map placeholder

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory Afternoon Tea

One Aldwych, London, WC2B 4BZ +44 2035519732

(((() Afternoon Tea
  • Charlie and the Chocolate Factory Afternoon Tea - London
  • Charlie and the Chocolate Factory Afternoon Tea - London
  • Afternoon Tea at One Aldwych - London
  •  - London
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 12:30 - 15:30
Sunday:12:30 - 17:30.

We enjoyed this tea very much. The food was delicious and as a fan of the Willy Wonka movie I appreciated the Art on the menus.
Staff was kind and helpful, tea was excellent and easily refilled. We were 2 adults and a teen but saw several families with younger kids enjoying at as well.

Steven 14 July 2018
from London

View all 786 reviews

Inspired by Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, One Aldwych have created a unique afternoon tea. From decadent golden eggs to blueberry brioche and playful flavoured candy floss, every item reflects the wit and wonder of Roald Dahl's classic tale.

Executive Chef Dominic Teague and his team have created a scrumdiddlyumptious One Aldwych afternoon tea menu using the finest, freshest ingredients. Teatime treats are served alongside a selection of award-winning loose leaf teas and infusions from Canton Tea, each of which has been chosen to complement the delicate flavours from the kitchen.

Originally built in 1907 as the home of the Morning Post newspaper, One Aldwych occupies one of the most important Edwardian buildings in London, offering beautiful rooms, serious cocktails, delicious food and a brilliant buzz.

One Aldwych is an award-winning contemporary luxury hotel in the heart of London, just a 4-minute walk away from Covent Garden Tube Station.

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory Afternoon Tea

One Aldwych, London, WC2B 4BZ

Contact +44 2073000400
Reservations +44 2035519732
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in London

See all restaurants in West End of London

Customer reviews for Charlie and the Chocolate Factory Afternoon Tea

4.6 (((() (based on 786 reviews)
93% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (720)
  • luxury (176)
  • child friendly (118)
  • lunch (104)
  • trendy (97)
  • romantic (80)
  • dinner (68)
  • value (51)
  • private dining (46)
  • business (45)
  • views (27)
  • entertainment (25)
  • large parties (25)
  • breakfast (21)
  • al fresco (11)
  • ((((( 13 June 2018 by Luke from London

    Great food and great service.

  • ((((* 11 June 2018 by Ellen from Essex

    We had excellent, friendly service from everyone we came into contact with. Everyone treated us like nothing was too much trouble, and our table request was listened to too. The chocolate tea was amazing! Something we'd never tried before but I'd definitely have it again! We weren't too fond of the egg mayonnaise sandwich or the coronation chicken, but everything else was gorgeous, especially the bacon jam!! The sweet treats were all so delicious, it was such a shame I couldn't finish it all! We were a little disappointed that the cocktail wasn't included in the £45 per head, as that is definitely expensive enough without paying the extra £11 for it! That was really the only downfall for us; we found it rather expensive for what we got.

  • ((((( 11 June 2018 by Kevin from Stockton-on-Tees

    Service was Superb and food was delicious.

  • ((((( 9 June 2018 by Nicole from London

    The restaurant had the perfect atmosphere - not too laid back but also not too stiflingly formal. This was especially appreciated on a considerably humid day.

    The staff we interacted with were all incredibly attentive and I cannot fault the level of service.

    The extra touches were really appreciated - I had mentioned in an email and in an offhand comment to our main waitress that my mum and I were having afternoon tea as my belated birthday present to her. Although her birthday was back in March I was living in France at the time doing a ski season, so it was a lovely surprise that staff still brought her a celebratory cake lit with a candle!

    I would struggle to pick a favourite part of the Charlie and the Chocolate factory afternoon tea in all honesty. The cheese scones with bacon jam were my personal highlight of the savoury side of things. Sweet-wise it was so difficult to decide. The bubblegum pannacotta was a lovely novelty and not as sickly as I had expected! The cake pops were great too!

    Having the afternoon tea with champagne made it extra special, I would thoroughly recommend this additional touch. Although it was a tough choice between that and trying to Charlie and the Chocolate Factory-inspired cocktail!

  • ((((( 5 June 2018 by Lauren from Newcastle

    Was absolutely amazing. Booked for my sisters birthday and was brilliant.

  • ((((( 4 June 2018 by Cornelis from Turnhout

    This was amazing, my wife loved all the sweets, i still dream off the bacon jam and the smoked salmon sandwich

  • ((((( 3 June 2018 by Jane from London

    My sister and myself absolutely loved The Charlie and the Chocolate Factory Afternoon Tea, the hotel surroundings were beautiful (the flowers were out of this world), staff were very friendly and extremely helpful and the food, well what can I say other than delicious - the cheese scone with bacon jam was to die for as was the little chocolate 'bean'!! We loved every minute!

  • ((((( 30 May 2018 by Tamisha from London

    My sister and I had a lovely Sunday afternoon at One Aldwych. The Charlie and the chocolate factory afternoon tea did not disappoint and I would recommend it to all.

  • ((((( 30 May 2018 by Lewis from London

    The ambiance of the restaurant and the food was impeccable

  • ((((( 26 May 2018 by Jane from Didcot

    My granddaughter and I had a wonderful time, service from the moment we walked through the door of the hotel was very attentive.
    My granddaughter loved the beano dog, selfies in the foyer before taking the pink lift to the restaurant. Being sat near the large window was great for watching London go about its business. We chose from the children’s menu for my granddaughter and I hade informed the hotel that it was a birthday treat, plenty to eat as seconds were offered. Savouries were delicious especially the cheese scones along with bacon jam. But the sweets were amazing, well presented On a small individual podiums along with a basket full of cake and scones, served with jam, lemon curd and cream. My granddaughter was also presented with an individual slice of chocolate birthday cake with a candle, special touches which meant a lot. Thank you. Staff were very friendly, attentive.
    I would recommend this for a special occasion.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant