map placeholder

POLPO Soho

41 Beak Street, London, W1F 9SB

((((* Italian
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
Average
Main course: £10
Food spend: £25
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 11:30 - 23:00
Sunday: 11:30 - 22:00.

Didn't eat there because of your website

Rebecca 14 March 2018
from London

View all 179 reviews

Oozing industrial chic, POLPO Soho serves up signature Venetian small plates. Exposed brick walls and rustic wooden seating are joined by a charming wooden bar, well stocked with Italian wines and spirits.

Reminiscent of Venice’s charming backstreet restaurants, POLPO specialises in Venetian small plates and spritz. Hand-rolled meatballs, freshly-stretched pizzettes and fresh colourful salads head up the menu. The main menu varies with the seasons and favourite creations include cuttlefish & squid ink risotto with gremolata, roast stuffed pork, lentils & radicchio and crab & chilli linguine. For dessert, choose from a variety of classics, such as tiramisu or Venetian ricotta doughnuts with cinnamon sugar.

Bringing Italian charm to London, POLPO on Beak Street is a 5-minute walk from both Piccadilly Circus and Oxford Circus Tube stations.

POLPO Soho

41 Beak Street, London, W1F 9SB

Contact +44 2077344479
Website

See all POLPO Restaurants

See all restaurants in London

See all restaurants in Soho & Chinatown

Customer reviews for POLPO Soho

4.0 ((((* (based on 179 reviews)
82% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • lunch (122)
  • dinner (92)
  • trendy (66)
  • romantic (45)
  • value (45)
  • business (23)
  • entertainment (11)
  • large parties (11)
  • child friendly (10)
  • private dining (7)
  • al fresco (3)
  • breakfast (3)
  • ((((( 15 October 2017 by Shane from South Croydon

    C

  • ((*** 13 October 2017 by Megan from London

    Food was good but not great. Service very slow...we had to ask 3 times for our drinks, our food arrived long before they did. They seemed disorganised as it wasn't that busy and there was a lot of staff. I overheard another table begging for their drinks too!

  • (**** 12 October 2017 by Alexandra from London soho

    Service was very bad and slow. We had to ask for our drinks three times, and then they didn't arrive until we had nearly finished our meal. The bartender apologised and said that he'd take them off the bill, as well as the service. When the bill came (after waiting 15 minutes after asking for it) the wine was still on the bill. When we mentioned it, it was taken away to be rectified, and then thrown back on our table afterwards. And when I say thrown, I mean that literally. The bartender literally threw it down on the table as he passed without saying anything or even looking at us. Shocking attitude, turned the slow and poor service into rude and unacceptable behaviour.

  • ((((( 11 October 2017 by Zarir from London

    Intimate and atmospheric with friendly service

  • ((((* 4 September 2017 by Louisa from London

    The food was really really good and great value. I will definitely be coming back. We loved the interior of the restaurant and the exposed brick work and I really appreciated the speedy service, with being on my work lunch break. However, I really don't think its good that you advertise yourselves on the Carnaby Card website, yet don't accept the card. I think its quite misleading. That being said, because it is so reasonable it wouldn't stop me returning and the staff are lovely.

  • (((** 3 September 2017 by Kenneth from London

    A bit tight for space. Otherwise splendid.

  • ((((( 1 September 2017 by Colin from Lowestoft

    Food delicious, service excellent & not intrusive

  • (((** 31 August 2017 by MM from London

    Some very nice dishes served tapas style as in Venitian bars. Meat balls are very good here so do get those but just get them on their own, you'll get three and do without the pasta as along with the linguine with crab the pasta is not well done here. About 5-6 plates will be enough but best avoid the starters, especially the shared starter which was so 'tapas' it was borderline mean! A piece of mozerella about the size of a pound coin once it had been shared! That is not an exaggeration. The arancini was very good so wish we'd ordered as a dish rather than share a single small one on the shared starter. Best advice - Concentrate on the main plates because they must make their money on rip off starters and drinks which are 80% ice.
    Will try this place again now I know the pitfalls as some very good dishes.

  • ((*** 29 August 2017 by Carolyn from tamarin, mauritius

    rather disappointed. decor grubby and dark (as were toilets). food ok but nothing special. i had been recommended the kings road polpo where you could sit outside but chose the soho branch for logistics.

  • ((((( 16 August 2017 by Lynne from Durham

    Lovely food, helpful staff, great atmosphere. Can't think why we haven't been here before. My friends and I shared a range of dishes which were all delicious particulary the ricotta and pea bruschetta, deep fried stuffed olives and the panna cotta with wild strawberries!

Unfortunately, you can't book POLPO Soho online on this site

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant