Reviews of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory-Inspired Afternoon Tea at One Aldwych

4.6
(based on 1079 reviews)
One Aldwych, London, London, WC2B 4BZ
1079 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Daniel H from Inca
    14 March 2020

    The actual tea was delicious, we had three pots of the chocolate chai as well as the cinnamon tea. The savoury sandwiches are delicious, even my husband's gluten free plate. The sweets are delightful. The candy floss is lemony and delicious, and we ordered several refills of the minty chocolate milk!

  • By Anja B from Offenburg
    13 March 2020

    It's been a wonderful experience an we particularly loved the savoury selection and the arrangement of the bits and bites

  • By Jessica B from London
    9 March 2020

    The Charlie and the chocolate factory afternoon tea was really good! Loved the fact that you had different savoury treats rather than just sandwiches, we were offered more which was nice but you really didn’t need more as you get plenty of sweet treats after which were all so different and tasted amazing. Also liked that you could pick champagne or a cocktail as well as having plenty of tea choices, I would recommend the Cinnamon Toast one. Best afternoon tea I’ve had.

  • By Sarah B from Hertford
    4 March 2020

    We booked this lovely afternoon tea last minute due to a conference being cancelled last minute but we still wanted to meet up for a good catch-up. We all where coming from different directions to london, being central it was easy for us all to get to. We all had a lovely time and loved the food. We only wish we could eat it all, but we where able to take home the leftovers which ment a lovely snack on the train home or our familys got to enjoy the food as well. We had a nut allergy in our party who was easy accomodated on the 2/3 things they where not able to have with lovely alternatives. I had one of the cocktails that was smoking when it arrived. When the desserts came out that was another wonderus moment, we where like kids in a candy shop :D Can I just say the bacon chutney was amazing! A very lovely afternoon!!

  • By Helen G from Guildford
    2 March 2020

    chocolate milk was lovely, pineapple cream delicious, sausage roll nice and bacon chutney yummy. The cheesecake brioche was a bit out of place. My friend is vegetarian and she got one less savour item despite paying the same. Wasn’t impressed with a £11 service charge being added to the bill when only two of us, we should have been able to leave our own tip.

  • By Trudi H from London
    1 March 2020

    Charming staff, gluten and nut free diet was well catered for.

  • By Karen R from Essex
    21 February 2020

    It was very overpriced, nothing to do with the theme and we waited ages to be served.

  • By Sonia G from London
    20 February 2020

    We were welcomed to One Aldwych and ushered to the lift - we were welcomed to Indigo by very polite servers - they explained the tea options, the cocktails, and each savoury and sweet dishes - it was a fun experience

  • By Glenda I from London
    20 February 2020

    A truly magical afternoon from when we arrived we were made so welcome by the friendly but professional staff. They were attentive and explained everything about the food . The food was stunning especially the beetroot and salmon macaron. A feast for the tongue as well as our eyes. Loved it!

  • By Maria C from London
    19 February 2020

    The Charlie and the Chocolate Factory afternoon tea at One Aldwych is just OK. I have had many afternoon teas in London and this was definitely not one of the best. Despite the nice presentation of desserts, I do not think it is worth the money, especially not at £37 for a child. The flavours do not really appeal to children either. My 5 year old daughter was so excited to see the candyfloss but repulsed by the lemon sherbet flavour. The mint chocolate milkshake is also too strong a taste for some children and a plain chocolate milkshake would be more appealing. I would suggest that the options offered for children are reviewed, as well as the cost. On a positive note, the service was generally good and the staff were nice and accommodating. A small birthday cake was brought out for my daughter so that was a nice touch.