map placeholder

On The Rocks

1 Abbey Crescent, Torquay, TQ2 5HB

(((() British
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
Average
Main course: £15
Food spend: £30
Opening hours
Monday to Friday: 17:00 - 23:00
Saturday & Sunday: 11:00 - 00:00.

Fantastic food as always, a restaurant everyone should go to

Steve 05 June 2019
from Somerset

View all 621 reviews

A laidback seafront restaurant with stunning views over Torquay beach, On The Rocks sources the finest fish and meat for its varied menu of premium international flavours. There is also a dedicated vegetarian menu, and a terrace for al fresco dining.

The On The Rocks menu is packed with inventive recipes, beginning with starters like flame-grilled mackerel fillet with blood orange, pickled cucumber, fennel and wasabi snow, and fresh Brixham crab mac and cheese. There is a variety of fresh fish on the menu, from lemon sole to red gurnard, Elberry Cove mussels, as well as grill items like succulent burgers served with irresistible toppings like truffle mayo, mushroom and whisky, and streaky bacon.

Desserts at On The Rocks in Torquay include salted caramel panna cotta and dark chocolate fondant. A full wine list is joined with a selection of cocktails, spirits, beers and ciders.

Pairing a relaxed vibe with contemporary style and with great sea views, On The Rocks restaurant is a 12-minute walk from Torquay Rail Station.

On The Rocks

1 Abbey Crescent, Torquay, TQ2 5HB

Contact +44 1803203666
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Devon

See all restaurants in Torquay

Customer reviews for On The Rocks

4.6 (((() (based on 621 reviews)
94% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((((
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (528)
  • views (331)
  • lunch (284)
  • trendy (249)
  • romantic (232)
  • al fresco (189)
  • value (137)
  • private dining (91)
  • luxury (84)
  • large parties (69)
  • child friendly (61)
  • business (59)
  • entertainment (25)
  • afternoon tea (18)
  • breakfast (15)
  • ((((( 10 April 2019 by Judith from Newton Abbot

    Food was exceptional, slightly disappointed that you had no loaded potatoes or chips available.

  • ((((( 10 April 2019 by Gary from Plymouth

    First visit will not be the last,food was excellent service also. Will hopefully book when we come to the theatre again.

  • ((((( 8 April 2019 by Lisa from Torquay

    Although local to me and my family, we had never been before. The restaurant itself was warm and stylish, the food and service was excellent. The pork starter was the highlight for me and we will definitely be returning to try other dishes.

  • (((** 21 March 2019 by Roger from Exeter

    Booked for a group of six prior to a Theatre Show. Arrived on time but the food did not arrive for 40min which meant we had to rush to get to the show on time.
    Generally the food was good but the chips (triple fried ect) were not cooked in the centre and spoilt the meal. It was all a bit of a rush.
    Any one pre-eating prior to a show at the Torquay Pavilion needs to allow at least 1 hour 15 min particularly in the busy season

  • ((((* 1 March 2019 by Benn from Torquay

    Good and interesting food. Nice desserts especially. Staff in the kitchen must care. Back of the restaurant where we sat was a bit dark and shadowy - could’ve been more fun. Staff were great.

  • ((((( 27 February 2019 by John from Torquay

    This was a lovely evening, we even had the table we asked for, nothing too much trouble, all our dishes were excellent, my Bass was spot on and our friends Ox cheek was apparently superb, I have had a lot of not so good meals out elsewhere recently but we all said you have got it right, this was my choice for my wifes birthday so I was praying it would be good! Well done and keep that chef!!

  • ((((* 21 February 2019 by Mark from Torquay

    Great service all round . Food excellent .

  • ((((( 20 February 2019 by Stuart from Torquay

    Brilliant as always

  • ((((( 19 February 2019 by Liz from Torquay

    Great food and good service - as always!

  • ((((* 16 February 2019 by Sarah from Torquay

    Enduring a little refurb this lovely restaurant is well worth the inconvenience,having visited several times over the last few years I was so impressed with our meal this weekend we returned 2 days later to be just as impressed! The duck was out of this world with such different flavours on one plate!calamari the best I have ever had and the monk fish main was a total surprise and amazing! I really can’t wait to go back! Compliments to the staff and chef two superb meals and service!

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant