Guide MICHELIN 2020

Reviews of Purnell's Restaurant

4.8
(based on 1535 reviews)
55 Cornwall St, Birmingham, W Midlands, B3 2DH
1535 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By June B from Bicester
    15 February 2020

    Outstanding food! Really really great experience and loved all the food. Very difficult to pick favourite but the monkfish and the haddock and egg are right up there. What made it for us were the staff. Made to feel so welcome and service was fantastic.

  • By Charlie S from Birmingham
    15 February 2020

    It was so good I would murder for at least some of it. Super pricey though.

  • By Emma S from Worcester
    15 February 2020

    Amazing from start to finish; the service, the decor & especially the food!! It was a special present to my dad for his birthday & enjoyed the whole experience!

  • By Mark S from Solihull
    15 February 2020

    This was a very special occasion being my wife's 50th and is our second visit to Purnells as these types of venue are reserved for those special times when we push the boat out financially. Our first visit for our 1st wedding anniversary was easily 10 out of 10 but sadly we cannot give our visit on saturday the same score so please take my feedback in the constructive manner it is intended. Firstly bread and butter as a course on a tasting menu baffled us and secondly the canary potatoes left a bitter taste in the mouth (the lumps of faux charcoal - not the potato element that is). But what we really felt let down by was the fact that going to Purnells, and paying prices associated with a Michelin starred chef, we were expecting the food to be cooked/overseen by Glynn himself.

  • By Charlotte G from Cornwall
    14 February 2020

    Food and service was amazing will definitely recommend and return

  • By David M from Warwick
    14 February 2020

    Chicken liver parfait was the best Ive ever had. Service was excellent. The green blobs (watercress?) looked good but weren't that tasty. The French Viognier (£39) was excellent and not too pricey for a restaurant of that calibre

  • By Tony S from Birmingham
    14 February 2020

    Excellent meal.

  • By Mike G from Nuneaton
    13 February 2020

    An excellent meal.

  • By Neil M from Birmingham
    13 February 2020

    All of the food and the wine flight was excellent, we thoroughly enjoyed our experience. Service was attentive and very professional but there was some communication issues due to accents.

  • By J C L from Sutton Coldfield
    11 February 2020

    My wife and I had the winter 6- course tasting menu with wine flight. The welcome was friendly and the service was nothing other than excellent. The food was tremendous and the wine flight complemented each course nicely. The wines were so well chosen and were presented, in a friendly and knowledgeable manner by Jarek. Every course hit the mark, from the "faux" black canary potatoes in the first course to the burnt English egg surprise in the last. The monkfish masala and prime Herefordshire beef, were simply outstanding. This was our third visit and we will be back!