map placeholder

Osteria

Level 2, Barbican Centre, Silk St, London, EC2Y 8DS

((((* Italian
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 12:00 - 22:30

Amazing food in a increasingly rare restaurant where you can follow s conversation

Paola Perotti 25 August 2017
from London

View all 325 reviews

Showcasing Italian cuisine from multi-award-winning chef Anthony Demetre, Osteria presents a regularly changing menu of seasonal, regional produce. Look out over Barbican’s iconic lakeside and fountains whilst sipping on classic Italian cocktails and new generation wines.

In the centre of the restaurant find an old meat slicer, and table dedicated to house-made charcuterie. From the Osteria menu, try starters like carpaccio of sea bream, clementine, fennel and chilli, white onion and bread Soup, and buratta with artichokes, carrots and hazelnuts. Elsewhere on the menu, discover homemade pasta dishes such as rigatoni with Sicilian sausage, and ricotta gnudi with endive and apple balsamic dressing. Signature mains include suckling pig with sage potatoes and slow-cooked beef polenta with roast onions, whilst classic desserts of polenta cake with orange marmalade, and zabaione complete the menu.

From the Osteria bar come classic Italian wines and cocktails. Try a traditional negroni or bellini, or sample the wine list which includes an impressive array of bottles from throughout Italy.

Find Osteria London a short walk from both Barbican and Moorgate Tube stations.

Osteria

Level 2, Barbican Centre, Silk St, London, EC2Y 8DS

Contact +44 2075883008
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in London

See all restaurants in City of London

Customer reviews for Osteria

3.8 ((((* (based on 325 reviews)
79% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((()*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (198)
  • views (122)
  • lunch (111)
  • value (50)
  • business (49)
  • romantic (43)
  • private dining (38)
  • luxury (20)
  • entertainment (17)
  • trendy (15)
  • large parties (13)
  • afternoon tea (11)
  • child friendly (6)
  • al fresco (5)
  • breakfast (4)
  • ((*** 7 August 2017 by Elizabeth Whitmore from London

    The service was seriously disappointing. We had booked a table for 6pm; we had planned to eat one dish only and expected to get the the theatre, which was on the same premises, in good time for a production which began at 7.15pm. We had to wait nearly 3/4 hour for our food, one item of which was excellent (the zucchini), one good (Pan-freind sea bream), one poor (bread which had obviously been cut a long time before and was all reid up) and one extremely poor, in fact inedible (spinach).

  • ((*** 7 August 2017 by Tom Clements from London

    The setting and service were exceptional, The food however was ok, a slightly overlooked gnocchi that stuck to the roof of your mouth, a loin of pork with Parma ham came out as grilled pork chop no sign of Parma ham, and sin of sins a chocolate torte which was very dry and also very disappointing. The three stars below are for the service with a smile and for a window seat with a view. The food not so many stars.

  • ((((* 7 August 2017 by Kate Langford from London

    Pre theatre lunch

  • ((((* 6 August 2017 by Marilyn Fairbairn from London

    Excellent service

  • ((((* 6 August 2017 by Nigel Butler from Teddington

    Very good, but ... tried to put us in the corner at the far end, when plenty of tables in the much nicer "body" of the restaurant were available. Never understand why restaurants fill-up their "worst" tables first. A disincentive to turning-up on time. Customers should always be given a choice where to sit, not simply parked. My gt gt gt grandparents were married in St Giles-without-Cripplegate; I like the opportunity to look at the church, not be parked in some quiet corner. Starter (bresealo) was excellent; main dish (pork) was so-so. 17.5 ml wine portion seems mean ... 20 would be fairer, save the customer wanting a second glass and thereby (for drivers) make the roads safer.

  • ((((* 5 August 2017 by Rhiannon Atkins from Royston

    Excellent venue for Barbican pre-theatre meal. Food was great but the main courses should have come with at least one vegetable, having to order side dishes does diminish the value for money of the pre-theatre menu. The wine list was very good but quite expensive.

  • (((** 4 August 2017 by Eric Fisher from New York

    Not so good. Food was fair, service was fair. Generally not worth the price.

  • ((((( 4 August 2017 by Caroline Dixon-ward from Cotswolds

    We were visiting for the first time and pre-theatre. Our experience was perfect for what we needed. We could hear each other. The service was fast. Great attention to detail and slight requests for changes to the stated dishes. Food excellent and well presented. My sea bream with spinage fish was absolutely delicious and I wonder if it would be possible to send me the recipe please, as we are rarely in London and I hanker to taste it again? Please could you let me know?
    All in all the best pre-theatre menu and experience.
    Thank you so much.

  • ((((( 4 August 2017 by Archie from Oxon

    Good table - good service - good food and excellent value for money at a delightful lunch. Desserts were lovely. Thanks.

  • ((((* 2 August 2017 by Howard Cole from London

    Nice welcome, service overall was spot on - just attentive enough. Pre theatre menu was served hot and quickly.
    Food was tasty although the vegetarian options could have had more variety.
    Wine selection was excellent.
    Overall, recommended

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting the Terms and Conditions associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant