map placeholder

Osteria

Level 2, Barbican Centre, Silk St, London, EC2Y 8DS

((()* Italian
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 12:00 - 22:30

Great experience

Nicole Nobyn 15 November 2017
from City of London

View all 359 reviews

A sophisticated spot for cocktails, lunch or dinner near The Barbican, Osteria is a modern Italian restaurant in London brought to you by Searcys. Enjoy fabulous views of the Barbican’s iconic lakeside and fountains from inside the landmark Barbican Centre.

The Osteria menu features bold, ingredient-focused Italian dishes served in a bistronomy style, with a focus on Italian produce and seasonality. In the centre of the restaurant find an old meat slicer, and table dedicated to house-made charcuterie. From the Osteria menu, try starters like carpaccio of sea bream, clementine, fennel and chilli, white onion and bread soup, and buratta with artichokes, carrots and hazelnuts. Elsewhere on the menu, discover homemade pasta dishes such as rigatoni with Sicilian sausage, and ricotta gnudi with endive and apple balsamic dressing.

Signature mains include suckling pig with sage potatoes and slow-cooked beef polenta with roast onions, whilst classic desserts of polenta cake with orange marmalade, and zabaione complete the menu. From the Osteria bar come classic Italian wines and cocktails. Try a traditional negroni or bellini, or sample the wine list which includes an impressive array of bottles from throughout Italy.

Find Osteria London a short walk from both Barbican and Moorgate Tube stations.

Osteria

Level 2, Barbican Centre, Silk St, London, EC2Y 8DS

Contact +44 2075883008
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in London

See all restaurants in City of London

Customer reviews for Osteria

3.7 ((()* (based on 359 reviews)
76% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((()*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (212)
  • views (135)
  • lunch (119)
  • business (55)
  • value (54)
  • romantic (46)
  • private dining (43)
  • luxury (21)
  • entertainment (17)
  • trendy (15)
  • large parties (14)
  • afternoon tea (12)
  • child friendly (7)
  • al fresco (5)
  • breakfast (4)
  • ((((* 16 August 2017 by Karen Ruffles from Cambridge

    The meal was delightful but the portion size a little on the small side (I had the plaice). The service was exemplary.

  • ((((* 16 August 2017 by John Gentleman from Newmarket

    Everything was very good

  • ((((* 16 August 2017 by Penelope from Witney

    We had an excellent and considerate waitress, though since our numbers kept increasing we got anxious that our order was not taken until 6.30 for a play start of 7.15. However, all was served in time for us to eat leisurely. The food was delicious, as we wd expect of the Chef. The ambiance was nice

  • (((** 14 August 2017 by simon from LONDON

    Great service-not great main courses-a small chicken breast and rocket( you can call it a Palliard all you like!) on the pre theatre menu-£17.Poor value at best.
    Only partially redeemed by excellent front of house

  • ((*** 14 August 2017 by Gill Smith from Maidenhead

    Not efficient enough - potatoes never arrived. Desserts didn't arrive in time for the performance (despite being told we had plenty of time).

  • ((((( 14 August 2017 by Mike Kirk from Leeds

    Bit of a strange dining experience we were the only diners in the restaurant - think it relies on trade from people coming to the Barbican for shows, but food was excellent, do order sides as the menu is for the dish only (I'd recommend the zucchini fries). Staff were lovely

  • ((((( 12 August 2017 by Patricia Quigley from Ramsgate

    We arrived early so nice to find we could have a relaxing drink while waiting. We were given a table by the window with a lovely view over the lakeside. All staff were charming and attentive. We were never rushed but staff were immediately attentive when needed, and we were out in good time for the theatre performance. The plaice and sea bream were superbly cooked and even the bread was superb. This was a bit of a treat to dine in such a nice place and well worth the money.

  • ((((* 12 August 2017 by Robin Skinner from London

    Very nice staff ... lovely food cooked to our requirements which was brilliant. Nice views and relaxed atmosphere.

  • ((*** 11 August 2017 by Sally from Oxford

    Food was Ok but nothing special and was over-priced

  • ((((( 11 August 2017 by Susan Lawson from Crediton

    Lovely venue, warm welcome, delicious food, excellent service. What more could you ask?

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting the Terms and Conditions associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant