Guide MICHELIN 2020

Reviews of Purnell's Restaurant

4.8
(based on 1611 reviews)
55 Cornwall St, Birmingham, West Midlands, B3 2DH
1611 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Melanie D from Birmingham
    24 September 2020

    Fourth time eating at Purnells - Glynn and team don't disappoint! With the Covid restrictions there wasn't the usual ambience (and had to rush coffee to meet the 10:00 pm close) but the service and the food were amazing.

  • By Patrick W from Oxford
    19 September 2020

    A superb lunch, and good value for money given the quality of the food. I especially enjoyed the tomato and frozen goats curd, and the pork belly. Excellent eclectic wines, and a relaxed atmosphere. Great staff, who were knowledgeable and attentive without being intrusive.

  • By John R from Hartford
    19 September 2020

    Superb food with friendly and attentive service.

  • By Rosemary D from Birmingham
    18 September 2020

    It was excellent. Waiting staff were attentive, knowledgeable and very welcoming. The tasting menu was incredible. Every dish was faultless and looked very appetising. I don’t have a favourite dish as they were all amazing. They catered for all allergies and no one missed out. Will definitely be back!

  • By Jim M from Birmingham
    18 September 2020

    I was treated to a meal for my birthday by my wife, the overall experience was fantastic, the staff were excellent and couldn't do enough for you and the food was second to none. A fabulous evening and we shall be returning very soon.

  • By Rachel L from Nottingham
    18 September 2020

    The whole experience was fantastic. Every course we ate was wonderful. The service was great - attentive but not over the top. It was a relaxed dining experience.

  • By Jon T from Birmingham
    18 September 2020

    Thanks to Chef Purnell and his team. Fantastic food, great restaurant, friendly staff a must visit venue.

  • By James T from clipston
    18 September 2020

    It's always a good sign when it's hard to pick your favourite course, but Purnells does pose that problem. The menu is well designed and balanced, and the cookery is first class, with the pinacle coming at the end - the dessert here is amazing!

  • By Mike M from Lichfield
    16 September 2020

    Booking online very easy, welcome was professional and friendly and restaurant had a relaxed and inviting atmosphere. We had the summer tasting menu which was delicious and served at just the right pace. Favourite dishes egg & cornflakes, mackerel, creme brûlée’s and mint chocolate mousse. The manager and waiting staff were excellent and very knowledgeable. Only thing i would change is to give the toilets a bit of an update and coat of paint.

  • By Jacqui R from Birmingham
    16 September 2020

    The most amazing night, food and wine ever. A truly amazing experience. Even got to meet the Chef, Glynn Purnell and have a photo and gift of his book for my birthday. Totally star struck and would highly recommend.