map placeholder

Osteria

Level 2, Barbican Centre, Silk St, London, EC2Y 8DS

((()* Italian
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 12:00 - 22:30

We had the pre-theatre set menu before our concert at the Barbican. Both of us didn't enjoy much the start and mains. But we did like the desert. The service is very good, friendly staff and beautiful venue. Maybe we should come back and try other dishes.

Rosana Larciprete 02 November 2017
from London

View all 354 reviews

A sophisticated spot for cocktails, lunch or dinner near The Barbican, Osteria is a modern Italian restaurant in London brought to you by Searcys. Enjoy fabulous views of the Barbican’s iconic lakeside and fountains from inside the landmark Barbican Centre.

The Osteria menu features bold, ingredient-focused Italian dishes served in a bistronomy style, with a focus on Italian produce and seasonality. In the centre of the restaurant find an old meat slicer, and table dedicated to house-made charcuterie. From the Osteria menu, try starters like carpaccio of sea bream, clementine, fennel and chilli, white onion and bread soup, and buratta with artichokes, carrots and hazelnuts. Elsewhere on the menu, discover homemade pasta dishes such as rigatoni with Sicilian sausage, and ricotta gnudi with endive and apple balsamic dressing.

Signature mains include suckling pig with sage potatoes and slow-cooked beef polenta with roast onions, whilst classic desserts of polenta cake with orange marmalade, and zabaione complete the menu. From the Osteria bar come classic Italian wines and cocktails. Try a traditional negroni or bellini, or sample the wine list which includes an impressive array of bottles from throughout Italy.

Find Osteria London a short walk from both Barbican and Moorgate Tube stations.

Osteria

Level 2, Barbican Centre, Silk St, London, EC2Y 8DS

Contact +44 2075883008
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in London

See all restaurants in City of London

Customer reviews for Osteria

3.7 ((()* (based on 354 reviews)
77% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((()*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (211)
  • views (132)
  • lunch (119)
  • business (54)
  • value (53)
  • romantic (46)
  • private dining (43)
  • luxury (21)
  • entertainment (17)
  • trendy (15)
  • large parties (14)
  • afternoon tea (12)
  • child friendly (7)
  • al fresco (5)
  • breakfast (4)
  • ((((* 13 November 2017 by Pamela from London

    the food was good however we ate from the pre-theatre menu and the cod dish (a main) was unavailable. We were given hake instead, I had requested that it be filleted but all three of us were served a whole fish, which meant we wasted precious minutes de-boning the fish. my friend wanted the salmon starter but this had also run out so she was given mackerel instead. Our table booking was for 6pm. It was an enjoyable experience but could have been better.

  • ((*** 7 November 2017 by Edward Rees from London

    The restaurant was average. Seabass was good but papardelle dish was described as heavy and stodgy by the two persons who ordered it. One of our party left most of his. A request for espresso to be served to accompany the dessert appeared to be challenging. 'Oh, I don't know. I'll see what we can do'.

  • (**** 6 November 2017 by Natalia from London

    Terible food. We hated all the dishes we ordered. I don’t remember last time I had such bad dinner.

  • (((** 5 November 2017 by GW from London

    There were a couple of kitchen related issues which were rescued promptly by the restaurant manager but in general we had a lovely evening post visiting the Basquiat exhibition.

  • ((((* 2 November 2017 by Rosana Larciprete from London

    We had the pre-theatre set menu before our concert at the Barbican. Both of us didn't enjoy much the start and mains. But we did like the desert. The service is very good, friendly staff and beautiful venue. Maybe we should come back and try other dishes.

  • ((((* 1 November 2017 by Anne Allured from Barbican,London

    A fantastic pre performance meal. Light enough to sit for two hours afterwards, yet wonderfully different and beautifully presented. Our waiter was second to none, recommending dishes and wines when we floundered. He came up trumps with everything helping us to create and enjoy a very different selection of tastes to suit us both. We were on time for our evening performance, both relaxed and deliciously content. What a truly delicious meal wonderfully presented and served with sensitivity and thought by a superb waiter. A shame that we didn’t learn his name.
    Thank you Barbican.

  • (((** 30 October 2017 by Vedita Ramdoss from London

    Great location, nice service but we had booked pre theatre so would have been great if someone reminded us as we nearly missed the performance! No service for taking away food, which in this day and age is something that isn't a good thing.

  • ((((( 25 October 2017 by Chris Pyle from Abingdon

    Enjoyed the Pre-theatre menu meal very much, perfectly cooked and well presented. Excellent friendly staff, not intrusive and yet attentive. A very good start to the evening.

  • ((((* 21 October 2017 by David Johnson from 3 St.Helen’s Place

    Very good venue for a business lunch.

  • ((*** 17 October 2017 by Charles King-Farlow from Barbican

    Disappointed -
    1 Our asparagus starter, described as served with a poached egg and bacon came with a chopped egg and raw, but cured, bacon
    2 The second course for two of our party arrived 14 minutes after the second course was served for the other two (of our party of four)
    3 There was a delay and muddle getting our bill and we only just had time to get to the 19.30 concert in the Barbican (we had arrived as booked in advance at 1800).

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting the Terms and Conditions associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant