map placeholder

On The Rocks

1 Abbey Crescent, Torquay, TQ2 5HB

(((() British
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
Average
Main course: £15
Food spend: £30
Opening hours
Monday to Friday: 17:00 - 23:00
Saturday & Sunday: 11:00 - 00:00.

Fantastic food as always, a restaurant everyone should go to

Steve 05 June 2019
from Somerset

View all 621 reviews

A laidback seafront restaurant with stunning views over Torquay beach, On The Rocks sources the finest fish and meat for its varied menu of premium international flavours. There is also a dedicated vegetarian menu, and a terrace for al fresco dining.

The On The Rocks menu is packed with inventive recipes, beginning with starters like flame-grilled mackerel fillet with blood orange, pickled cucumber, fennel and wasabi snow, and fresh Brixham crab mac and cheese. There is a variety of fresh fish on the menu, from lemon sole to red gurnard, Elberry Cove mussels, as well as grill items like succulent burgers served with irresistible toppings like truffle mayo, mushroom and whisky, and streaky bacon.

Desserts at On The Rocks in Torquay include salted caramel panna cotta and dark chocolate fondant. A full wine list is joined with a selection of cocktails, spirits, beers and ciders.

Pairing a relaxed vibe with contemporary style and with great sea views, On The Rocks restaurant is a 12-minute walk from Torquay Rail Station.

On The Rocks

1 Abbey Crescent, Torquay, TQ2 5HB

Contact +44 1803203666
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Devon

See all restaurants in Torquay

Customer reviews for On The Rocks

4.6 (((() (based on 621 reviews)
94% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((((
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (528)
  • views (331)
  • lunch (284)
  • trendy (249)
  • romantic (232)
  • al fresco (189)
  • value (137)
  • private dining (91)
  • luxury (84)
  • large parties (69)
  • child friendly (61)
  • business (59)
  • entertainment (25)
  • afternoon tea (18)
  • breakfast (15)
  • ((((( 16 February 2019 by Helen from Torquay

    Mussels were excellent. Sourced locally

  • ((((( 14 February 2019 by Andrew from Bristol

    Best rump steak we have ever had, tasty and very tender.
    Attractive location and cosy interior.
    Staff very welcoming and helpful.
    We will definitely visit again.
    Highly recommended

  • ((((* 13 February 2019 by Phil from Dorchester

    I last visited Torquay some 30 odd years ago. If I needed an excuse to not leave it so long until my next visit, this place is it.
    The absolute best suet pudding (with the ox cheek) I have ever tasted. Light, tasty and just amazing. There was also a mushroom the size of an aubergine which was sublimely tasty.
    I do like that most of the wines on the wine list were offered as glass, 500ml carafe, or bottle. Good idea.
    My wife was impressed by the arrancini, and the chilli squid would bear comparison with any we have ever tasted.
    Scallops might be considered a bit of a liberty ar £12 for two, but fabulous nontheless.
    Absolutely not the restaurants fault, but the bonehead effing and jeffing at the adjoining table all meal long was a low point.
    I would have liked to stay longer and get pleasantly squiffy, and perhaps jump into the sweet menu. Perhaps next time

  • ((((( 12 February 2019 by Pattison from Torquay

    Starter..pork belly..calamari was excellent..main..monkfish was very tasty ,would recommend all these dishes,ambience was very relaxing.

  • ((((( 11 February 2019 by Sabrina from Torquay

    Great food and great service

  • ((((* 11 February 2019 by Garry from TORQUAY

    excellent meal and service

  • ((((( 8 February 2019 by George from Torquay

    We are staying in Torquay for a couple of months and were lucky enough to discover this place the first day we were here. We have eaten nowhere else because it is hard to believe anything could come close. Every dish looks interesting and every dish has been fantastic. Their Sunday roast surpasses anything we have encountered anywhere else. The fish dishes are amazing. Highly recommended.

  • ((((( 23 January 2019 by Jemma from torquay

    Lovely food and good service

  • ((((( 22 January 2019 by Georgia from Torquay

    Never had a bad meal. Amazing every time and lovely friendly staff

  • ((((( 11 January 2019 by Marion from Torquay

    Food was excellent especially the mussels, ambience was good and staff attentive, enjoyed by all 6 of us.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant