map placeholder

Osteria

Level 2, Barbican Centre, Silk St, London, EC2Y 8DS

((()* Italian
  • Osteria - London
  • Osteria - London
  • Osteria - London
  • Osteria - London
  • Osteria - London
  • Osteria - London
  • Osteria - London
  • Osteria - London
  • Osteria - London
  • Osteria - London
  • Osteria - London
  • Osteria - London
  • Osteria - London
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 12:00 - 14:00 & 16:30 - 22:00.

This is one of my most favourite restaurants in the City, and it has never disappointed me...

Sergey 17 May 2019
from London

View all 460 reviews

A sophisticated spot for cocktails, lunch or dinner near The Barbican, Osteria is a modern Italian restaurant in London brought to you by Searcys. Enjoy fabulous views of the Barbican’s iconic lakeside and fountains from inside the landmark Barbican Centre.

The Osteria menu features bold, ingredient-focused Italian dishes served in a bistronomy style, with a focus on Italian produce and seasonality. In the centre of the restaurant find an old meat slicer, and table dedicated to house-made charcuterie. From the Osteria menu, try starters like carpaccio of sea bream, clementine, fennel and chilli, white onion and bread soup, and buratta with artichokes, carrots and hazelnuts. Elsewhere on the menu, discover homemade pasta dishes such as rigatoni with Sicilian sausage, and ricotta gnudi with endive and apple balsamic dressing.

Signature mains include suckling pig with sage potatoes and slow-cooked beef polenta with roast onions, whilst classic desserts of polenta cake with orange marmalade, and zabaione complete the menu. From the Osteria bar come classic Italian wines and cocktails. Try a traditional negroni or bellini, or sample the wine list which includes an impressive array of bottles from throughout Italy.

Find Osteria London a short walk from both Barbican and Moorgate Tube stations.

Osteria

Level 2, Barbican Centre, Silk St, London, EC2Y 8DS

Contact +44 2075883008
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in London

See all restaurants in City of London

Customer reviews for Osteria

3.7 ((()* (based on 460 reviews)
76% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((()*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (273)
  • views (168)
  • lunch (152)
  • value (71)
  • business (65)
  • romantic (57)
  • private dining (54)
  • luxury (28)
  • entertainment (19)
  • trendy (19)
  • large parties (16)
  • afternoon tea (14)
  • child friendly (7)
  • al fresco (6)
  • breakfast (4)
  • ((((( 20 May 2018 by Andrew from Shipdham

    Food and service were excellent

  • ((((* 6 May 2018 by Cynthia from london

    Our pre concert diner was delicious . Menu suited all ages from 7 to 70 ! Main course took a bit long to come ... leaving the dessert rushed . I know it's a busy time but that happens every night I presume so you should be able to cope .
    Friendly helpful service ..... in spite of delay .

  • ((((* 4 May 2018 by JennyM from London

    A very relaxed atmosphere. The restaurant was quiet at lunchtime and we were not hurried. There was a good choice on the set menu and portion sizes were generous. Service was patchy. We seemed to have about three different servers. They did jitcwritecdien the orders then came back to check, out the wrong dishes in front of each person and side dishes cane far too late. Nice food, good location and good value. Also nice and interesting toilets!

  • ((*** 20 April 2018 by J from London

    The restaurant only offered a pre-theatre menu as it was between the hours of 5 and 7, at which time they are apparently too busy to serve the entire menu. There were during the entire time we were there a maximum of 3 tables (much less than 10% of capacity) occupied with diners. I'm not suggesting it doesn't get busier on other days than the Tuesday we were there, but there was definitely no reason to restrict our choice that day. The food served was rather poor and very small portions. The gnocchi starter we had was very plain and boring, with a slightly acidic tomato sauce and gnocchi that seemed shop-bought in texture. The main courses were slightly better in quality although certainly not flawless (they wouldn't call it restaurant quality if you served that on Master Chef), and they really can't be had without an expensive side as there was hardly anything there.The restaurant itself seemed to have an issue with the heating as it was very hot inside and many of the windows were wide open to cool it down a bit. That shouldn't be necessary when it's 10 degrees or less outside.

  • (**** 9 April 2018 by David from Meltham West Yorkshire

    Very disappointed. The bar was a pleasant area to have a pre-meal drink but when we went to our table booked for 16:45 on April 5th our party of three were refused the a la carte menu and had to choose from the pre-theatre limited selection. We sat down at the table at precisely 17:00. Two of our group chose the chicken dish which was tough and overdone, especially the vegetables that looked and tasted as though they had been pan roasted for the afternoon. Fortunately, I ordered a side order of zuccini friti which was beautifully prepared - the only dish I enjoyed. With hindsight I should have complained, but I was hosting a special guest and did not wish to cause a scene.

  • ((((( 7 April 2018 by Michael from London

    A quick pre-theatre was a real treat.

  • ((((* 6 April 2018 by Donna from London

    Lovely view, nicely portioned starters and mains and very friendly service, though can be occasionally inattentive when the pre-theatre crowd builds. Food is fresh and delicious, with a nod to seasonal ingredients.Pre-theatre set menu a good value.

  • ((((* 2 April 2018 by Peter from London

    Good although chicken dish was a little dry

  • ((((( 2 April 2018 by Damien from Bicester

    A very pleasant surprise. Views over water in the middle of London. Service was great

  • (((** 2 April 2018 by Sally from Ripon

    Relaxed and enjoyable set lunch, good wine. Pleasant and efficient staff, elegant setting.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant