Reviews of Refectory Kitchen & Terrace

4.1
(based on 78 reviews)
The Principal York Hotel, York, Yorkshire, YO24 1AA
78 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Julie L from Sunderland
    9 August 2020

    Excellent 3 course Sunday lunch. All fresh produce, good flavours. Staff helpful and friendly.

  • By Clare C from York
    6 August 2020

    Excellent from start to finish. We were seated at a lovely table by the window and served delicious cold drinks. Both my partner and I had chicken breast with mash, carrots and greens, it was delicious. The chicken was cooked perfectly and the mash were creamy and very tasty. Our son had a burger and said it was the best burger he’d ever had, which is quite an accolade. The restaurant is light, airy and non pretentious, we found the menu prices very reasonable. All in all a great meal out, we will definitely visit again when we’re next in York.

  • By Christine W from York
    28 July 2020

    Warm welcome, friendly service. Salmon starter very good, my curry just right on spicing. Chose the right place for birthday meal for my husband. Only downside slightly chilly but in time of Covid felt airy.

  • By Mary O'MALLEY O from PONTEFRACT
    7 March 2020

    Our visit to The Refectory was a Christmas present from one of our sons as we are frequent visitors to York. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience there. The food was lovely and the staff were very attentive. We went on Saturday lunchtime and the only thing I would have liked was to have a little more choice on the menu.

  • By Tara V from York
    6 March 2020

    Delicious food and wonderful service and setting

  • By Samantha D from YORK
    22 February 2020

    Good service. Beautiful food, favourite dish was starter of parmesan and pesto flatbread. Portion size of salad could of been slightly larger. It was a party members birthday and we were brought over a desert with a candle and staff were very attentive. Many thanks it was a lovely meal.

  • By Alice H from Selby
    22 February 2020

    Lovely food and friendly staff, what more to ask for?

  • By Heather B from York
    16 February 2020

    The service was great but the quality of the food was very poor. The meat was very tough

  • By Matt H from Whitchurch
    1 February 2020

    Excellent service. Been to many restaurants throughout London so called top quality but this was above most.

  • By Fay B from York
    25 January 2020

    It was great. Food lovely. Really good value and excellent service.