Reviews of Peacock Alley

4.4
(based on 113 reviews)
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian Princes Street, Edinburgh, Scotland, EH1 2AB
113 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Heather B from Edinburgh
    13 October 2019

    Lovely

  • By Elizaveta L from London
    1 September 2019

    Really enjoyed our afternoon tea there. Great food and tea. Easy to get full, so be careful with that :) There was a live harp music that added to an ambience. Very helpful and friendly staff.

  • By Andrew H from London
    31 August 2019

    It was a wonderful experience. I think the waitress was called Meike? - Was wonderful.

  • By Natalie O from London
    20 July 2019

    We had afternoon tea on Saturday 20th july. Excellent tea, amazing cocktails, but food quality needs to improve. Savoury dishes: bread with tomatoes and mozarella had been prepared hours in advance and bread was soaked through, combination of blue cheese and chocolate was not good, prawn and salmon sandwich needs to decide on one of the two ingredients as both together do not work. Sweet dishes: macarons were soft with no crunch on the outer layer proving they were not fresh, similarly the cheesecake had a spot of cream which was hardened again proving it was not fresh. I understand that afternoon tea is now a bit of a production and items will be prepared in advance. However I expect that a hotel at the level of the Waldorf Astoria knows better than to serve softened macrons, cream that isn't fresh, and soggy bread.

  • By Ruth S from Edinburgh
    1 June 2019

    Very comfortable and classy surroundings. All the staff were friendly, attentive and helpful. Our savoury afternoon tea included a small amuse-bouche of fine butternut squash soup to accompany a warm mini pork pie and filo pastry roll stuffed with haggis. The middle tier included a cheese and deli selection - the salami and chorizo prettily rolled into tiny cones to form a rosette - very impressive. We could not do justice to the sandwiches that followed nor the scones which were kindly boxed up for us to take away. My friend and I have a lovely afternoon and I would definitely recommend.

  • By Ruth F from Bonnyrigg
    28 December 2018

    Lovely afternoon tea, attentive staff and beautiful relaxed setting

  • By Belinda R from Preston
    18 November 2018

    Food was excellent Sandwiches lovely Cakes and scones divine Plenty to eat and drink coffee was just right. We took cakes home in 2 lovely little boxes . The harp and piano was played beautifully. Only downside was being left to wait for 10/15 mins but a quick phone call soon got it sorted. Not the cheapest but worth every penny.

  • By Naomi L L from London
    8 September 2018

    After requesting the vegan afternoon tea, I was very disappointed with how some members of staff behaved after the chef accidentally gave me clotted cream (and I'm severely allergic to dairy). After I notified them about the error, they avoided me and didn't even ask if I was ok. I wish the printed vegan menu matched what I was served on the day as it would have prevented me having an allergic reaction. My friend who had the traditional afternoon tea was very pleased with the food but agreed the staff shouldn't have avoided me.

  • By Margaret C from Edinburgh
    5 September 2018

    Surroundings were very calm, comfortable & pleasant. The service from our waiter was friendly, attentive & accommodating. The selection of food was varied, very tasty & unusual. There was a good choice of teas & coffees with as much as we wanted.

  • By Annemarie G from Hellerup
    20 July 2018

    Very cozy. Great sandwiches and cakes, just a little too much white chocolate.