map placeholder

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory Afternoon Tea

One Aldwych, London, WC2B 4BZ +44 2035519732

(((() Afternoon Tea
  • Charlie and the Chocolate Factory Afternoon Tea - London
  • Charlie and the Chocolate Factory Afternoon Tea - London
  • Afternoon Tea at One Aldwych - London
  •  - London
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 12:30 - 15:30
Sunday:12:30 - 17:30.

We enjoyed this tea very much. The food was delicious and as a fan of the Willy Wonka movie I appreciated the Art on the menus.
Staff was kind and helpful, tea was excellent and easily refilled. We were 2 adults and a teen but saw several families with younger kids enjoying at as well.

Steven 14 July 2018
from London

View all 786 reviews

Inspired by Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, One Aldwych have created a unique afternoon tea. From decadent golden eggs to blueberry brioche and playful flavoured candy floss, every item reflects the wit and wonder of Roald Dahl's classic tale.

Executive Chef Dominic Teague and his team have created a scrumdiddlyumptious One Aldwych afternoon tea menu using the finest, freshest ingredients. Teatime treats are served alongside a selection of award-winning loose leaf teas and infusions from Canton Tea, each of which has been chosen to complement the delicate flavours from the kitchen.

Originally built in 1907 as the home of the Morning Post newspaper, One Aldwych occupies one of the most important Edwardian buildings in London, offering beautiful rooms, serious cocktails, delicious food and a brilliant buzz.

One Aldwych is an award-winning contemporary luxury hotel in the heart of London, just a 4-minute walk away from Covent Garden Tube Station.

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory Afternoon Tea

One Aldwych, London, WC2B 4BZ

Contact +44 2073000400
Reservations +44 2035519732
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in London

See all restaurants in West End of London

Customer reviews for Charlie and the Chocolate Factory Afternoon Tea

4.6 (((() (based on 786 reviews)
93% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (720)
  • luxury (176)
  • child friendly (118)
  • lunch (104)
  • trendy (97)
  • romantic (80)
  • dinner (68)
  • value (51)
  • private dining (46)
  • business (45)
  • views (27)
  • entertainment (25)
  • large parties (25)
  • breakfast (21)
  • al fresco (11)
  • ((((( 7 July 2018 by Scott from London

    From the delicious selection of teas (I had chocolate, my wife mango, our sin earl gray) to the sumptuous savory treats (bacon jam on scone was one of the best things I've ever tasted) to the meticulous service (thank you especially, Madelina), and a shout-out to the caramel drink and Charlie and the Chocolate Factory treats, I wouldn't have changed a thing. A memory we will carry for a lifetime.

  • ((((( 5 July 2018 by Mr from London

    Service was good, all staff were welcoming and friendly and the food was exceptional. The quiche was best I've ever had and brownies were melt in the mouth. A really nice treat. Hope to come again in the future

  • ((*** 4 July 2018 by Gili from London

    I didn’t enjoy the experience z way to expensive for what you get. Slow service. Ambiance not that nice. The sweets weren’t that tasty and not value for money at all. I wouldn’t recommend it.

  • ((((( 4 July 2018 by Nikki from London

    Lovely afternoon tea spent for my mums birthday. Food and cake choices good and a very quirky theme. Would recommend.

  • ((((( 3 July 2018 by Carly from London

    Lovely food. Very welcoming to children. No rush at all. Amazing desserts, great fun. Would be a nice touch to give children a memento as other afternoon tea venues.

  • ((((( 3 July 2018 by Jin from London

    Fantastic afternoon tea experience. The staff were very attentive and accommodating especially with my fiancee being vegetarian (lots of options!). They explained each dish and we were not restricted on how much we could eat. It was my fiancees birthday and they also kindly brought out a cake and candle for her too. I loved the coronation chicken and the mini quiche. All of the desserts were incredible. Would highly recommend. For the tea itself - they had some good options and could try as many different teas as we liked.

  • (((** 2 July 2018 by Tania from One Aldwych

    Food was super. Thankyou.
    Service very slow. One server made us feel uncomfortable. It seemed as if she did not want to be there. I think it may have been the end of her shift as she had gone by the time we left.

  • ((((( 2 July 2018 by Collette from Liverpool

    Enjoyed a lovely afternoon here with my sister. The Charlie & the chocolate factory theme was very novel. The food was delicious and everything was to a high standard. You may thing £50 for afternoon tea is a tad expensive however you are in Covent Garden & this is the first afternoon tea I’ve been too where you get offered more of everything so you definitely get your money’s worth. The cheesecake filled chocolate egg is to die for. Very relaxed atmosphere. Would highly recommend. Only tiny downside is whilst the staff do not rush you at the end the shift must have changed & we were sat waiting trying to get someone attention to settle the bill for over half an hour. Not such a big deal. Definitely one to try whilst in London.

  • ((((( 29 June 2018 by Wendy from London

    It was a lovely experience. excellent service and the food was amazing. lovely selection well worth a visot. I will recommend to friends and family and will likely be back again

  • ((*** 26 June 2018 by Alicia from London

    The restaurant is in a good location and is a nice cozy venue for an afternoon tea. I was however disappointed in the service. It was a special occasion, a big birthday, pre-booked weeks ahead. and the staff were very disorganized. Even though they confirmed it was a birthday when we sat down, they ultimately forgot the candle. They served two champanges and teas, and forgot a tea for the person who wasn't having champagne; this came about 20 min later. The food was okay, but nothing spectacular. The savouries were actually better than the sweets which were supposed to be the main event. The sweets didn't have much flavour other than overwhelming sweetness. It wasn't what I expected and I wouldn't return.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant