Park Royal

(26 Reviews)
Stretton Road, Warrington, Cheshire, WA4 4NS
British
View main menu

Average

Main course: £18.5
Food spend: £24.5

Opening hours

Monday to Thursday: 12:00 - 17:00 & 18:00 - 21:30
Friday & Saturday: 12:00 - 17:00 & 18:00 - 22:00
Sunday: 12:00 - 17:00 & 18:00 - 21:00.

Restaurant description

AA Rosette award winning restaurant, Park Royal presents high quality traditionally British cuisine in a stylish environment. Dishes are created using mostly fresh and locally sourced ingredients. With spectacular views of the countryside, enjoy imaginative cocktails at the chilled lounge bar or in the al fresco seating area.

Serving only the finest dishes created with devotion and talent, the Park Royal menu shows outstanding courses featuring hearty grilled meats such as the 224g Dukesmoor Rump, fresh and seasoned seafood and pea & asparagus risotto.

The inventive sweet courses available entail popcorn panna cotta, a ‘floating island’ (rhubarb and honeycomb in custard) and quintessential English indulgence sticky toffee pudding. Another choice, the Park Royal restaurant offers afternoon tea filled with sandwiches, scones, cakes and fancies.

In the heart of Cheshire, The Park Royal is found close to St Matthew’s Church and is just a 10-minute drive to family-friendly town Warrington and a 5-minute drive to reach the M56 and M6 motorways.

Dishes displayed on a la carte menus are representative of the type of food available at the restaurant.

Customer reviews for Park Royal
3.7
(based on 26 reviews)

69%
of diners recommend this restaurant

  • Food
  • Drinks
  • Ambience
  • Service
  • Value
  • Location

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (5)
  • al fresco (1)
  • breakfast (8)
  • business (5)
  • child friendly (6)
  • dinner (10)
  • entertainment (1)
  • large parties (5)
  • lunch (8)
  • luxury (1)
  • private dining (5)
  • romantic (5)
  • trendy (3)
  • value (6)
  • views (1)
  • By Wendy R from WARRINGTON
    16 November 2019

    Afternoon tea service wasn't anything special,young lady was a bit off hand,even though was booked for 1pm,didn't get sandwiches til 1.30,but was worth waiting for and enjoyed by all.?? Very disappointed with a la carte not much choice on menu,rather meagre servings and the raspberry tarte base was so hard both myself and husband left it,the restaurant staff were very helpful and polite so we didn't complain at the time. It is a lovely atmosphere and surroundings but the food does not meet expectations,actually the bar food looked much more appealing and less money! Very busy at breakfast,no seats left in dinning area so had to eat in bar which was not ideal ,had to ask for cutlery and milk and sugar, they ran out of plates,we felt sorry for the staff as didn't seem to be enough to do the job efficiently not their fault .

  • By Sarah C from Warrington
    12 October 2019

    Nice friendly staff, good service. Menu choice was good. Sea bass mains was nice, as were burgers. The lamb dish was felt to be inadequate, especially for the price. It wasn’t much bigger than a starter and the poor person having it was hungry still! Needs more carbs/potatoes with it. Plus my starter was forgotten about / missed. When it came out, most people were finished and my food seemed not cooked properly as had been rushed out. Having said that, overall the experience was ok.

  • By Brian M from Cleethorpes
    11 October 2019

    The staff who served us were very efficient, personable and polite. The restaurant itself had pleasant decor, although it felt a little chilly. I was not too impressed by the a-la-carte menu, however, in respect of the main courses. There was not a great choice and the portions were small. Also, I felt some of the dishes were too pretentious when compared with the menu in the bar, which included more traditional dishes such as gammon. I had lamb rump and the portions were pitifully small. It was a good job I ordered new potatoes as a side order as there would not have been enough to eat.. Why are no traditional vegetables served with the main courses? Having said all this, the soup was very tasty and hot. The staff were also very accommodating with regard to the dessert course. I only wanted ice cream, which was not on the menu, and this was provided without any fuss or quibble. We had earlier mentioned to our waitress that we were there to celebrate our wedding anniversary and the recent birth of our great niece. We were pleasantly surprised and delighted when a plate containing small desserts was brought to us, inscribed with congratulations for both of these events, handwritten beautifully in chocolate. This was a really nice touch and very much appreciated.

  • By John B from Warrington
    8 September 2019

    Very nice food but very small portions and priced high. Generally enjoyable spoilt only by the Manager at the end of the evening. We had a bottle of wine and then asked for two further glasses of the same. We drank the wine but both commented that it didn't taste the same as the bottle. When the bill was brought by the Manager we questioned this fact. He insisted that it was and that he poured it himself. The was no sense of apology or courtesy in his manner. I then asked to see the bottle which I was shown. The manager made the point that we should have questioned the matter earlier. I believe he felt we wanted the 2 glasses of wine deducted off the bill, which was not the case at all. We simply wanted to be assured that what we were drinking was what we paid for. A very disappointing to the evening which was otherwise pleasant despite the opening comment. If we stayed at this hotel again we would not eat in the main restaurant. We would have deducted the presumably optional service charge but felt this would affect the staff and not the offender so did not do.

  • By Angus P from wrexham
    9 August 2019

    Food itself very well presented and tlavoursome. Menu a little too limited. Service was courteous but sometimes rather slow.

  • By John B from Isle of Man
    28 July 2019

    Excellent, friendly service. It was out 35th wedding anniversary and we were surprised with a complimentary selection of cakes to end the meal. The quality of the food was excellent

  • By Sangeeta S from Warrington
    14 July 2019

    Had a table of 10 for Sunday lunch. Friendly staff. I’m not sure that it was made clear at the booking it was a fixed Sunday lunch menu but that may be my mistake. Food was good and enjoyed by all.

  • By Karen T from Twickenham
    26 May 2019

    Selections of the dinner menu were quite limited, compared to the bar menu. Overall prices were high for what it was. Foods were well presented and of good standards in general. Services were very good with friendly staff, especially the restaurant manager Laura who was very accommodating and helpful. We booked the dinner as part of a package deal with a hotel room. Only £28 were allocated per person so a maths question must be solved before ordering, which made it fun.

  • By Janice H from Manchester
    26 April 2019

    We ate three courses every one was delicious. Only criticism being that the lamb rump needed something else included on the plate eg potatoes, rather than having to purchase extra side portions. The white chocolate brownie & chocolate creme brûlée we’re yummy. Service was polite & attentive without being over bearing.

  • By Ken A from Warrington
    21 April 2019

    Excellent food and service

Restaurant Location Map
Park Royal
Stretton Road, Warrington, Cheshire, WA4 4NS