Guide MICHELIN 2020

Reviews of Purnell's Restaurant

4.8
(based on 1517 reviews)
55 Cornwall St, Birmingham, W Midlands, B3 2DH
1517 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Smita S from Birmingham
    16 January 2020

    Only one world needed...sublime

  • By John P from Wolverhampton
    15 January 2020

    Very enjoyable experience. We opted for the three course lunch because my wife does not like a big meal, however, we both felt the five course option would have been better.

  • By Debbie F from Worcestershire
    15 January 2020

    This time we had the Brummie tapas oh my word every mouthful was so full of flavour, if you’ve never been to this restaurant it really is a must I’ve had all the menus now and would recommend any of them Glen when it comes to food your a genius!!

  • By Ben O from Birmingham
    14 January 2020

    Service was excellent. Service team was helpful, professional and present when necessary. Some very nice wines by the glass were recommended off-menu which was very reasonably priced and matched our request. Food was also excellent. Wife's favourite dish was the duck (which was cooked perfectly) and the 10/10/10 egg surprise dessert. I loved the Pork belly dish and the beef carpaccio starter. Perhaps for me the weakest dish was the chocolate & hazelnut tart - it was very good but 'nothing really special'. Would have appreciated a little more variety & options in the non-alcoholic drinks section for those trying to avoid alcohol. Sommelier / drinks specialist should look into this space as it is really developing fast - some of your competition is doing a stellar job in this department (even offering a non-alcoholic drinks pairing).

  • By Jennifer P from Wolverhampton
    14 January 2020

    A wonderful night. The whole experience 10 - 10 - 10

  • By Lindsey M from Belper
    11 January 2020

    We had a corner table in the gorgeously decorated main dining area. The service was impeccable and the food was absolutely amazing. A truly memorable experience

  • By Russell D from Knowle
    11 January 2020

    Just the most fantastic evening enjoying the set menu and wine flight. Haddock and eggs and Krug - genius. The service was exceptional I would recommend to all

  • By Jill P from Staffs
    10 January 2020

    An amazing 5 course menu.The description of each corse sounds very plain,then you are presented with an amazing plate to please the eye and the taste buds.The duck terrine was superb and the skate wing.The belly pork melted in the mouth but had crispy crackling on.The staff make you feel so welcome and explain what you are eating,they complete the dining experience.

  • By Jamie D from Birmingham
    4 January 2020

    Upon arrival at 18:10, we were told the restaurant wasn’t open until 7pm. A young lad behind the bar then reminded the gentleman that it was a Saturday and different times applied so it was 18:30. That was the time we had in our booking, however we left for a drink down the road at a local pub and returned at approx 6:45 and were shown to our table. The meal itself was the 7 course taster menu. It was excellent, every course. In particular I enjoyed the Haddock and Egg. My wife’s preference was the lamb dish.

  • By Cindy S from Cutnall Green, Worcs
    20 December 2019

    This was outstanding. We all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The food was delicious and exciting.