map placeholder

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory Afternoon Tea

One Aldwych, London, WC2B 4BZ +44 2035519732

(((() Afternoon Tea
  • Afternoon Tea at One Aldwych - London
  • Afternoon Tea at One Aldwych - London
  •  - London
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 12:30 - 15:30
Sunday:12:30 - 17:30.

The afternoon tea was really nice. The selection of savoury then sweet dishes was very indulgent. Staff were amazing, helpful and very tentative. Would definitely recommend this to anyone

Ash 12 January 2018
from London

View all 678 reviews

Inspired by Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, One Aldwych have created a unique afternoon tea. From decadent golden eggs to blueberry brioche and playful flavoured candy floss, every item reflects the wit and wonder of Roald Dahl's classic tale.

Executive Chef Dominic Teague and his team have created a scrumdiddlyumptious One Aldwych afternoon tea menu using the finest, freshest ingredients. Teatime treats are served alongside a selection of award-winning loose leaf teas and infusions from Canton Tea, each of which has been chosen to complement the delicate flavours from the kitchen.

Originally built in 1907 as the home of the Morning Post newspaper, One Aldwych occupies one of the most important Edwardian buildings in London, offering beautiful rooms, serious cocktails, delicious food and a brilliant buzz.

One Aldwych is an award-winning contemporary luxury hotel in the heart of London, just a 4-minute walk away from Covent Garden Tube Station.

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory Afternoon Tea

One Aldwych, London, WC2B 4BZ

Contact +44 2073000400
Reservations +44 2035519732
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in London

See all restaurants in West End of London

Customer reviews for Charlie and the Chocolate Factory Afternoon Tea

4.6 (((() (based on 678 reviews)
94% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (630)
  • luxury (145)
  • child friendly (97)
  • lunch (84)
  • trendy (79)
  • romantic (65)
  • dinner (58)
  • value (46)
  • private dining (38)
  • business (34)
  • large parties (22)
  • views (22)
  • breakfast (21)
  • entertainment (20)
  • al fresco (10)
  • ((((* 8 January 2018 by Christel Vacelet from Brussels

    Everyone enjoyed it - kids and adults alike. “It was perfect” said our 8 and 11 year olds. Very friendly and attentive service.

  • (((** 6 January 2018 by Hannah Joy from London

    Loved the style of the dishes everything was served on (plates, tea cups), vegetarian sandwiches were great, not very much given though. The waiter was fantastic, very friendly and professional. Looked like the sofas/dining area on the main floor of the hotel lobby was a better place to enjoy high tea (I was up top, overlooking this area). Loved the theme of the entire tea, the cotton candy was exquisite. Wish the whole experience was a bit more whimsical (more decorations, over the top, in both the environment and in the presentation of dishes). Better background music would make the experience more enjoyable. But overall pretty great!

  • ((((( 6 January 2018 by Sandra from Leatherhead

    Fabulous and delicious! A real treat and great with children.

  • (((** 5 January 2018 by Nikki Norman from London

    The staff were very attentive and the food was lovely BUT it is being marketed and sold as a Charlie and the Chocolate Factory afternoon tea yet there was nothing that suggested this, no Wonka Bars,No one dressed Up, etc etc. It was merely an afternoon tea and a very expensive one at that.

  • ((*** 5 January 2018 by Name from London

    Overall I was disappointed with the afternoon tea. The pictures were fantastic but the food did not live up to expectations or value for money. The presentation of the food was good. The sandwiches were mediocre but it was obvious that the dessert was the star of the show. Had the dessert not been as good I would have been even more disappointed. The service was slow (it was rather busy) but staff were friendly despite that. I think that the theme 'Charlie and the Chocolate Factory' was creative and lovely but not worth the £44 per person.

  • ((((* 5 January 2018 by Ben Copeland from Cheam

    The service, food, drink and detail that went into everything was great.
    I would say it was a little expensive for what you get though.

  • (((** 3 January 2018 by Gail Muscella from London

    I have been to a themed afternoon tea at another venue. I have to say that the service was exceptional, but I felt the whole experience lacked atmosphere, which was a shame. I also felt that it wasn’t great value for money. £99 for two people, as a 12.5% service charge was added onto a bill of £44 per head, which by most afternoon tea standards is expensive to say the least!

  • ((((* 1 January 2018 by Mark from Leighton Buzzard

    Our afternoon tea was a real delight. A lovely location with a warm welcome given by staff. My wife has acsweet tooth and particularly liked the sweet part of the menu. I was a little surprised and also disappointed however, that the festive turkey sandwich did not contain real turkey but rather the cheap supermarket processed sliced 'turkey. That aside, the rest of the experience was very nice. We had fun trying to guess the flavour of the candy floss.

  • ((((( 1 January 2018 by Sophie from London

    Lovely atmosphere, great service and lovely food.

  • ((((( 1 January 2018 by Louisa Russell from Kent

    Best afrernoon tea I have ever had.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting the Terms and Conditions associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant