map placeholder

Osteria

Level 2, Barbican Centre, Silk St, London, EC2Y 8DS

((((* Italian
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 12:00 - 22:30

Amazing food in a increasingly rare restaurant where you can follow s conversation

Paola Perotti 25 August 2017
from London

View all 325 reviews

Showcasing Italian cuisine from multi-award-winning chef Anthony Demetre, Osteria presents a regularly changing menu of seasonal, regional produce. Look out over Barbican’s iconic lakeside and fountains whilst sipping on classic Italian cocktails and new generation wines.

In the centre of the restaurant find an old meat slicer, and table dedicated to house-made charcuterie. From the Osteria menu, try starters like carpaccio of sea bream, clementine, fennel and chilli, white onion and bread Soup, and buratta with artichokes, carrots and hazelnuts. Elsewhere on the menu, discover homemade pasta dishes such as rigatoni with Sicilian sausage, and ricotta gnudi with endive and apple balsamic dressing. Signature mains include suckling pig with sage potatoes and slow-cooked beef polenta with roast onions, whilst classic desserts of polenta cake with orange marmalade, and zabaione complete the menu.

From the Osteria bar come classic Italian wines and cocktails. Try a traditional negroni or bellini, or sample the wine list which includes an impressive array of bottles from throughout Italy.

Find Osteria London a short walk from both Barbican and Moorgate Tube stations.

Osteria

Level 2, Barbican Centre, Silk St, London, EC2Y 8DS

Contact +44 2075883008
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in London

See all restaurants in City of London

Customer reviews for Osteria

3.8 ((((* (based on 325 reviews)
79% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((()*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (198)
  • views (122)
  • lunch (111)
  • value (50)
  • business (49)
  • romantic (43)
  • private dining (38)
  • luxury (20)
  • entertainment (17)
  • trendy (15)
  • large parties (13)
  • afternoon tea (11)
  • child friendly (6)
  • al fresco (5)
  • breakfast (4)
  • ((((* 26 July 2017 by Celia Helliwell from Newcastle

    Friendly helpful staff, i told them I had lactose intolerance and they went out of their way to help. We got out to our theatre date in good time

  • ((((* 26 July 2017 by Janette Marshall from Barbican

    Good attentive service, pleasant knowledgeable staff. Food served in good time to meet theatre deadline.

  • ((((( 25 July 2017 by Chris from London

    Pre Theatre Dinner:
    Very prompt service, friendly waitress, delicious meal at a reasonable price

  • ((((( 25 July 2017 by Trish from Shropshire

    We enjoyed an excellent pre- theatre dinner at Osteria.
    The food was delicious, perfectly cooked and a good choice available.
    Service was excellent - courteous and friendly without being too formal.

  • ((*** 24 July 2017 by David Cropp from Martley Worcester

    Hmmm, mixed response from us. Didn't seem to have recognised it was for my wife's birthday, so no extra effort tablewise or anything. Needs to be far clearer that a la carte is not available between 5 and 7. Starters poor selection, saved by the fish mains (plaice and bream) both excellent, desserts poor, scrappy small portion of orange sorbet and a hard chocolate cake (? really). Prosecco fine, but glass of white wine with main flabby and dated - so, sorry, a disappointing experience, what a pity to have come such a way to get a rather sorry evening costing £100+. As it was a birthday I wasn't going down the complaints on the evening - thats not how a birthday is celebrated

  • (**** 21 July 2017 by Stephen Cahill from Barbican

    Well... it was very disappointing. 'Osteria' definitely needs to hire more staff as the three waiters & waitresses were well overworked yestersay lunchtime. My friend and I had to wait ages for our main to arrive - and that was after a miserly starter of pan fried mackerel which was about 6cm in diameter on a bed of unknown brown stuff and a few leaves of rocket. I actually had to ask the waitress - who was doing her best under the trying circumstances - where our main was and she did assure us 'it was on the way'. When it arrived - stuffed pork loin - it defintely didn't resemble the description. Pork loin is round with a stuffing - this was flat and I suspect I was served the wrong dish of veal. The roast potatoes I ordered had an identity crisis on the way to our table and turned into Zucchini, and half of the steamed spinach was cold. Oh dear oh dear... As our matinee performance was going to start at 1:30pm I didn;t send anything back because we know there would be another wait.

    The yoghurt & chocolate cake also had an identity crisis on the way to our table as the waiter tried to serve me strawberries and cream. I said it was wrong and quickly corrected it to the cake I ordered - which was actually delicious.

    We won't be coming back.
    Stephen P Cahill

  • ((((( 20 July 2017 by Pat England from London

    We booked a pre-theatre menu. Had a lovely table, and the service was very quick and efficient. I had a cold tomato and basil soup, followed by pan- fried sea bram - both excellent.

  • (**** 19 July 2017 by Christine Doubleday from London

    Very poor meal. Dry over cooked meat. They did recompense by reduction in the bill but that's not what we would have preferred

  • ((((* 19 July 2017 by Peter Savage from London

    Usual good food and friendly

  • ((((( 18 July 2017 by Christine Riley from London

    ambience excellent,a window table overlooking the lake and fountains. Pre theatre menu good choice and food excellent

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting the Terms and Conditions associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant