map placeholder

Pepe Sale

3 Queens Walk, Reading, RG1 7QF

((((( Italian
  •  - Berkshire
  •  - Berkshire
  •  - Berkshire
  •  - Berkshire
  •  - Berkshire
  •  - Berkshire
  •  - Berkshire
  •  - Berkshire
Average
Main course: £13
Food spend: £24
Opening hours
Monday to Thursday: 12:00 - 14:30 & 18:00 - 22:30. Friday & Saturday: 12:00 - 14:30 & 18:00 - 23:00.

Excellent food with excellent service

Brian 14 May 2018
from Reading

View all 267 reviews

Crafting the finest Sardinian delicacies, Pepe Sale brings award-winning Italian cuisine to Reading. A charming, authentic eatery, Chef Toni can be viewed at the lively pasta bar hand-crafting Italy’s favourite staple.

Offering home-cooked delicacies honed over generations. With the kitchen run by chefs born and bred on the idyllic island of Sardinia, sample the luxurious flavours of a wild boar cutlet, or baked sea bass with a sea salt crust. Pasta dishes are made using freshly-rolled stocks, with sumptuous accompaniments including Sardinian scallops with cured grey mullet, or parcels with creamy pecorino cheese.

Sourcing wines from the breadth of Italy, Pepe Sale Reading offers a comprehensive stock, including a Tuscan red widely regarding as one of the world’s finest wines. Tempting desserts include basil panna cotta, and smooth chocolate mousse.

A bright, lively dining room features glossy granite-topped tables and retro black and white tiling. Pepe Sale restaurant is a 10-minute walk from Reading Rail Station.

Pepe Sale

3 Queens Walk, Reading, RG1 7QF

Contact +44 1189597700
Website

See all restaurants in Berkshire

See all restaurants in Reading

Customer reviews for Pepe Sale

4.8 ((((( (based on 267 reviews)
97% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((((
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location ((((*
  • Service (((((
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (241)
  • lunch (104)
  • romantic (103)
  • large parties (81)
  • value (75)
  • business (69)
  • private dining (57)
  • luxury (33)
  • child friendly (27)
  • entertainment (17)
  • trendy (14)
  • al fresco (5)
  • breakfast (3)
  • afternoon tea (2)
  • ((((( 6 August 2017 by Kevin from Exeter

    Great food, great service, could do with some background music

  • ((((( 5 August 2017 by Joanna from Reading

    Lovely and friendly staff. Great food! Some very unusual dishes typical for Sardinia. Highly recommend

  • ((((( 4 August 2017 by Peter from Reading

    A warm welcome on arrival, friendly attentive staff. Speedy service in a relaxed atmosphere. Excellent food to a consistently high standard.

  • ((*** 31 July 2017 by Helen from Ascot

    Frosty welcome because we dared to arrive 5 mins before they opened , my starter nice fish soup which was actually muscles in tomato sauce with a couple of prawns my friend advocado ok but too much cheese my main of liver well cooked but covered in too much balsamic and onion my friend sea bass very good but both accompanied vegetables were cabbage and carrots I have them for Sunday dinner! My dessert awful supposed to be lemon and orange cheese cake so much cheese stuff hardly any base and virtually no taste of lemon, no one asked did we enjoy our meal or thanked us for the tip , throughout our meal it seemed there were far more important guests to look after than us

  • ((((( 29 July 2017 by Frederick from Reading

    Excellent meal and service

  • ((((( 26 July 2017 by Elizabeth from Reading

    We love Pepe Sale; we came for the first time about a year ago and it has quickly become our go-to place for nice dinners out. The staff is friendly and informative; whether it's asking for descriptions of dishes (for the 8th time) or letting us know the kitchen is busy so one pudding might take an unusually long time to prepare.

    Their dishes are authentic and delicious. We've brought friends and family and nobody has left unimpressed.

  • ((((( 26 July 2017 by Jane from READING

    Lovely dinner as usual and thoughtful and personalized service. Fresh special food and always come here for special occasions. Love spaghetti allo scoglio with prawns and mussels and the steaks are great.

  • ((((( 12 July 2017 by Pete from Reading

    The welcome was warm and friendly, as always. We were shown to a lovely table in the window and our drink order taken. Fresh bread arrived at the same time as the drinks.

    The specials were explained and we took our time to choose before ordering.

    All courses for all of us were amazing. Good quality, fresh tasty food. The wild boar and my dessert of basil panna cotta were outstanding.

  • ((((* 11 July 2017 by Clare from Reading

    A good meal, as was the case on my only previous visit, and attentive service.

  • ((((( 9 July 2017 by D from Reading

    Excellent service. Fabulous food. Flexible with menu to accommodate children as they don't have an actual children's menu.

Unfortunately, you can't book Pepe Sale online on this site

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant