map placeholder

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory Afternoon Tea

One Aldwych, London, WC2B 4BZ +44 2035519732

(((() Afternoon Tea
  • Afternoon Tea at One Aldwych - London
  • Afternoon Tea at One Aldwych - London
  •  - London
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 12:30 - 15:30
Sunday:12:30 - 17:30.

The afternoon tea was really nice. The selection of savoury then sweet dishes was very indulgent. Staff were amazing, helpful and very tentative. Would definitely recommend this to anyone

Ash 12 January 2018
from London

View all 678 reviews

Inspired by Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, One Aldwych have created a unique afternoon tea. From decadent golden eggs to blueberry brioche and playful flavoured candy floss, every item reflects the wit and wonder of Roald Dahl's classic tale.

Executive Chef Dominic Teague and his team have created a scrumdiddlyumptious One Aldwych afternoon tea menu using the finest, freshest ingredients. Teatime treats are served alongside a selection of award-winning loose leaf teas and infusions from Canton Tea, each of which has been chosen to complement the delicate flavours from the kitchen.

Originally built in 1907 as the home of the Morning Post newspaper, One Aldwych occupies one of the most important Edwardian buildings in London, offering beautiful rooms, serious cocktails, delicious food and a brilliant buzz.

One Aldwych is an award-winning contemporary luxury hotel in the heart of London, just a 4-minute walk away from Covent Garden Tube Station.

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory Afternoon Tea

One Aldwych, London, WC2B 4BZ

Contact +44 2073000400
Reservations +44 2035519732
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in London

See all restaurants in West End of London

Customer reviews for Charlie and the Chocolate Factory Afternoon Tea

4.6 (((() (based on 678 reviews)
94% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (630)
  • luxury (145)
  • child friendly (97)
  • lunch (84)
  • trendy (79)
  • romantic (65)
  • dinner (58)
  • value (46)
  • private dining (38)
  • business (34)
  • large parties (22)
  • views (22)
  • breakfast (21)
  • entertainment (20)
  • al fresco (10)
  • ((((* 18 December 2017 by Farnoosh Faraji from London

    Great time.

  • (((** 3 December 2017 by Nicholas Antonopoulos from Teddington

    Friendly stuff!

  • ((*** 29 November 2017 by Tracey Anderson from London

    Very slow service, quality not as expected and very over priced for the quality received. My child didn't eat any of the sweet items which is highly unusual.

  • ((((( 27 November 2017 by Laura from Essex

    The afternoon tea was lovely and the food was all really nice, tasted beautifully and experienced different flavours. The presentation of the food was lovely and you get your own stand filled with caramel milk, Christmas pudding cake pop, chocolate egg with mango cheesecake inside, candyfloss and bubblegum panna cotta. The interior was nice with a Christmas tree in the centre. The staff were really friendly and explained what all the food was as they placed it on the table. The only thing I wasn't happy about was on the menu, it states 'an optional service charge will be added to the bill' which I thought was a bit contradictory and made the total go up to almost £200 - considering I was paying for 4 people and I already worked out what I should be paying, I wasn't happy that they expected me to pay all of it. I think they need to change how they word it - maybe take 'optional' out of the sentence and then you're expected to pay it because it's too contradictory. Or you should be able to pay in advance when you book a table so there's no hassle or confusion and you pay the exact amount with no extra charges. Overall though, it was an excellent experience.

  • ((((( 26 November 2017 by E N from Jyvaskyla

    Staff was really helpful and nice. Dining area was really old fashion stylish. Tea selection is very good. Not too strong. Savory selection is tasty. One sandwich (turkey & cranberry) in festive menu is not so good. Its maybe too spiced to us taste. Sweet selection in afternoon tea is very very super and beautifully placed.

  • ((((( 25 November 2017 by Adrian Sherman from Portishead

    A fantastic afternoon tea that not only looked amazing toasted amazing too!!

  • ((((( 21 November 2017 by Amanda from East Preston

    Service was exceptional, our waitress was so helpful and informative and explained all our food. More than happy to change one of the sandwiches as one of our party didn't eat fish. On the savory course the cheese scones and bacon Jam were amazing, very hard to choose a favourite for the sweet course, try and guess the flavour of the candy floss. The Charlie cocktail was amazing

  • (((** 20 November 2017 by Lynne Howe from London

    This was my second visit to Charlie and the Chocolate Factory at One Aldwych. This time we were seated in the Lobby Bar as opposed to the restaurant which turned out to be very pleasant. Unfortunately our sandwiches had either been left out or been stored without cover as the outsides were quite hard. We ate them but when asked if all was ok we mentioned this to the waiter. He immediately apologised and ordered us a complete new batch which were perfect. The sweet dishes were once again excellent and we were offered a box to take home a couple which we couldn’t quite manage, which was a nice gesture. The only other downside was when a decorator started laying dustsheets and paint out next to us, looking every bit like he was going to paint the wall! Bearing in mind this was 4.30ish Friday afternoon. I think they took one look at our faces and decided against it. Negatives over.
    The positives were fantastical professional and friendly staff, lovely surroundings and a very innovative tasty menu. We 4 ladies went home totally stuffed and very happy with our chocolate fix (plus a Charlie cocktail).

  • ((((* 20 November 2017 by Katie Gibson from Oxford

    We were a bit disappointed when we arrived that we needed to wait 10 minutes for our table to be ready - despite arriving a few minutes after the time for which we were booked. It was the end of the afternoon tea slot and the service wasn't as attentive as I have experienced there before but the amazing food means that it remains one of the best afternoon teas in London. We also have to say a big thankyou for the little birthday cake (with lit candle!) and champagne we were given free of charge to celebrate my partner's birthday. A very nice touch.

  • (((** 18 November 2017 by Kim Stockley from Norwich

    Afternoon tea was tasty, the desserts were clever and the service was good. Our only collective complaint is where the tea is held, in the lobby bar area. When we arrived it felt like being in a corporate meeting as there were business meetings happening at all of the tables around us. This killed the ‘afternoon tea’ experience for us. So much so that we almost walked out before we even started. I noticed the time (12pm) and I convinced my friends to stick around as I figured the business meetings would die down after lunch time was over. They did, however, a second wave came in an hour later. I’m not familiar with the hotel’s layout, but I did notice a restaurant upstairs. Perhaps incorporate the tea up there, or host in a room of its own. I would go back based on the ‘tea’ itself, but only if it was held in a different area.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting the Terms and Conditions associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant