Oscar Restaurant & Bar

(163 Reviews)
15 Charlotte Street, London, London, W1T 1RJ
British, International, Afternoon Tea
View main menu

Top offer

Afternoon Tea at Oscar

This offer is available from , subject to availability as displayed in the booking interface. Offer excludes service and includes VAT. Not available in conjunction with other offers. This promotion has additional information available. Click on the link(s) to view.

Average

Main course: £20
Food spend: £35

Opening hours

Monday - Saturday: 07:00 - 23:00
Sunday: 08:00 - 22:30.

Restaurant description

Beautifully covered in colourful murals depicting London life, Oscar Restaurant & Bar at the Charlotte Street Hotel is a vibrant, contemporary spot for all day dining, including popular afternoon teas.

Premium recipes are available throughout the day on the Oscar Restaurant & Bar menu – there is luxurious lobster Benedict in the morning, as well as specialist options like gluten-free muesli with fruit salad and egg white omelette. Hearty British main courses include haunch of venison with braised red cabbage and dark chocolate jus, and international tweaks such as pan seared salmon with soy and yuzu broth.

Afternoon tea at Oscar Restaurant & Bar Fitzrovia includes a selection of traditional cakes, scones with jam and clotted cream, delicate sandwiches and rolls, and premium teas and bubbles. The bar mixes up signature cocktails, and offers an extensive wine list.

Drawing in locals and tourists alike with its colourful setting and luxurious menus, Oscar Bar & Restaurant London is a 5-minute walk from Goodge Street Tube Station.

Dishes displayed on a la carte menus are representative of the type of food available at the restaurant.

Customer reviews for Oscar Restaurant & Bar
4.4
(based on 163 reviews)

92%
of diners recommend this restaurant

  • Food
  • Drinks
  • Ambience
  • Service
  • Value
  • Location

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (125)
  • al fresco (7)
  • breakfast (20)
  • business (26)
  • child friendly (12)
  • dinner (41)
  • entertainment (10)
  • large parties (19)
  • lunch (41)
  • luxury (35)
  • private dining (11)
  • romantic (25)
  • trendy (38)
  • value (27)
  • views (3)
  • By Rachel A from London
    22 February 2020

    We had a lovely afternoon at the Charlotte Street Hotel with afternoon tea. I’ve been a number of times previously for afternoon tea which has always been wonderful, although my last visit was a few years ago. However on this occasion we were disappointed with the food. The scones and particularly cakes were quite dry and not up to the standard I’d previously experienced.

  • By Diana N from Oxford
    14 February 2020

    We had a wonderful afternoon tea - the champagne and the speciality tea were something special. Thank you for a lovely afternoon

  • By Kate T from London
    1 February 2020

    I booked afternoon tea for a 60th birthday celebration and indicated this before. I ordered 2 x gluten free - one for the birthday girl. We were thoroughly disappointed with the scones which crumbled as soon as we touched them - they were dry and too floury. We sent them back and the next batch came exactly the same. We have enjoyed beautiful gluten free scones at afternoon tea and make delicious ones at home. They do not have to be like this. This meant my mum only had the sandwiches and cakes on her birthday which was such a shame. I had also asked for a little plate with a candle and birthday message and specified this was for the gluten free guest. It was bought over with a gluten full cake on. She is a coeliac and this would have meant she ended up in hospital. Luckily I spotted it looked the same as the cakes on the other tea before she ate it. It was confirmed it had gluten in. Such a great shame as the atmosphere and decor were lovely and we’ve previously had a lovely dinner at Ham Yard.

  • By Christine G from London
    7 January 2020

    We visited for afternoon tea with my 3 month old daughter. The staff were extremely accommodating and gave us a private room to allow space for the pram and some privacy. The room was beautiful, service was excellent and the afternoon tea was delicious.

  • By Catherine Q from Isle of Man
    1 January 2020

    Lovely afternoon tea in very relaxed ambience. No one rushed us (unlike Ham Yard). Delightful eating experience.

  • By Einar F from Oslo, Norway
    12 December 2019

    Very good turkey when I came for dinner. And afternoon tea was was fine. Scones better than at the Ritz, sandwiches not quite as good as what they serve there.

  • By Barbara R D from Vancouver
    11 November 2019

    The decor and service and table settings were fantastic. We had the gluten free option for afternoon tea--delicious!

  • By Simon J from Oslo
    5 November 2019

    A pleasant experience

  • By Olivia J from london
    26 October 2019

    very good experience

  • By Susan F from Fort Myers, FL, USA
    25 October 2019

    Our party of 3 went to Oscar for a "Traditional Afternoon Tea". I chose it because there was a VEGAN option, and it was a 15 minute walk from where we were staying. We were seated upon arrival in a corner table in the back. The service was slow, especially considering we were there for tea and the only menu choice was what sort of tea we wanted (I had specified one vegan with the reservation and the person who seated us was aware of that). No one ever checked back to see if we needed more tea or wanted anything else. I had to flag down a waitress both to order and to get our check. The Mint Tea I ordered was great, fresh mint leaves steeped in a tea pot with extra hot water on the side. The Early Grey my companions ordered was fine, but no milk was offered at the table. The food was as expected; the Raspberry Sorbet, fresh blueberries and strawberry preserves stood out for their flavors.

Restaurant Location Map
Oscar Restaurant & Bar
15 Charlotte Street, London, London, W1T 1RJ

Available offers

Similar Restaurants

  1. Arros QD

    Arros QD

    Valenciana
    (17 Reviews)
    225m
    Arros QD
  2. The Savannah

    The Savannah

    British
    (112 Reviews)
    919m
    The Savannah
  3. Neptune London

    Neptune London

    British
    (0 Reviews)
    831m
    Neptune London
  4. Ham Yard Bar & Restaurant

    Ham Yard Bar & Restaurant

    British
    (791 Reviews)
    801m
    Ham Yard Bar & Restaurant
  5. XU

    XU

    Taiwanese
    (16 Reviews)
    824m
    XU