Guide MICHELIN 2020

Reviews of Purnell's Restaurant

4.8
(based on 1497 reviews)
55 Cornwall St, Birmingham, W Midlands, B3 2DH
1497 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Matt D from Northampton
    23 November 2019

    Amazing as ever with beautiful food and exquisite service

  • By Alison P from Stratford-upon-Avon
    23 November 2019

    Loved our dining experience. Food was delicious and accompanying wines were excellent.

  • By Brian D from Redditch
    22 November 2019

    Superb and spectacular! We were a party of 6 and only 2 had eaten at Purnells previously. Everybody was wildly excited by the end. Amazing courses, lovely wine and a great environment. Choose the £95 tasting menu - you will remember it forever! Glynn even graced us with his presence and a photo - what a guy!

  • By Fraser D from Birmingham
    22 November 2019

    Fabulous as always

  • By Peter John H from High Wycombe
    21 November 2019

    The word "perfection" is probably an understatement of our experience!

  • By Simon M from Birmingham
    21 November 2019

    Staff gave a really warm and professional welcome and maintained a really high level of personal service throughout, including all waitstaff and sommelier. Food was exemplary - I had the tasting menu and standard of food was superb throughout. The edible charcoal wasn't to my personal taste however - I found the texture a bit too much and it stuck to the insides of my mouth, which wasn't altogether pleasant. The wine pairings were fantastic, especially the Ojai dessert wine, which was a standout for me. The wine pairings complemented the food really well and was great value for money, especially with the Krug champagne being included.

  • By Elaine Sims S from Birmingham
    21 November 2019

    Absolutely fabulous from start to finish! We had the fixed price lunch menu starting with charcoal _- never had anythingquite like it before The duck terrine,fish and beef daube were all sublime and we couldn't really choose a favourite course.the toffee apple dessert was also delicious. The staff were all lovely and knowledgeable about each course.we enjoyed a really nice bottle of wine recommended to us. Have to say 100% better than Adam's by the way ! We are recommending to all our friends and will definitely be back soon.

  • By Lee M from Nottingham
    16 November 2019

    Took my wife for her birthday, the whole experience was fabulous and she even bumped into Glynn during the meal. The whole menu was amazing. The highlight the cream brûlée in the eggshell - amazing. All the staff very friendly. We will definitely be coming again in the future.

  • By Janet C from Birmingham
    15 November 2019

    The food is fabulous and all of the staff are friendly, welcoming and professional, cannot praise Purnell's highly enough.

  • By Amanda C from Birmingham
    14 November 2019

    Superb food/presentation. Service excellent - staff friendly and knowledgable. The experience made a birthday celebration meal extra special. Thank you Purnell’s.