Guide MICHELIN 2020

Reviews of Plaquemine Lock

4.5
(based on 39 reviews)
139 Graham Street, London, London, N1 8LB
39 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Tom H from London
    3 June 2019

    Service was excellent, beer was good, place was clean and nicely decorated. The food was... well. We ate a lot. None of it was bad. None of it, save for the corn bread, was exceptional. I've never really liked corn bread before. This is worth visiting for. The pork "snack" starter we were told was like scratchings is actually big lumps of pork belly. Well cooked and tasty. The duck-ball snack was tasty, though the mustard/vinegar combo it came with was rather overpowering. Soft-shell crab was a little over-done. The almond paste with it was a little too marzipan for my liking. Nice but forgettable. My vegetarian jambalaya main was cut through with so much vinegar it was hard to distinguish other flavours. The pork ribs looked tasty (I didn't try them) and the portion was massive. If I were to go again I'd order corn-bread, ribs and a dessert. I'm actually tempted to do that, which is odd given how underwhelmed I was at the time.

  • By Eric B from London
    28 May 2019

    Disappointing

  • By Apples A from London
    12 May 2019

    LOVE this place. Food is amazing, the okra and shrimp was a real highlight. The decor is great, the live music is fun, but the absolute stand out selling point is the staff - so warm and friendly, they really make your visit.

  • By Carole H from London
    22 April 2019

    Wonderful place. Excellent, unique food. Great staff.

  • By Virginia D from London
    9 February 2019

    So so good, can't wait to return! Literally everything was perfect: food, wine, service and neighborhood.

  • By Fran N from London
    18 January 2019

    We were looking for somewhere different to eat before going to the ballet. The food certainly made a change - really tasty, obviously freshly prepared, with generous portions. Service was good, with very helpful guidance on the menu. Fairly expensive, but the quality made up for it.

  • By Gillian S from Glasgow
    7 December 2018

    Interestingly decorated space which holds a small bar and casual restaurant with very colourfully painted murals on the walls. It has a good atmosphere. The waitress was very friendly but overall they seemed understaffed as after our meal we had to present ourselves at the bar to pay. The food (blackened chicken with rice and beans) was bland and only made interesting by the addition of hot sauce. Not a great wine list and overpriced. I won’t return.

  • By Gloria N from London
    11 November 2018

    Plaquemine Lock has been a favourite with us since it opened. It's the real deal for Cajun and Creole food in London unlike other establishments that blacken a slice of fish and call it Cajun. The menu changes every so often so that you get to try a variety of dishes and there's a great selection of cocktails and draft beer. Hard as it is, do leave room for dessert - the coconut cream pie was heavenly.

  • By Olivia D from London
    6 November 2018

    Food was mega tasty but they got our order wrong & charged me 3 times (!) for my starter, but I only realised when I got home ??

  • By Peter B from London
    14 October 2018

    The food was great and it was a lovely evening of music to accompany it. I had the blackened chicken which was very tasty and one of our guests had the spanish sausage which he described as memorable. All in all a great evening.