Reviews of Paolozzi's Kitchen

3.9
(based on 87 reviews)
73 Belford Road, Edinburgh, Scotland, EH4 3DS
87 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Joanna B from Edinburgh
    16 November 2020

    Excellent soup and panini..all fresh and nicely served

  • By Jill O from Edinburgh
    27 February 2020

    Overall we felt this restaurant/cafe was better before it was done up both in terms of decor and food. The bruschetta which we both had was just a piece of bread, not toasted. The bird’s nest of pea shoots was undressed and difficult to eat politely. The menu had given the impression the salmon would be in a piece but it came mashed in with the creme fraiche ... probably much cheaper for you? The service was very slow but the poor young woman in the room was working so hard, it was just she had too much to do. She forgot we said we would like a coffee after our food and remembered when she brought our bill ... not her fault as she was dashing from task to task. We had coffee elsewhere. Overall, a stressful rather than a relaxing experience.

  • By Gail J from Edinburgh
    18 February 2020

    The special, Chicken Chasseur, was not very hot. The bruschetta is made on bread which it is difficult to get your teeth through - whether because it was not fresh or is just tough bread who knows.

  • By Sam M from Edinburgh
    2 February 2020

    Service was very slow and it took over 10 minutes to get butter to go with my scone. The Garlic bread was covered in a mound of pea shoots (which immediately turned my 7 year old against it). The cheese platter was also buried under a mound of pea shoots. It contained 5 frugal pieces of cheese and 5 oatcakes with a few olives for £9. The menu was very, very limited. Even before the revamp there was never much choice. It takes forever for an order to come and we shall certainly not be back again for anything beyond a simple tea or coffee. Very disappointing.

  • By Barbara J from Dundee
    25 January 2020

    Menu was varied with a lot of choice to suit from hearty meal to snack lunch. Four diners each had very good food and the service was excellent.

  • By Norman C from Orkney
    19 January 2020

    It was easy to book a table. The staff were welcoming and very pleasant. Our table was OK. The food was quite nice - not outstanding. Service was desperately (unacceptably) slow - in the end lunch took two hours which was twice what we had allowed for.

  • By Marion M from Edinburgh
    9 January 2020

    Waited quite a bit longer than the 15 minutes that we were told for our food to arrive. The goats cheese and pesto pizza was extremely salty. Would not recommend this! The haggis lasagne was a very small portion and overpriced. This is my first visit to Cafe Modern Two since its refurbish and I am not impressed by the new menu. Disappointing as I used to be a regular visitor to this Cafe.

  • By Aileen O'Sullivan O from Glasgow
    5 January 2020

    Stylish surroundings, good food. The staff were exceptionally nice, thankyou!

  • By Catherine M from Edinburgh
    1 January 2020

    Small portions. Salad accompaniment basic. Not sure if pizzas are a good inclusion -overpriced.

  • By Linda B from Glasgow
    27 December 2019

    Five of us visited for lunch (pre-booked) on Friday 27 December. I've previously had very good experiences of this cafe in terms of food, service and ambience. However, on this occasion we were severely disappointed. It was clear from the start that there was a serious problem of under-staffing. This was explained to us by one of the two serving staff on duty; she apologised and said that our food would take up to 20 minutes to arrive. We accepted this but, in the event, we had to wait for nearly 45 minutes for our food. I have to make it clear that the waiting staff were unfailingly courteous and apologetic and, when we politely expressed our concerns, offered us a 20% deduction on the bill which we accepted. But we had to rush our meal in order to finish our visit to the gallery exhibition itself and then leave in time to catch our train back to Glasgow, where we had a family gathering to attend. In addition, we all felt that the food was not quite up to its usual standard - rather tired salad leaves with no dressing, for example. It's quite likely that both staffing and food were seasonal issues but perhaps under the circumstances a less ambitious temporary menu should have been substituted. Despite this experience, it's likely that we will visit again at some point.