map placeholder

Osteria

Level 2, Barbican Centre, Silk St, London, EC2Y 8DS

((()* Italian
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 12:00 - 22:30

Good food and service and lovely surroundings

Angus 15 February 2018
from Wokingham

View all 415 reviews

A sophisticated spot for cocktails, lunch or dinner near The Barbican, Osteria is a modern Italian restaurant in London brought to you by Searcys. Enjoy fabulous views of the Barbican’s iconic lakeside and fountains from inside the landmark Barbican Centre.

The Osteria menu features bold, ingredient-focused Italian dishes served in a bistronomy style, with a focus on Italian produce and seasonality. In the centre of the restaurant find an old meat slicer, and table dedicated to house-made charcuterie. From the Osteria menu, try starters like carpaccio of sea bream, clementine, fennel and chilli, white onion and bread soup, and buratta with artichokes, carrots and hazelnuts. Elsewhere on the menu, discover homemade pasta dishes such as rigatoni with Sicilian sausage, and ricotta gnudi with endive and apple balsamic dressing.

Signature mains include suckling pig with sage potatoes and slow-cooked beef polenta with roast onions, whilst classic desserts of polenta cake with orange marmalade, and zabaione complete the menu. From the Osteria bar come classic Italian wines and cocktails. Try a traditional negroni or bellini, or sample the wine list which includes an impressive array of bottles from throughout Italy.

Find Osteria London a short walk from both Barbican and Moorgate Tube stations.

Osteria

Level 2, Barbican Centre, Silk St, London, EC2Y 8DS

Contact +44 2075883008
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in London

See all restaurants in City of London

Customer reviews for Osteria

3.7 ((()* (based on 415 reviews)
76% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((()*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (245)
  • views (153)
  • lunch (134)
  • value (61)
  • business (59)
  • romantic (51)
  • private dining (47)
  • luxury (23)
  • entertainment (18)
  • trendy (17)
  • large parties (15)
  • afternoon tea (13)
  • child friendly (7)
  • al fresco (5)
  • breakfast (4)
  • ((((( 24 December 2017 by Ashley Malster from London

    Great for pre theatre dinner at the Barbican. Nice atmosphere and window tables have view of the courtyard.

  • ((((( 24 December 2017 by Gail Bedson from London Barbican

    Excellent - service & food. A pleasant surprise, as our expectations were not high!

  • ((((( 21 December 2017 by Tony Watts from Cambridge

    Excellent, imaginative, reasonably-priced food and attentive service

  • ((((* 21 December 2017 by Dennis from Bedford

    Delicious food attractively served by efficient and friendly staff.

  • ((((* 21 December 2017 by Jen Hyatt from London

    Lovely setting. Warm service. Good food. Great place for a business dinner.

  • ((((* 21 December 2017 by Stjohn Brown from London

    Pre theatre menu has good choice and is good value. Very enjoyable. Good wine recommendation from one of the staff.

  • ((((( 21 December 2017 by Donald Main from Penzance

    This was our first visit; the location is very familiar, but the new operator is a new brand for us. The meal was very good and the service responded admirably to our tight schedule

  • ((((* 21 December 2017 by Alex Williamson from Bookham,Surrey

    Innovative menu which is slightly different whenever I come. The beef cheeks last Saturday were melting and tasty. However, the hot smoked salmon starter was a tad bland. Pretheatre/ concert dinner reasonable value

  • ((((* 21 December 2017 by Lois Potter from London

    We (3 of us) enjoyed the meal (pre-theatre, 2 courses), which was attractively presented. My only complaint is that they wouldn't give us a table by the window even though that whole group of tables was empty for the entire time that we were there. Presumably it's too complicated to re-set a table, but they would have had to re-set ours anyway so I don't see what the problem was.

  • (((** 20 December 2017 by Julie Mitchell from London

    GOverall the food was very good but the experience was marred by slow and erratic service. The table was booked for 17.15 for a pre-theatre dinner but we were kept waiting around 15 minutes before someone took our order. The show was due to start at 19.15 so, at that point, we thought there was still plenty of time. However, because of the service, we ended up running to the theatre and only just made it to our seats before they shut the doors. The whole point of eating on the premises, as it were, was to avoid this. The restaurant wasn't full and there seemed to be a good number of waiting staff but they lacked organisation. To be fair, our waiter did apologise for the delays and gave us a reduction on the bill. Again, the food was very good and beautifully served. For that reason, I would give it another shot.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting the Terms and Conditions associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant