map placeholder

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory Afternoon Tea

One Aldwych, London, WC2B 4BZ +44 2035519732

(((() Afternoon Tea
  • Afternoon Tea at One Aldwych - London
  • Afternoon Tea at One Aldwych - London
  •  - London
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 12:30 - 15:30
Sunday:12:30 - 17:30.

The afternoon tea was really nice. The selection of savoury then sweet dishes was very indulgent. Staff were amazing, helpful and very tentative. Would definitely recommend this to anyone

Ash 12 January 2018
from London

View all 678 reviews

Inspired by Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, One Aldwych have created a unique afternoon tea. From decadent golden eggs to blueberry brioche and playful flavoured candy floss, every item reflects the wit and wonder of Roald Dahl's classic tale.

Executive Chef Dominic Teague and his team have created a scrumdiddlyumptious One Aldwych afternoon tea menu using the finest, freshest ingredients. Teatime treats are served alongside a selection of award-winning loose leaf teas and infusions from Canton Tea, each of which has been chosen to complement the delicate flavours from the kitchen.

Originally built in 1907 as the home of the Morning Post newspaper, One Aldwych occupies one of the most important Edwardian buildings in London, offering beautiful rooms, serious cocktails, delicious food and a brilliant buzz.

One Aldwych is an award-winning contemporary luxury hotel in the heart of London, just a 4-minute walk away from Covent Garden Tube Station.

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory Afternoon Tea

One Aldwych, London, WC2B 4BZ

Contact +44 2073000400
Reservations +44 2035519732
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in London

See all restaurants in West End of London

Customer reviews for Charlie and the Chocolate Factory Afternoon Tea

4.6 (((() (based on 678 reviews)
94% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (630)
  • luxury (145)
  • child friendly (97)
  • lunch (84)
  • trendy (79)
  • romantic (65)
  • dinner (58)
  • value (46)
  • private dining (38)
  • business (34)
  • large parties (22)
  • views (22)
  • breakfast (21)
  • entertainment (20)
  • al fresco (10)
  • ((((* 28 December 2017 by Philippa Sneader from London

    Well according to my daughter and her friend for whom I booked (my daughters 16th birthday) the service was impressive and the food delicious. They catered to the dietary requirements and made a special cake for her birthday.
    Sadly as young people they were quite happy with tap water but cleverly they were simply asked would you like some water which of course was a £5 title oh plus the service at 12.5% on that.
    Was it worth over £100? No absolutely not. Charlie and the Chocolate Favtory theme???? A golden egg- hmmm
    Bit of a rip off but my daughter enjoyed her celebration and you cannot really put a price on that.

  • ((((( 27 December 2017 by Mark Silvester from Greenhithe

    Simply amazing. Great staff fantastic approach to make afternoon tea a little different

  • ((((( 23 December 2017 by Grant Brown from High Wycombe

    Excellent service and food

  • ((((( 22 December 2017 by Clare Guerin from Adelaide, Australia

    Absolutely loved the whole experience. The service, the drinks, the food was all delicious. I was also very appreciative that they were able to cater to my complicated dietary restrictions

  • ((((* 21 December 2017 by Narinder Sanotra from London

    No doorman at the front entrance or offer to use the cloakroom very unusual for One Aldwych as I’ve visited a few times. Restaurant setting is beautiful staff attentive and friendly. Quirky food flavours with excellent presentation. Teas was a little tepid when served and only 2 pots over the duration of tea. Knowing it was a birthday celebration without being told was a lovely touch.

  • ((((( 21 December 2017 by Iram Munaf from London

    The afternoon ted was lovely and pleasantly surprising

  • ((((( 21 December 2017 by Elise Marling from London

    The staff at One Aldwych are wonderful - so friendly and kind, they really made a fuss of my nine year old daughter. The afternoon tea was smashing, we particularly loved the golden egg filled with cheesecake and mango coulis. I really liked how that they brought the savouries/sandwiches first so that we weren't tempted to skip over them and dive straight into the sweet stuff! The staff offered to bring us more of anything we particularly liked which was a nice touch. All in all, a lovely day out for me and my daughter and a very special afternoon tea which we would highly recommend. Thank you once again to the lovely staff at One Aldwych.

  • ((((( 21 December 2017 by Marie-cécile Sacquet from Rouen

    An excellent moment ! It was for my fiance birthday and the special attention was perfect. The food was very very good, the service absolutely perfect.

  • ((((* 20 December 2017 by Mrs I Thomas from London

    This was a surprise birthday treat for my grandson. After sitting at our table and seeing the theme of the tea, he was over the moon.
    The staff were friendly and the Christmas decoration added to the ambience. I feel that the tables were too low and too small to accommodate all the treats at the same time, as advertised. It was nice to be able to choose different teas. Usually you only get to choose one tea and get refills of the same. Also my grandson, who loves tea tasting, was able to drink tea rather than only hot chocolate, as some other establishments do. He enjoyed sandwiches from the children's menu. I was however disappointed that my salmon sandwich was extremely dry, resulting in a bad experience as I though all were freshly made. All the sweet things on the menu were too much, so we asked to take them home. My grandson was offered an extra candy floss and golden egg to take home. My conclusion being that leftover food is recycled and served to other customers. My biggest concern - I clearly stated that I did not want any alcohol. I was horrified when my grandson ate the christmas cake pop with his hot chocolate at home. He said it tasted funny. On my tasting it I realised that it contained alcohol. I sent an email to the restaurant with an enquiry, but have not had a response. I still have the other cake pop for further enquiries.

  • ((((( 20 December 2017 by Kim Silverstein from Los Angeles

    We loved this experience! It was great to have options for all of our various dietary requirements, the drinks were delicious, and the sweets were simply magical. Service was a little slow, but we weren't in a rush.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting the Terms and Conditions associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant