map placeholder

Patisserie Valerie - Ipswich

19 Buttermarket, Ipswich, IP1 1BQ

(((() French
  •  - Suffolk
  •  - Suffolk
  •  - Suffolk
  •  - Suffolk
  •  - Suffolk
  •  - Suffolk
  •  - Suffolk
  •  - Suffolk
  •  - Suffolk
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 08:00 - 18:00
Sunday: 09:00 - 17:00.

Excellent service and great afternoon tea

Stuart 01 February 2017
from Ipswich

View all 17 reviews

Established back in 1926 in London's Soho, Patisserie Valerie is renowned for its range of continental-style baked goods. Paying homage to the bohemian café culture, find traditional bistro furnishings and Toulouse Lautrec-style cartoons inside, along with a pristine pastry counter displaying spectacular hand-crafted celebration cakes, individual treats, and lots more. Served throughout the day, guests can enjoy signature patisserie, as well as breakfasts, lunches, and fine tea and coffee.

Patisserie Valerie - Ipswich

19 Buttermarket, Ipswich, IP1 1BQ

Contact +44 1473212392
Website

See all restaurants in Suffolk

See all restaurants in Ipswich

Customer reviews for Patisserie Valerie - Ipswich

4.4 (((() (based on 17 reviews)
94% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (16)
  • lunch (8)
  • breakfast (7)
  • child friendly (4)
  • value (4)
  • business (3)
  • luxury (2)
  • trendy (2)
  • al fresco (1)
  • dinner (1)
  • private dining (1)
  • romantic (1)
  • ((((( 28 May 2016 by Pam from Ipswich

    The afternoon tea was delicious. The staff were welcoming, helpful and friendly. I do feel that the fruit juice we had was extremely expensive. (£3 for a glass of orange juice when you can buy a litre carton for £1.)

  • ((((( 25 May 2016 by Debbie from ipswich we enjoyed

    We enjoyed all the food and had a pot of tea and a hot chocolate. The service was good and will be going back soon.

  • (((** 24 May 2016 by Linda from Ipswich

    It was ok.
    The milk was a bit curdled so had white bits on the top. The tea was very weak, had to ask for it to be made stronger. 3 plain scenes and 1 fruit given so had to ask for another fruit to be given. Overall it wasn't bad but wouldn't rush back.

  • ((((( 21 May 2016 by Jaye from Ipswich

    We visited at 11 am 19/05/2016. We had reserved a table but as there were not many diners or reservations for that time we were given the choice to choose an alternative table. The waitress was friendly and presentable. I went to the toilet which was clean and modern. We were given menus and our waitress explained special offers for that day. We ordered Afternoon Tea for two and was told we could have unlimited hot drinks with our order. We ordered Breakfast tea and it arrived as tea leaves in an infuser, in a quaint silver teapot. We had waited 10 minutes when our Afternoon Tea arrived. Presented nicely with finger cut sandwiches (bread was soft and fresh and the chicken, sunblazed tomato and pesto one was especially delicious). There were two plain small scones and two small fruit scones served warm with two mini pots of Bon Marman strawberry conserve and a silver pot of a generous amount of clotted cream. The fruit scones were our favourite. The top tier of our cake caddy had a selection of miniture desserts. Two chocolate eclairs, a Victoria sponge ( the the sponge was as light as air, very nice), a mixed berry mousse slice ( could have been more bold on flavour, was quite mild), Carrot cake slice (icing a little too sweet for my taste but still nice) and a Chocolate Gateaux slice (by far our favourite - very chocolatey but light). We had a top up of more Breakfast tea. We went to pay at the till and were given a free packet of mini macarons each as we had booked our table through Bookatable, which was a nice touch. Overall, a nice atmospere, warm and pleasant decor with friendly staff. Price was reasonable, I would come here again, if just to try another of the delicious looking desserts on offer.

  • ((((* 10 May 2016 by Elizabeth from Ipswich

    We had Afternoon Tea, and it was very nice, although cucumber sandwiches were a bit tasteless. Scones and cakes were lovely though and the tea kept coming. Staff very friendly.

  • ((((( 7 May 2016 by Sarah from Ipswich

    the afternoon tea was delicious, service excellent and loved the fact we got refills on our drinks for no extra charge

  • (((** 4 May 2016 by Hayley from Ipswich

    Food was lovely however the customer service was poor. I understand it was a busy Saturday afternoon however we felt very ignored. We said "excuse me" to one lady who looked and walked straight past us - we felt invisible and all we wanted was another cup of tea! There was a presence of a lot of customers frustrated by the lack of customer service provided.

Unfortunately, you can't book Patisserie Valerie - Ipswich online on this site

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant