under £80 when the standard was not there at all. We were past the point of mentioning it. We paid and left, neither of us will be recommending this restaurant to anyone.

  • By Clare C from York
    6 August 2020

    Excellent from start to finish. We were seated at a lovely table by the window and served delicious cold drinks. Both my partner and I had chicken breast with mash, carrots and greens, it was delicious. The chicken was cooked perfectly and the mash were creamy and very tasty. Our son had a burger and said it was the best burger he’d ever had, which is quite an accolade. The restaurant is light, airy and non pretentious, we found the menu prices very reasonable. All in all a great meal out, we will definitely visit again when we’re next in York.