map placeholder

Osteria

Level 2, Barbican Centre, Silk St, London, EC2Y 8DS

((()* Italian
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 12:00 - 22:30

Good food and service and lovely surroundings

Angus 15 February 2018
from Wokingham

View all 415 reviews

A sophisticated spot for cocktails, lunch or dinner near The Barbican, Osteria is a modern Italian restaurant in London brought to you by Searcys. Enjoy fabulous views of the Barbican’s iconic lakeside and fountains from inside the landmark Barbican Centre.

The Osteria menu features bold, ingredient-focused Italian dishes served in a bistronomy style, with a focus on Italian produce and seasonality. In the centre of the restaurant find an old meat slicer, and table dedicated to house-made charcuterie. From the Osteria menu, try starters like carpaccio of sea bream, clementine, fennel and chilli, white onion and bread soup, and buratta with artichokes, carrots and hazelnuts. Elsewhere on the menu, discover homemade pasta dishes such as rigatoni with Sicilian sausage, and ricotta gnudi with endive and apple balsamic dressing.

Signature mains include suckling pig with sage potatoes and slow-cooked beef polenta with roast onions, whilst classic desserts of polenta cake with orange marmalade, and zabaione complete the menu. From the Osteria bar come classic Italian wines and cocktails. Try a traditional negroni or bellini, or sample the wine list which includes an impressive array of bottles from throughout Italy.

Find Osteria London a short walk from both Barbican and Moorgate Tube stations.

Osteria

Level 2, Barbican Centre, Silk St, London, EC2Y 8DS

Contact +44 2075883008
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in London

See all restaurants in City of London

Customer reviews for Osteria

3.7 ((()* (based on 415 reviews)
76% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((()*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (245)
  • views (153)
  • lunch (134)
  • value (61)
  • business (59)
  • romantic (51)
  • private dining (47)
  • luxury (23)
  • entertainment (18)
  • trendy (17)
  • large parties (15)
  • afternoon tea (13)
  • child friendly (7)
  • al fresco (5)
  • breakfast (4)
  • ((((* 13 January 2018 by Andrew Hunter from Hitchin

    Enjoyed meal. Pear starter dish very nice. Beef cheek main course rather plain and uninteresting. Nice wine. Atmosphere in restaurant good and whole meal not overpriced. Attentive staff and service.

  • ((((( 12 January 2018 by CW from London

    Good food and excellent service. Nice ambience. We had a window table overlooking the lake and St Giles, very atmospheric.

  • (**** 7 January 2018 by Mags Mccormick from Winchester

    No didn’t enjoy it
    Food main course arrived very badly presented but my husbands was acceptable
    Manager just said someone must have carried it wrong

  • ((*** 5 January 2018 by Peter Hill from London

    Overall I was quite disappointed, the pre theatre menu didn't have much variety, the braised beef dish wasn't good, the waiter didn't know the cheeses in the cheese selection. Overall quite underwhelmed

  • ((((* 4 January 2018 by Mike Humphrey from Spalding

    We had a very enjoyable visit to your restaurant. The meeting on arrival was welcoming and service from then on was what you would expect. The food was delicious and again what we would expect. Prices again what you would expect to pay at a Barbican restaurnt. Overall very impressed with one criticism. I do not agree with a surcharge at the rate charged. I found it to be extortinate. I always leave a tip for the staff and I would have been more than happy to do so at a % of my choice.

  • ((*** 3 January 2018 by Emma Taylor from London

    Service pretty poor, left waiting gor a long time for service, 3 of the dishes feom pre-theatre menu were not on offer.
    Several tables around us complained.
    Bar staff jumped on us the moment we walked in and didnt give a chance to read the pre drinks menu thrn talked over us and made us feel very uncomfortable.

  • ((((( 3 January 2018 by Jacqueline Mould from Bishops Stortford

    Stunning view of the lake, very friendly and efficient staff. Gorgeous food, especially tagliatelle.

  • ((((( 3 January 2018 by David Knutton from Kent

    Apart from a mix up with our order, which was quickly rectified we had a wonderful meal. We intend visiting again.

  • ((((* 3 January 2018 by Debbie Woodmass from Wolverhampton

    We booked to eat prior to the concert Williams v. Zimmer which we attended on Saturday 30th December - my husband's Christmas present from me. We arrived a little early but were soon seated and after a short wait our order was taken and the courses arrived very quickly which we were pleased about as we had booked a pre-theatre menu. The food was beautifully presented but lukewarm sadly we didn't mention it as we feared a delay.The staff were very attentive and friendly and the restaurant felt very Christmassy with lovely décor and lights. I would book again but perhaps mention the temperature of the food next time as I'm sure it would have been dealt with swiftly. I wondered if the food was being prepared on the ground floor where we saw another restaurant in the same building, hence the cooling down?
    It didn't spoil our evening and our thanks to them for ensuring we were in plenty of time for our concert.

  • ((((( 3 January 2018 by Terence Keats from London

    Ideal pre Theatre venue

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting the Terms and Conditions associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant