map placeholder

Afternoon Tea at One Aldwych

One Aldwych, London, WC2B 4BZ +44 2035519732

(((() Afternoon Tea
  • Charlie and the Chocolate Factory Afternoon Tea - London
  • Charlie and the Chocolate Factory Afternoon Tea - London
  • Afternoon Tea at One Aldwych - London
  •  - London
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 12:30 - 15:30
Sunday:12:30 - 17:30.

Excellent experience at this restaurant food was amazing and views were great to

Kay 16 November 2018
from London

View all 884 reviews

One Aldwych have created a magical afternoon tea experience that features indulgent treats inspired by the sweet shop including decadent golden eggs to blueberry brioche and playful flavoured candy floss.

Executive Chef Dominic Teague and his team have created a wonderful One Aldwych afternoon tea menu using the finest, freshest ingredients. Teatime treats are served alongside a selection of award-winning loose leaf teas and infusions from Canton Tea, each of which has been chosen to complement the delicate flavours from the kitchen.

Originally built in 1907 as the home of the Morning Post newspaper, One Aldwych occupies one of the most important Edwardian buildings in London, offering beautiful rooms, serious cocktails, delicious food and a brilliant buzz.

One Aldwych is an award-winning contemporary luxury hotel in the heart of London, just a 4-minute walk away from Covent Garden Tube Station.

Afternoon Tea at One Aldwych

One Aldwych, London, WC2B 4BZ

Contact +44 2073000400
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in London

See all restaurants in West End of London

Customer reviews for Afternoon Tea at One Aldwych

4.6 (((() (based on 884 reviews)
93% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (808)
  • luxury (200)
  • child friendly (138)
  • lunch (120)
  • trendy (107)
  • romantic (87)
  • dinner (78)
  • value (55)
  • business (53)
  • private dining (50)
  • views (32)
  • large parties (31)
  • entertainment (27)
  • breakfast (24)
  • al fresco (11)
  • ((((( 24 September 2018 by Lynda from London

    This was a great afternoon tea experience. The savoury of sandwiches, quiche and scones were lovely, great selection of different flavours. The Teapot cocktail was amazing, it bubbled away in a glass teapot before pouring. The sweet selection was outstanding, Candy floss, milkshakes, chocolate filled eggs and cakes and scones made for a wonderful tasty experience. The Tea choice was also very good. The whole menu was explained by the waiter throughout the dining experience. All the staff were friendly and helpful, and nothing was too much trouble. I'd definitely recommend.

  • ((((( 24 September 2018 by Cathy from Arundel

    Great service, staff couldn't have been more attentive and helpful. I prefer savoury to sweet so would especially recommend the Quiche and Cheese scones with bacon jam. We were offered more of everything and you could even take home anything you couldn't manage. Best afternoon tea I've had in London.

  • ((((( 22 September 2018 by Lisa from London

    I loved my Charlie and the Chocolate Factory Tea!! The staff was so accommodating. I showed up an hour and half early, for fear I wouldn’t be able to find it, and instead of sending me away they let me sit and relax in the dining room until tea time arrived. The food was amazing, the drinks, both the tea and the Charlie Cocktail were equally as good. I enjoyed the whole experience from beginning to end.

  • ((((( 20 September 2018 by Grace from London

    It's a great building with a friendly doorman so it feels like a special afternoon even as you set foot in the door. We were welcomed at the front desk and escorted to a lift to take us to the mezzanine where we were warmly greeted again and our coats were taken to a cloakroom free of charge. We were taken to a lovely table overlooking the lower floor (this gave us a lovely opportunity to spy on what other people were eating and drinking!) We were offered cocktails/Champagne/hot chocolate/bottled water (these are add-ons and not included in the original afternoon tea price). We declined but were given glasses of water anyway which was nice. We were given a choice of tea and our own tea pots and strainers and matching cups and saucers. Throughout the two hours we were able to get a fresh pot of tea whenever requested and we could try out new teas (I loved the mango tea and the chocolate tea but the mint tea was just too strong for me! My friend had the berry tea). They bring out the savoury food first and I loved it all. We were asked if we had a favourite and would we like another one of those (I had another quiche and my friend had another cheese scone with bacon jam). Don't be afraid to say yes to this-there isn't a hidden charge! The sweets look and taste really lovely and we struggled to finish them off! The staff were very attentive and helpful. Everything is brought out slowly, giving you time to chat and relax and really savour it all. We stayed on longer than the allotted two hours but we didn't ever feel rushed. I would definitely recommend it.

  • ((((* 19 September 2018 by Aysha from Slough

    We visited One Aldwych for this special tea as a birthday treat and were not disappointed! Everything from the service to the tea itself was absolutely amazing! I was also very kindly giving a little cake and candle to mark the occasion by the staff which was so thoughtful! Just one thing I would suggest, perhaps choose another seating area for the tea? As its by the bar and lobby we did have quite a few hotel guests and a wedding party at one point surrounding the area making it a tad noisy but other than this our time here was wonderful!

  • ((((* 19 September 2018 by Nicola from Coventry

    All very good. Good for the savoury food lover as well as the sweet toothed. The cheese scones with the bacon jam were absolutely delicious. Lots of lovely teas to choose from and not rushed.

  • ((((( 19 September 2018 by Erin from Sedona

    Tea was amazing! Every detail was thought of, the food was amazing and the servers were A+! If you only have time for one tea, this is it!

  • ((((( 18 September 2018 by Jennie from London

    We thoroughly enjoyed the afternoon tea, the savoury elements were some of the best I've had in an afternoon tea! Sweets were fanciful, creatively designed and well executed.

  • ((((( 18 September 2018 by Claire from London

    I celebrated my 50th at One Aldwych for afternoon tea. The theme was Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. Myself and my friends had a really good time and enjoyed the whole experience.
    We were welcomed immediately on arrival. The staff are so friendly and each course was explained in great detail.
    It was great fun and so different to the usual afternoon tea in other places. It was exciting tasting all the different flavours.
    I thoroughly recommend anyone to go there who’s looking for an alternative afternoon tea.
    I even got a free birthday cake with a candle and we all got a free drop of champagne.
    Amazing service and amazing experience. Thank you so much. Claire xx

  • ((((( 18 September 2018 by Katie from London

    One of the best afternoon teas I've ever had and I'm lucky enough to say I've tried a lot up and down the country. From the moment we arrived the service was fantastic and we were seated at a lovely table on the mezzanine level overlooking the bar so we could hear the live pianist. The savoury food was exceptional and very well presented, definitely want to try and make my own bacon jam now!! The sweets were stunning and so full of flavour, I think the golden chocolate egg was my favourite but also the little cake pops and cocoa bean financiers was so delicious and the homemade candy floss really different. I thoroughly enjoyed this experience and would recommend it to anyone - only thing I would say is £18 for a glass of champagne seemed a little steep...

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant