map placeholder

Osteria

Level 2, Barbican Centre, Silk St, London, EC2Y 8DS

((()* Italian
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 12:00 - 22:30

Enjoyed meal. Pear starter dish very nice. Beef cheek main course rather plain and uninteresting. Nice wine. Atmosphere in restaurant good and whole meal not overpriced. Attentive staff and service.

Andrew Hunter 13 January 2018
from Hitchin

View all 398 reviews

A sophisticated spot for cocktails, lunch or dinner near The Barbican, Osteria is a modern Italian restaurant in London brought to you by Searcys. Enjoy fabulous views of the Barbican’s iconic lakeside and fountains from inside the landmark Barbican Centre.

The Osteria menu features bold, ingredient-focused Italian dishes served in a bistronomy style, with a focus on Italian produce and seasonality. In the centre of the restaurant find an old meat slicer, and table dedicated to house-made charcuterie. From the Osteria menu, try starters like carpaccio of sea bream, clementine, fennel and chilli, white onion and bread soup, and buratta with artichokes, carrots and hazelnuts. Elsewhere on the menu, discover homemade pasta dishes such as rigatoni with Sicilian sausage, and ricotta gnudi with endive and apple balsamic dressing.

Signature mains include suckling pig with sage potatoes and slow-cooked beef polenta with roast onions, whilst classic desserts of polenta cake with orange marmalade, and zabaione complete the menu. From the Osteria bar come classic Italian wines and cocktails. Try a traditional negroni or bellini, or sample the wine list which includes an impressive array of bottles from throughout Italy.

Find Osteria London a short walk from both Barbican and Moorgate Tube stations.

Osteria

Level 2, Barbican Centre, Silk St, London, EC2Y 8DS

Contact +44 2075883008
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in London

See all restaurants in City of London

Customer reviews for Osteria

3.7 ((()* (based on 398 reviews)
76% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((()*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (233)
  • views (145)
  • lunch (126)
  • value (59)
  • business (57)
  • romantic (50)
  • private dining (46)
  • luxury (23)
  • entertainment (18)
  • trendy (17)
  • large parties (14)
  • afternoon tea (12)
  • child friendly (7)
  • al fresco (5)
  • breakfast (4)
  • ((((( 3 January 2018 by David Knutton from Kent

    Apart from a mix up with our order, which was quickly rectified we had a wonderful meal. We intend visiting again.

  • ((((* 3 January 2018 by Debbie Woodmass from Wolverhampton

    We booked to eat prior to the concert Williams v. Zimmer which we attended on Saturday 30th December - my husband's Christmas present from me. We arrived a little early but were soon seated and after a short wait our order was taken and the courses arrived very quickly which we were pleased about as we had booked a pre-theatre menu. The food was beautifully presented but lukewarm sadly we didn't mention it as we feared a delay.The staff were very attentive and friendly and the restaurant felt very Christmassy with lovely décor and lights. I would book again but perhaps mention the temperature of the food next time as I'm sure it would have been dealt with swiftly. I wondered if the food was being prepared on the ground floor where we saw another restaurant in the same building, hence the cooling down?
    It didn't spoil our evening and our thanks to them for ensuring we were in plenty of time for our concert.

  • ((((( 3 January 2018 by Terence Keats from London

    Ideal pre Theatre venue

  • (((** 3 January 2018 by Susan Harris from surrey

    very polite and attentive staff . nice atmosphere . crisp white tablecloths. Booking service excellent .
    when i asked for lemonade and orange juice this could not be done apparently. The aperitif I had was Macheral which was nice but quite a bitter side salad which i didnt enjoy
    Main of cauliflower pasta which was nice , fruit trifle was not nice too much almond taste .

  • ((*** 2 January 2018 by Lesley Blouet from Hertford

    All started well and our party of three ordered our first and main courses. We enjoyed the first course and two of our party had the fish and I ordered the rabbit from the specials board. My dinner arrived and I could see straight away that the rabbit was not cooked, infact still frozen in the middle of both pieces of rabbit. I called the waitress over and told her the rabbit was not cooked and after saying it two or three times she took the food away. I then waited some twenty five minutes with nothing happening until the Maitre de came back into the restaurant and we attracted his attention and he quickly got the situation sorted. I then asked for the fish and this was produced very quickly. Unfortunately we had ordered a side order for the three of us and this never arrived.
    The Maitre de was most apologetic and adjusted our bill and couldn't have been more helpful or sorry for the way things had turned out. Having said that it did spoil was supposed to be a nice relaxing meal prior to our theatre visit and it was anything but relaxing and enjoyable.
    I don't feel as can complete the rest of this survey as I could not give a good marking based on our visit and I am sure the restaurant is not as we found it on Thursday 28th December 2017.

  • (**** 2 January 2018 by John Delouvois from london

    I am a`afraid our lunch last Friday was not a totally happy experience.
    The service was mediocre and the food was very disappointing to the point of being misleading.
    I ordered the Seafood Risotto which when it came I had to question if I had got the right order. Seafood Risotto according to Osyteria consists of mound of rice emptied from a serving bowl over which was poured the sauce and to which was then added pieces of seafood.
    My daughter's cauliflower linguine was totally characterless, it looked as though it had been served by casual staff.
    The service was so slow that we were in danger of being late for our concert so there was no chance to take my dissatisfaction further at the time

  • ((((( 1 January 2018 by StephenH from London

    Very good.
    Bright cheerful restaurant. Good views over the Barbican. Immaculately clean toilets.
    We had the set menu which was very reasonably priced considering the good quality.
    Courteous service.
    We enjoyed our visit and will return.
    Unfortunately they made an error in the bill which took some time sorting out. It appears to be really important to check the itemised bill.

  • ((((* 1 January 2018 by Marthinus Pienaar from Pretoria, South Africa

    Excellent value. Perfect for pre-theatre dining as the restaurant is right inside the Barbican Centre. The service was efficient and fast without feeling rushed. The menu favored pasta lovers, which is to be expected with an Italian restaurant. The food was good and well prepared. All-in-all quite a pleasant experience.

  • (((** 30 December 2017 by Derek Hardy from Bedford

    Service extremely slow and upsetting to discover those tables arriving after us were getting their starters and mains before we had even seen our choices. Apparently a glitz with the electronic ordering system. Selected Sardine starter. No longer available. Beef Cheek? No, that's off as well. Overall a very disappointing experience

  • ((*** 29 December 2017 by Duane Wald from London

    Wait staff to busy to service our table properly

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting the Terms and Conditions associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant