map placeholder

Osteria

Level 2, Barbican Centre, Silk St, London, EC2Y 8DS

((()* Italian
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 12:00 - 22:30

Great experience

Nicole Nobyn 15 November 2017
from City of London

View all 359 reviews

A sophisticated spot for cocktails, lunch or dinner near The Barbican, Osteria is a modern Italian restaurant in London brought to you by Searcys. Enjoy fabulous views of the Barbican’s iconic lakeside and fountains from inside the landmark Barbican Centre.

The Osteria menu features bold, ingredient-focused Italian dishes served in a bistronomy style, with a focus on Italian produce and seasonality. In the centre of the restaurant find an old meat slicer, and table dedicated to house-made charcuterie. From the Osteria menu, try starters like carpaccio of sea bream, clementine, fennel and chilli, white onion and bread soup, and buratta with artichokes, carrots and hazelnuts. Elsewhere on the menu, discover homemade pasta dishes such as rigatoni with Sicilian sausage, and ricotta gnudi with endive and apple balsamic dressing.

Signature mains include suckling pig with sage potatoes and slow-cooked beef polenta with roast onions, whilst classic desserts of polenta cake with orange marmalade, and zabaione complete the menu. From the Osteria bar come classic Italian wines and cocktails. Try a traditional negroni or bellini, or sample the wine list which includes an impressive array of bottles from throughout Italy.

Find Osteria London a short walk from both Barbican and Moorgate Tube stations.

Osteria

Level 2, Barbican Centre, Silk St, London, EC2Y 8DS

Contact +44 2075883008
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in London

See all restaurants in City of London

Customer reviews for Osteria

3.7 ((()* (based on 359 reviews)
76% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((()*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (212)
  • views (135)
  • lunch (119)
  • business (55)
  • value (54)
  • romantic (46)
  • private dining (43)
  • luxury (21)
  • entertainment (17)
  • trendy (15)
  • large parties (14)
  • afternoon tea (12)
  • child friendly (7)
  • al fresco (5)
  • breakfast (4)
  • ((((* 1 November 2017 by Anne Allured from Barbican,London

    A fantastic pre performance meal. Light enough to sit for two hours afterwards, yet wonderfully different and beautifully presented. Our waiter was second to none, recommending dishes and wines when we floundered. He came up trumps with everything helping us to create and enjoy a very different selection of tastes to suit us both. We were on time for our evening performance, both relaxed and deliciously content. What a truly delicious meal wonderfully presented and served with sensitivity and thought by a superb waiter. A shame that we didn’t learn his name.
    Thank you Barbican.

  • (((** 30 October 2017 by Vedita Ramdoss from London

    Great location, nice service but we had booked pre theatre so would have been great if someone reminded us as we nearly missed the performance! No service for taking away food, which in this day and age is something that isn't a good thing.

  • ((((( 25 October 2017 by Chris Pyle from Abingdon

    Enjoyed the Pre-theatre menu meal very much, perfectly cooked and well presented. Excellent friendly staff, not intrusive and yet attentive. A very good start to the evening.

  • ((((* 21 October 2017 by David Johnson from 3 St.Helen’s Place

    Very good venue for a business lunch.

  • ((*** 17 October 2017 by Charles King-Farlow from Barbican

    Disappointed -
    1 Our asparagus starter, described as served with a poached egg and bacon came with a chopped egg and raw, but cured, bacon
    2 The second course for two of our party arrived 14 minutes after the second course was served for the other two (of our party of four)
    3 There was a delay and muddle getting our bill and we only just had time to get to the 19.30 concert in the Barbican (we had arrived as booked in advance at 1800).

  • (**** 16 October 2017 by Claire from Hertfordshire

    We booked for 5pm and were greeted warmly and our order taken. Our drinks came promptly but we didn't get our starter until 17.40 as the kitchen had thought our order was a "test run". The starter was lovely when it cam but the main course was overcooked and uninspiring. We elected to go elsewhere for coffee.

  • ((((* 15 October 2017 by Robin Scott from London

    Fine food friendly staff.

  • (**** 13 October 2017 by Ayaka Fujisaki from Barbican Arts Centre, London

    Below par. We had to go up to the waiter to ask for the prosecco we ordered and they weren't served until we had finished our meal. The fish dish I ordered lacked flavour. It needed sauce! The courgette fries were chewy, not crispy.

  • (((** 11 October 2017 by AWJ from Kent

    On every other visit, the food at Osteria has been outstanding and I have wanted to rush back, but yesterday was not up to standard. Our starters were both very good and I loved the buffalo mozzarella and pears, but I was disappointed that there was no lamb, despite it being on the menu. My rare beef was merely adequate, but the poached egg was undercooked and the roast potatoes not that good, and my friend said that her risotto was barely lukewarm. Service was charming as always.

  • ((((( 11 October 2017 by Richard from London

    Good food, prompt service, lovely views.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting the Terms and Conditions associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant