Oscar Restaurant & Bar

(157 Reviews)
15 Charlotte Street, London, W1T 1RJ
British, International, Afternoon Tea
A la carte menu

Top offer

Afternoon Tea at Oscar

This offer is available from , subject to availability as displayed in the booking interface. Offer excludes service and includes VAT. Not available in conjunction with other offers. This promotion has additional information available. Click on the link(s) to view.

Average

Main course: £20
Food spend: £35

Opening hours

Monday - Saturday: 07:00 - 23:00
Sunday: 08:00 - 22:30.

Restaurant description

Beautifully covered in colourful murals depicting London life, Oscar Restaurant & Bar at the Charlotte Street Hotel is a vibrant, contemporary spot for all day dining, including popular afternoon teas.

Premium recipes are available throughout the day on the Oscar Restaurant & Bar menu – there is luxurious lobster Benedict in the morning, as well as specialist options like gluten-free muesli with fruit salad and egg white omelette. Hearty British main courses include haunch of venison with braised red cabbage and dark chocolate jus, and international tweaks such as pan seared salmon with soy and yuzu broth.

Afternoon tea at Oscar Restaurant & Bar Fitzrovia includes a selection of traditional cakes, scones with jam and clotted cream, delicate sandwiches and rolls, and premium teas and bubbles. The bar mixes up signature cocktails, and offers an extensive wine list.

Drawing in locals and tourists alike with its colourful setting and luxurious menus, Oscar Bar & Restaurant London is a 5-minute walk from Goodge Street Tube Station.

Dishes displayed on a la carte menus are representative of the type of food available at the restaurant.

Customer reviews for Oscar Restaurant & Bar
4.4
(based on 157 reviews)

92%
of diners recommend this restaurant

  • Food
  • Drinks
  • Ambience
  • Service
  • Value
  • Location

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (121)
  • al fresco (7)
  • breakfast (20)
  • business (26)
  • child friendly (12)
  • dinner (41)
  • entertainment (10)
  • large parties (19)
  • lunch (41)
  • luxury (34)
  • private dining (11)
  • romantic (25)
  • trendy (38)
  • value (27)
  • views (3)
  • By Barbara R D from Vancouver
    11 November 2019

    The decor and service and table settings were fantastic. We had the gluten free option for afternoon tea--delicious!

  • By Simon J from Oslo
    5 November 2019

    A pleasant experience

  • By Olivia J from london
    26 October 2019

    very good experience

  • By Susan F from Fort Myers, FL, USA
    25 October 2019

    Our party of 3 went to Oscar for a "Traditional Afternoon Tea". I chose it because there was a VEGAN option, and it was a 15 minute walk from where we were staying. We were seated upon arrival in a corner table in the back. The service was slow, especially considering we were there for tea and the only menu choice was what sort of tea we wanted (I had specified one vegan with the reservation and the person who seated us was aware of that). No one ever checked back to see if we needed more tea or wanted anything else. I had to flag down a waitress both to order and to get our check. The Mint Tea I ordered was great, fresh mint leaves steeped in a tea pot with extra hot water on the side. The Early Grey my companions ordered was fine, but no milk was offered at the table. The food was as expected; the Raspberry Sorbet, fresh blueberries and strawberry preserves stood out for their flavors.

  • By Karim B from Colchester
    5 October 2019

    Just Great

  • By George F from Boston, USA
    1 October 2019

    Our afternoon tea at Charlotte Street Hotel exceeded our expectations. Other than the food the best restaurant feature was the decor and ambiance. The wall murals are fabulous with the balance of the decorating blending well with the feeling of the murals. Our favorite dishes were the finger sandwiches and sweet dessert cakes. We were seated immediately. Our server was polite and friendly, we wanted for nothing.

  • By HER R from London
    8 September 2019

    I wouldn’t recommend this tea. Food was poor with dried out sandwiches and soggy cakes. Smoked salmon was served on a dried out piece of rye bread like shoe leather. Didn’t feel fresh. Service also quite offhand.

  • By Julie D D from Leatherhead
    29 August 2019

    Mostly great, lovely setting, beautifully presented food. The scones were a little hard. Possibly from being baked then reheated. The hot chocolate was too weak and when we asked for a second pot of Earl Grey the original pot was topped up with hot water making it very weak. On the plus side my daughter loved the salmon croque monseiur and we were brought extra of these on request.

  • By Alexa A from Beckenham
    15 August 2019

    Three of us ladies came for a 50th Birthday celebration for Afternoon tea. I phoned prior to the event and wrote on my book about one lady having a food intolerance and that one was having a big birthday. The waiter didn't know about the food issue and no mention was made about the birthday- disappointing. The waiter did check for food issues when he took the order so that at least dealt with that issue. The restaurant was exceptionally busy, busiest I've ever seen it in all my visist. The food and tea arrived promptly and the normal Afternoon tea sandwiches were tasty as were the scones. The cakes were average and the macaroon melted before it would be eaten. The second pot of tea was weak, as though tea leaves had been skimpt upon. As for the special food for the lady with intolances the sandwiches were bland, dry and looked tasteless.The waiter was friendly and not intrusive which let us have a lovely chat and chance to catch up. However someone was smoking outside on the terrace and the smoke which wafted into the diningroom which was very unplesant. I was disappointed with this experience as all my previous visits were lovely and hence my return. I felt I didn't get value to money and there was a lack in atmosphere. I got the feeling the luxury was missing due to the sheer volume of people in the diningroom.

  • By Sara J from Charlotte street hotel
    13 August 2019

    We had afternoon tea and I thought selection of food was lovely. The highlight was the different sandwiches.

Restaurant Location Map
Oscar Restaurant & Bar
15 Charlotte Street, London, W1T 1RJ

Available offers

  • Afternoon Tea at Oscar
  • Festive afternoon tea £26 per person

Similar Restaurants

  1. Arros QD

    Arros QD

    Valenciana
    (5 Reviews)
    225m
    Arros QD
  2. The Savannah

    The Savannah

    British
    (104 Reviews)
    919m
    The Savannah
  3. Ham Yard Bar & Restaurant

    Ham Yard Bar & Restaurant

    British
    (764 Reviews)
    801m
    Ham Yard Bar & Restaurant
  4. Garfunkel's - Tottenham Court Road

    Garfunkel's - Tottenham Court Road

    International
    (51 Reviews)
    391m
    Garfunkel's - Tottenham Court Road
  5. Number Twelve

    Number Twelve

    Italian
    (38 Reviews)
    958m
    Number Twelve