map placeholder

Osteria

Level 2, Barbican Centre, Silk St, London, EC2Y 8DS

((((* Italian
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 12:00 - 22:30

Amazing food in a increasingly rare restaurant where you can follow s conversation

Paola Perotti 25 August 2017
from London

View all 325 reviews

Showcasing Italian cuisine from multi-award-winning chef Anthony Demetre, Osteria presents a regularly changing menu of seasonal, regional produce. Look out over Barbican’s iconic lakeside and fountains whilst sipping on classic Italian cocktails and new generation wines.

In the centre of the restaurant find an old meat slicer, and table dedicated to house-made charcuterie. From the Osteria menu, try starters like carpaccio of sea bream, clementine, fennel and chilli, white onion and bread Soup, and buratta with artichokes, carrots and hazelnuts. Elsewhere on the menu, discover homemade pasta dishes such as rigatoni with Sicilian sausage, and ricotta gnudi with endive and apple balsamic dressing. Signature mains include suckling pig with sage potatoes and slow-cooked beef polenta with roast onions, whilst classic desserts of polenta cake with orange marmalade, and zabaione complete the menu.

From the Osteria bar come classic Italian wines and cocktails. Try a traditional negroni or bellini, or sample the wine list which includes an impressive array of bottles from throughout Italy.

Find Osteria London a short walk from both Barbican and Moorgate Tube stations.

Osteria

Level 2, Barbican Centre, Silk St, London, EC2Y 8DS

Contact +44 2075883008
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in London

See all restaurants in City of London

Customer reviews for Osteria

3.8 ((((* (based on 325 reviews)
79% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((()*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (198)
  • views (122)
  • lunch (111)
  • value (50)
  • business (49)
  • romantic (43)
  • private dining (38)
  • luxury (20)
  • entertainment (17)
  • trendy (15)
  • large parties (13)
  • afternoon tea (11)
  • child friendly (6)
  • al fresco (5)
  • breakfast (4)
  • ((*** 14 August 2017 by Gill Smith from Maidenhead

    Not efficient enough - potatoes never arrived. Desserts didn't arrive in time for the performance (despite being told we had plenty of time).

  • ((((( 14 August 2017 by Mike Kirk from Leeds

    Bit of a strange dining experience we were the only diners in the restaurant - think it relies on trade from people coming to the Barbican for shows, but food was excellent, do order sides as the menu is for the dish only (I'd recommend the zucchini fries). Staff were lovely

  • ((((( 12 August 2017 by Patricia Quigley from Ramsgate

    We arrived early so nice to find we could have a relaxing drink while waiting. We were given a table by the window with a lovely view over the lakeside. All staff were charming and attentive. We were never rushed but staff were immediately attentive when needed, and we were out in good time for the theatre performance. The plaice and sea bream were superbly cooked and even the bread was superb. This was a bit of a treat to dine in such a nice place and well worth the money.

  • ((((* 12 August 2017 by Robin Skinner from London

    Very nice staff ... lovely food cooked to our requirements which was brilliant. Nice views and relaxed atmosphere.

  • ((*** 11 August 2017 by Sally from Oxford

    Food was Ok but nothing special and was over-priced

  • ((((( 11 August 2017 by Susan Lawson from Crediton

    Lovely venue, warm welcome, delicious food, excellent service. What more could you ask?

  • ((((* 11 August 2017 by Veronica Sutherland from London

    A warm welcome. Food good but not exceptional.

  • ((((* 9 August 2017 by Joan Crouch from London

    Thank you very much, we had a very enjoyable experience. Service friendly and efficient and food, for the price, was good.

  • ((*** 8 August 2017 by John Edge from London

    Poor quality food, anonymous taste, ridiculously small amount of plaice on my plate. Disappointing and would not return. Good service, let down by the kitchen.

  • (((** 7 August 2017 by Jane from London

    A little chaotic on arrival as the bar on entry was busy and they have nothing to do with the bookings so having waited to catch someone's eye we were then told to move into the restaurant and wait to be seated. Considering it was a short pre-theatre menu it was ridiculous that we had to wait over 15 minutes from ordering dessert - we cancelled in the end as we were told it was going to be another 5-10 minutes - for a sorbet and cold tart, why? Expensive for what you get - small portions but hot, if without much flavour. As the only proper restaurant (as opposed to self service or burgers) in the complex, rather disappointing and doubt we will return.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting the Terms and Conditions associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant