map placeholder

Osteria

Level 2, Barbican Centre, Silk St, London, EC2Y 8DS

((((* Italian
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 12:00 - 22:30

Amazing food in a increasingly rare restaurant where you can follow s conversation

Paola Perotti 25 August 2017
from London

View all 325 reviews

Showcasing Italian cuisine from multi-award-winning chef Anthony Demetre, Osteria presents a regularly changing menu of seasonal, regional produce. Look out over Barbican’s iconic lakeside and fountains whilst sipping on classic Italian cocktails and new generation wines.

In the centre of the restaurant find an old meat slicer, and table dedicated to house-made charcuterie. From the Osteria menu, try starters like carpaccio of sea bream, clementine, fennel and chilli, white onion and bread Soup, and buratta with artichokes, carrots and hazelnuts. Elsewhere on the menu, discover homemade pasta dishes such as rigatoni with Sicilian sausage, and ricotta gnudi with endive and apple balsamic dressing. Signature mains include suckling pig with sage potatoes and slow-cooked beef polenta with roast onions, whilst classic desserts of polenta cake with orange marmalade, and zabaione complete the menu.

From the Osteria bar come classic Italian wines and cocktails. Try a traditional negroni or bellini, or sample the wine list which includes an impressive array of bottles from throughout Italy.

Find Osteria London a short walk from both Barbican and Moorgate Tube stations.

Osteria

Level 2, Barbican Centre, Silk St, London, EC2Y 8DS

Contact +44 2075883008
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in London

See all restaurants in City of London

Customer reviews for Osteria

3.8 ((((* (based on 325 reviews)
79% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((()*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (198)
  • views (122)
  • lunch (111)
  • value (50)
  • business (49)
  • romantic (43)
  • private dining (38)
  • luxury (20)
  • entertainment (17)
  • trendy (15)
  • large parties (13)
  • afternoon tea (11)
  • child friendly (6)
  • al fresco (5)
  • breakfast (4)
  • ((((( 1 August 2017 by Oliver Letwin from london

    Great for pre theatre supper

  • ((*** 1 August 2017 by Jl Gould from london

    The only main courses available on the pre theatre menu were fried or pasta, the pork was so tough we could not cut it, the veg were overcooed to almost mush, the salad was so salty even the chef appologized....no wonder we were almost the only diners there on a full theatre evening

  • (**** 31 July 2017 by Izabella Donohue from London

    Fish was dry (sea bass) and baked potatoes were overdone

  • (((** 31 July 2017 by Peta Jarmey from London

    Food quite good, nothing special... service not great (slow)...we had 70 minutes to have lunch, but couldn't have dessert as there wasn't enough time

  • ((((* 31 July 2017 by W L from London

    We went for the two-course lunch menu at an affordable £15. We each had a main course and dessert. I had the plaice and the yogurt cake which are both delicious. However, the size of the plaice is really small (prob half the size of a "normal" portion), so you definitely need to order sides, which then made the price £20 before tax – so not that cheap afterall. The fried zucchinis side is really good btw! It's a really quiet restaurant despite being a Saturday afternoon.

  • (((** 30 July 2017 by Phillip Waterman from london

    Lovely setting for dinner before the performance. The starter and dessert were lovely, the main was a little plain for a restaurant with this marketing.

  • ((((* 30 July 2017 by Valerie Bartlett from Chertsey

    Good but should be better. Good service. Pleasant starters and mains. One good pudding one poor one (cake). Given the price and history of the chefs would have expected more finesse.

  • ((((( 29 July 2017 by Sheila Trow from Salisbury

    The staff and chef went out of their way to ensure I had a beautiful meal that catered to my dairy free needs.
    I will definitely eat there whenever I am at the Barbican Centre.

  • (**** 27 July 2017 by Rowena Love from London

    Unfortunately not very good. We ordered and enjoyed a starter (cold soup) and glass of wine and then waited, and waited, nothing happened. We spoke to a waiter who was very apologetic and said there was a problem somewhere; we suggested we leave as we didn't want to be late for the play, and he agreed - so we left, still hungry!

  • ((((( 27 July 2017 by Lindsay Willis from Cambridge

    A lovely meal, well served and in a good location.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting the Terms and Conditions associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant