map placeholder

Rafters Restaurant

220 Oakbrook Road, Nether Green, Sheffield, S11 7ED

(((() British
  • Rafters Restaurant - South Yorkshire
  • Rafters Restaurant - South Yorkshire
  • Rafters Restaurant - South Yorkshire
  • Rafters Restaurant - South Yorkshire
  • Rafters Restaurant - South Yorkshire
  •  - South Yorkshire
  •  - South Yorkshire
  •  - South Yorkshire
  •  - South Yorkshire
  •  - South Yorkshire
Average
Main course: £20
Food spend: £42
Opening hours
Wednesday & Thursday: 19:00 - 20:30
Friday & Saturday: 19:00 - 21:00
Sunday: 12:00 - 14:00 & 18:00 - 20:00.

Fabulous atmosphere, attentive service and superb food. Loved the explanation of each dish as it was served. Especially liked the Whortley Lamb Shoulder.
Asked for their selection of wine to comment each course, all were fabulous.

Dawn 12 November 2018
from Saltburn-by-the-Sea

View all 33 reviews

With 2 AA Rosettes and highly praised in the Michelin Restaurant Guide and Waitrose Good Food Guide, Rafters Restaurant is one of Sheffield's finest eateries. Inventive recipes from across Europe are served in a stylish setting with exposed brick walls and an intimate ambience.

The Rafters Restaurant menu has been painstakingly prepared to showcase bold, inventive flair from the chefs. A signature breadbox of sourdough, granary and treacle loaves comes with home-churned butter, while delicate starters include crab agnolotti with courgette and lemon oil in a light bisque. There is tender English rose veal with Jersey royals in a burnt leek emulsion, as well as vegetarian recipes such as Yukon Gold potato gnocchi with barrel-aged feta.

Classic British flavours can be found on the Rafters Restaurant Sheffield dessert menu, as seen in the English strawberries with elderflower, cucumber and basil, and the baked duck egg custard with blackcurrant and apple. There is a full wine list served, with staff on hand to give expert pairing recommendations.

A wonderfully approachable slice of fine dining, Rafters Restaurants sits a 14-minute drive from Sheffield Rail Station.

Rafters Restaurant

220 Oakbrook Road, Nether Green, Sheffield, S11 7ED

Contact +44 1142304819
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in South Yorkshire

See all restaurants in Sheffield

Customer reviews for Rafters Restaurant

4.7 (((() (based on 33 reviews)
96% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((((
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (27)
  • luxury (19)
  • romantic (19)
  • private dining (11)
  • value (8)
  • trendy (5)
  • business (4)
  • lunch (4)
  • entertainment (3)
  • afternoon tea (1)
  • large parties (1)
  • ((((( 18 October 2016 by Michael from Sheffield

    We had the 8 course tasting menu and the food was great overall. Would highly recommend this restaurant if you are looking to have great food and service for a special occasion.

  • ((((( 6 October 2016 by Stephen from London

    We opted for the tasting menu with paired wines which was excellent. The food was very good and the wine also. The staff were helpful and polite. We will be going back again

  • ((((* 30 September 2016 by Chris from Sheffield

    Very nice dining experience, food was lovely and tasty. Only left four stars as they forgot to give us any butter for the bread but everybody else got some in the restaurant, and we had to ask several times for some water. Overall we liked it and would eat there again.

  • ((((* 24 September 2016 by Sue from Sheffield

    For a special occasion Rafters is ideal. It provides an excellent sense of a local restaurant wanting to give a positive experience to diners with the very best of local and seasonal ingredients .

  • ((((* 9 September 2016 by Andrea from Sheffield

    We visited here for our Wedding Anniversary and from the time we entered to leaving the experience was second to none. The staff were all very friendly and were very efficient. We had the eight course tasting menu £60 pp with a lovely bottle of red. The food was absoloutely fantastic and out of the whole eight courses there was only one dish I didn't like, this was some kind of goats cheese with a fruity side didn't like the flavours together. Will defo visit again this gem of a place is wonderful.

  • ((((( 6 August 2016 by Chris from Mexborough

    Excellent evening, as usual. Taster menu out of this world, as usual, Staff polite without being overbearing, They knew exactly what they were doing and what they were serving. Cannot pick a favourite dish out of the taster menu, they were all superb.

  • ((((( 3 July 2016 by Ryan from Sheffield

    Loved this restaurant! The standard of the food and service was excellent. The staff were very knowledgeable about the food and drinks. The menu would suit most tastes. It's only a small restaurant but the setting is lovely. Would highly recommend it. Looking forward to returning. Sheffield needs more of this standard of service and restaurant.

  • ((((( 14 June 2016 by Alanchris from Barnsley

    Dined there on Sunday evening for the first time. Food was first class. We liked everything about the place. The young lady that served us was very efficient and professional. We will definitely be returning in the near future

  • ((((* 30 May 2016 by Steve from Sheffield

    Excellent refurb since we last went under the previous owners. We decided on a la carte menu instead of tasting menu. Food was excellent and imaginative, with plentiful bread and extra courses making up for the small portions. The things probably outside the main chefs remit were less impressive - the house wine didn't amaze us, the bread was of just two types and the cheese course was basic (bordering on poor) and not worth the extra supplement. The cheese was a bit of soft cheese like Brie, a small chunk of hard cheese a bit like Cheddar and some Stilton. There were no cheese that I would call imaginative choices and the quantity was poor.

    Service was timed just right, perhaps a little stiff and formal (yet still friendly) compared to the relaxed ambience of some of the 1 and 2 Michelin star establishments we have dined at such as Gleneagles and Whatley Manor. We're not sure people want that formality nowadays but it was only a hint of over formality, not excessive.

    We paid £150 for two of us and enjoyed the night, which was half a bottle of wine and 3 more alcoholic drinks with the al la carte menu and two optional extras. Overall we would return, but at the price it has to be just for a special occasion.

  • ((((( 23 May 2016 by Mark from Sheffield

    ExceptionAl food fantastic atmosphere stunning location great value for money

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant