map placeholder

Osteria

Level 2, Barbican Centre, Silk St, London, EC2Y 8DS

((()* Italian
  • Osteria - London
  • Osteria - London
  • Osteria - London
  • Osteria - London
  • Osteria - London
  • Osteria - London
  • Osteria - London
  • Osteria - London
  • Osteria - London
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 12:00 - 14:00 & 16:30 - 22:00.

We enjoyed our three-course pre-theatre dinner. The restaurant was comfortable, the atmosphere relaxed and the service excellent.

Anne 21 May 2018
from Maidenhead,

View all 445 reviews

A sophisticated spot for cocktails, lunch or dinner near The Barbican, Osteria is a modern Italian restaurant in London brought to you by Searcys. Enjoy fabulous views of the Barbican’s iconic lakeside and fountains from inside the landmark Barbican Centre.

The Osteria menu features bold, ingredient-focused Italian dishes served in a bistronomy style, with a focus on Italian produce and seasonality. In the centre of the restaurant find an old meat slicer, and table dedicated to house-made charcuterie. From the Osteria menu, try starters like carpaccio of sea bream, clementine, fennel and chilli, white onion and bread soup, and buratta with artichokes, carrots and hazelnuts. Elsewhere on the menu, discover homemade pasta dishes such as rigatoni with Sicilian sausage, and ricotta gnudi with endive and apple balsamic dressing.

Signature mains include suckling pig with sage potatoes and slow-cooked beef polenta with roast onions, whilst classic desserts of polenta cake with orange marmalade, and zabaione complete the menu. From the Osteria bar come classic Italian wines and cocktails. Try a traditional negroni or bellini, or sample the wine list which includes an impressive array of bottles from throughout Italy.

Find Osteria London a short walk from both Barbican and Moorgate Tube stations.

Osteria

Level 2, Barbican Centre, Silk St, London, EC2Y 8DS

Contact +44 2075883008
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in London

See all restaurants in City of London

Customer reviews for Osteria

3.7 ((()* (based on 445 reviews)
76% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((()*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (260)
  • views (162)
  • lunch (144)
  • value (66)
  • business (63)
  • romantic (52)
  • private dining (51)
  • luxury (25)
  • entertainment (19)
  • trendy (18)
  • large parties (16)
  • afternoon tea (14)
  • child friendly (7)
  • al fresco (5)
  • breakfast (4)
  • ((((( 12 February 2018 by Charles from London

    Excellent, polite and obliging staff provide courteous and efficient service. The pre-concert offer is good value and the food first rate.

  • ((((* 4 February 2018 by Patsy from London

    Really great restaurant, the food was perfect and the ambiance was nice, I'd turn down the lights a little though! Although the experience was pretty flawless it is quite expensive.

  • ((((* 26 January 2018 by M. from London

    The service was very good and the food was both imaginative and well cooked. We were given a table overlooking the beautiful church and water. There was only one thing that bothered me, I had planned to have some potatoes with my fish and according to the lunch-time menu online this was available; although there were no options on how you could have these prepared. However, when I tried to order these the next day they were not available, so instead I had courgettes fried with flakes of coconut. However, the waitress told me that she would mention this to the manager so that the online menu could be changed.

  • ((((( 26 January 2018 by Nigel from Stabdon

    Excellent meal and good value

  • ((((( 26 January 2018 by john from Bourne End

    The setting of the restaurant with views over the Thames is very special and the spacious lay out is pleasing. We thoroughly enjoyed the fixed menu, finding the choices and quality very good. The staff were attentive without being fussy. All round, a very pleasant experience and we shall return when next in the area.

  • (**** 23 January 2018 by Peter from London

    Terrible experience, starters served at three different times, main course from the pre-theatre menu arrived not long before we were due to leave and take our seats for the show. Took ages for the wine to be served. The starters were taken off the bill, they would have been better off charging us zero. The food was awful too.

  • ((((* 22 January 2018 by David from Oxford


    Excellent for a pre-theatre lunch. Set lunch fine and service excelent

  • ((*** 19 January 2018 by SM from London

    It was just an ok experience. The bar seemed buzzy and fun and the service was good. However, the food was very so-so. Everything felt like it was pre-pared and straight out of the fridge. My husband had the beef tagliatelle and the sauce was basically like a weak stock - so watery. I als had tagliatelle but it was a little over cooked and again felt like it had come out of a microwave. The starters were ok but I had some carrots with my burrata which tasted like they had been pickled in a very medicinal tasting brine. We didn’t want to sample desert and only booked the place as we were seeing an exhibition in the Barbican. It was quite disappointing. The views are nice and the staff were very pleasant and professional. Shame about the food. Spent the entire meal wishing I’d gone elsewhere.

  • ((((* 14 January 2018 by Keith from London

    We enjoyed it - pleasant service. Menu choice a bit limited, but acceptable. Nice wine.

  • ((((( 13 January 2018 by Dr from Lonndon

    Excellent food, excellent service, excellent ambience, and excellent value

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant