map placeholder

Pepe Sale

3 Queens Walk, Reading, RG1 7QF

((((( Italian
  •  - Berkshire
  •  - Berkshire
  •  - Berkshire
  •  - Berkshire
  •  - Berkshire
  •  - Berkshire
  •  - Berkshire
  •  - Berkshire
Average
Main course: £13
Food spend: £24
Opening hours
Monday to Thursday: 12:00 - 14:30 & 18:00 - 22:30. Friday & Saturday: 12:00 - 14:30 & 18:00 - 23:00.

Excellent food with excellent service

Brian 14 May 2018
from Reading

View all 267 reviews

Crafting the finest Sardinian delicacies, Pepe Sale brings award-winning Italian cuisine to Reading. A charming, authentic eatery, Chef Toni can be viewed at the lively pasta bar hand-crafting Italy’s favourite staple.

Offering home-cooked delicacies honed over generations. With the kitchen run by chefs born and bred on the idyllic island of Sardinia, sample the luxurious flavours of a wild boar cutlet, or baked sea bass with a sea salt crust. Pasta dishes are made using freshly-rolled stocks, with sumptuous accompaniments including Sardinian scallops with cured grey mullet, or parcels with creamy pecorino cheese.

Sourcing wines from the breadth of Italy, Pepe Sale Reading offers a comprehensive stock, including a Tuscan red widely regarding as one of the world’s finest wines. Tempting desserts include basil panna cotta, and smooth chocolate mousse.

A bright, lively dining room features glossy granite-topped tables and retro black and white tiling. Pepe Sale restaurant is a 10-minute walk from Reading Rail Station.

Pepe Sale

3 Queens Walk, Reading, RG1 7QF

Contact +44 1189597700
Website

See all restaurants in Berkshire

See all restaurants in Reading

Customer reviews for Pepe Sale

4.8 ((((( (based on 267 reviews)
97% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((((
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location ((((*
  • Service (((((
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (241)
  • lunch (104)
  • romantic (103)
  • large parties (81)
  • value (75)
  • business (69)
  • private dining (57)
  • luxury (33)
  • child friendly (27)
  • entertainment (17)
  • trendy (14)
  • al fresco (5)
  • breakfast (3)
  • afternoon tea (2)
  • ((((* 21 October 2017 by Stephen from Liverpool

    Great service and very good food

  • ((((( 13 October 2017 by Anne from Reading

    We have eaten here many times and are always given a warm welcome. Marco, and his team were very attentive and the food as usual was delicious. It's lovely to be able to eat imaginative and delicious food that is different from all the "chains" . Well done to Tony for his recent awards for the restaurant.

  • ((((( 11 October 2017 by Colette from Wokingham

    Superb food and excellent service

  • ((((( 11 October 2017 by Paul from reading

    Arguably one of the best Italian/Sardinian restaurants in Reading.
    The pasta is freshly made each day and pasta dishes are top class.
    The menu is lovely, tastes are great and the wine list top notch with many bottles reasonably priced.
    There is always a friendly welcome which continues with the professional service throughout the evening.

  • ((((* 11 October 2017 by Sam from Reading

    The food was delicious , and we had a really nice welcome by the maitre'd. The only downside was when it came to deserts we were recommended to noynorder the desserts hat took longer as the kitchen was busy, so we didn't. Despite this, my order of profiteroles (the only thing left on the menu that I could eat) ended up taking about half an hour, and they served this hehe rest of the desserts without waiting for mine, so I had to eat mine about 15 minutes after everyone else. I even after sled whether I could cancel it but they insisted it was on its way. We did get an apology but they laughed it off and given how long we had to wait I would have expected more acknowledgement. I would recommend it for the food as it tasted great, but don't make plans for afterwards!

  • ((((( 11 October 2017 by Christine from Reading

    Excellent food and service as always. I would like a bit more choice for vegetarians/vegans. That’s not to say my pasta was not lovely. But a little bit more choice would be good.

  • ((((( 10 October 2017 by Cristina from Reading

    Lovely food, great suckling pick! Nice atmosphere.

  • ((((( 5 October 2017 by John from Kirkcaldy

    As always an exceptional meal, cooked to perfection using the finest ingredients

  • ((((( 5 October 2017 by Maria from Reading

    Food was amazing, from starters to desserts, and drinks.
    I would recommend to have the "tagliata" as main, and try the specials recommended by the staff. Wine was excellent. Staff is really friendly and helpful. Definitely will go there again.

  • (((** 10 September 2017 by Steve from Reading

    In over 20 years of visiting this restaurant the food, service and friendly atmosphere have never changed. It is simply the best long may it continue and I would urge anyone to sample for themselves and enjoy

Unfortunately, you can't book Pepe Sale online on this site

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant