map placeholder

POLPO Soho

41 Beak Street, London, W1F 9SB

((((* Italian
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
Average
Main course: £10
Food spend: £25
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 11:30 - 23:00
Sunday: 11:30 - 22:00.

Didn't eat there because of your website

Rebecca 14 March 2018
from London

View all 179 reviews

Oozing industrial chic, POLPO Soho serves up signature Venetian small plates. Exposed brick walls and rustic wooden seating are joined by a charming wooden bar, well stocked with Italian wines and spirits.

Reminiscent of Venice’s charming backstreet restaurants, POLPO specialises in Venetian small plates and spritz. Hand-rolled meatballs, freshly-stretched pizzettes and fresh colourful salads head up the menu. The main menu varies with the seasons and favourite creations include cuttlefish & squid ink risotto with gremolata, roast stuffed pork, lentils & radicchio and crab & chilli linguine. For dessert, choose from a variety of classics, such as tiramisu or Venetian ricotta doughnuts with cinnamon sugar.

Bringing Italian charm to London, POLPO on Beak Street is a 5-minute walk from both Piccadilly Circus and Oxford Circus Tube stations.

POLPO Soho

41 Beak Street, London, W1F 9SB

Contact +44 2077344479
Website

See all POLPO Restaurants

See all restaurants in London

See all restaurants in West End of London

Customer reviews for POLPO Soho

4.0 ((((* (based on 179 reviews)
82% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • lunch (122)
  • dinner (92)
  • trendy (66)
  • romantic (45)
  • value (45)
  • business (23)
  • entertainment (11)
  • large parties (11)
  • child friendly (10)
  • private dining (7)
  • al fresco (3)
  • breakfast (3)
  • ((((( 21 December 2017 by Andra from London

    Lovely dining experience!

  • ((((( 21 December 2017 by Gokhan from London

    Truffle and mushroom arancini was the best!

  • (((** 2 December 2017 by Talking from London

    Nice ambience, the food was not extraordinarily good, it was just average. The place looked lovely and it’s generally a nice place to go for a date, as a foodie it was a bit of a disappointment with the monkfish special and the steak.

  • ((((( 2 December 2017 by Beatrix from London

    As ever, delicious

  • (((** 14 November 2017 by Donna from Cambridge

    Food was ok but wasn't super impressed. Most of the wines weren't available, very little privacy, service was just ok - not friendly - seemed very rushed and it wasn't that busy.

  • (((** 3 November 2017 by Joelle from San Diego, CA

    The staff was excellent and very, if not overly, attentive. The plates were a bit too small to share in some cases and awkward to share in others. Overall, the food needed seasoning and did not live up to the expectation set by ratings and reviews, but the atmosphere and service were very nice. I would suggest the cost estimate is more like £££ instead of two, as you need to order several items per person.

  • (((** 30 October 2017 by Elena from London

    We liked the concept of smaller sharing plates where you can try more dishes. It was great to see something other than the usual pizzas and lasagnas on the Italian restaurant menu. The food was nice and well cooked but perhaps lacking in flavour for me, although that is likely to do with quality of ingredients you get here by comparison to fresh Italian produce. My husband enjoyed it though. Pork meatballs and ice cream with espresso were the favourites. The music in the restaurant was far too loud to comfortably speak to each other.

  • ((((* 28 October 2017 by Emeline from London

    Must try the meatballs !

  • (**** 27 October 2017 by Vincent from London

    Very poor service, I had confirmation of the table from Bookatable but they did not have it in their system. The staff was rude, the food was below average and the wine selection was mediocre. I sent back a dish as it was bland and dry, the waitress threw it in the bin instead of bringing it back to the chef. Shows how much they care. Basically a glorified cantina, not worth trying!

  • ((*** 26 October 2017 by Yasmeen from London

    I was very excited to go to Polpo. The menu looked good- short enough to execute everything well but long enough to provide choice. I was disappointed with the food overall. The pre-prepared dishes like the caponata and the cured beetroot salmon were good but the cooked dishes were poor. The vegetarian meatballs were dry though they had good flavour and the spaghetti they came with was overcooked. It is worth using quality pasta to avoid this and have the texture al dente. The Pizzetta had uncooked dough in the middle and given we ordered the Bianca there was no excuse for this as there is no liquid to make the dough soggy. We ordered the herb risotto. Being married to an Italian and having lived in Italy for 10 years that dish was more like a cassava porridge in texture and lacked flavour. Even the pecorino having had no flavour. The chocolate pudding tasted very good though given it was supposed to have a molten centre it would have been nice if this came warmer than it did. We ate before the restaurant got truly busy. My fennel and apple said was excellent. This is one of those places where they should have more consistency across dishes in terms of quality. It is in the heart of London and they must know that pole who eat there know their food.

Unfortunately, you can't book POLPO Soho online on this site

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant