map placeholder

On The Rocks

1 Abbey Crescent, Torquay, TQ2 5HB

(((() British
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
Average
Main course: £15
Food spend: £30
Opening hours
Monday to Friday: 17:00 - 23:00
Saturday & Sunday: 11:00 - 00:00.

Fantastic food as always, a restaurant everyone should go to

Steve 05 June 2019
from Somerset

View all 621 reviews

A laidback seafront restaurant with stunning views over Torquay beach, On The Rocks sources the finest fish and meat for its varied menu of premium international flavours. There is also a dedicated vegetarian menu, and a terrace for al fresco dining.

The On The Rocks menu is packed with inventive recipes, beginning with starters like flame-grilled mackerel fillet with blood orange, pickled cucumber, fennel and wasabi snow, and fresh Brixham crab mac and cheese. There is a variety of fresh fish on the menu, from lemon sole to red gurnard, Elberry Cove mussels, as well as grill items like succulent burgers served with irresistible toppings like truffle mayo, mushroom and whisky, and streaky bacon.

Desserts at On The Rocks in Torquay include salted caramel panna cotta and dark chocolate fondant. A full wine list is joined with a selection of cocktails, spirits, beers and ciders.

Pairing a relaxed vibe with contemporary style and with great sea views, On The Rocks restaurant is a 12-minute walk from Torquay Rail Station.

On The Rocks

1 Abbey Crescent, Torquay, TQ2 5HB

Contact +44 1803203666
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Devon

See all restaurants in Torquay

Customer reviews for On The Rocks

4.6 (((() (based on 621 reviews)
94% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((((
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (528)
  • views (331)
  • lunch (284)
  • trendy (249)
  • romantic (232)
  • al fresco (189)
  • value (137)
  • private dining (91)
  • luxury (84)
  • large parties (69)
  • child friendly (61)
  • business (59)
  • entertainment (25)
  • afternoon tea (18)
  • breakfast (15)
  • ((((* 1 May 2019 by Micola from Torquay

    Love the food here, no better place for a Sunday roast. Lovely, friendly, helpful staff

  • ((((( 30 April 2019 by Liz from Torquay

    Great food and service as always - can’t fault.

  • ((((* 27 April 2019 by Anne from Torquay

    I went to On the Rocks with a friend for lunch, we started with Belly Pork which sounds fatty but isn’t at all, small portions but delicious, then we had Beef Ragu with was yummy, we also had a nice bottle of wine, sat enjoying the view, lovely service, would defiantly recommend this restaurant to anyone.

  • ((((( 24 April 2019 by Reginald from Torquay

    As on previous occasions everything was delicious and the service was excellent

  • ((((( 24 April 2019 by Annie from Exeter

    Food was delicious. Service very attentive. Good wine selection. My only small gripe is we were a party of 5 adults and were squeezed onto a table that was small so we were a bit cramped.

  • ((((( 23 April 2019 by Hazel from Bristol

    We love this place!! You can get an amazing roast dinner and an exceptional vegan / vegetarian option in the same restaurant which is rare. Staff are friendly and helpful and when we are in the area we will return again. Been twice so far!! Due to the fact that everything is cooked fresh there is a wait buts it’s wirth it!!

  • ((((( 19 April 2019 by Sadia from Torbay

    Food and service impeccable. Highly recommended

  • ((((( 17 April 2019 by Sharron from Torquay

    Chose the restaurant as had previously enjoyed meals there and wanted to treat my mum.
    My husband had ribeye steak which was cooked to perfection and succulent.
    Myself and mum went for the duck choice as it is something I am not good at cooking . The food was delicious ,well presented and all dishes arrived together .The carafe of house red wine is good value .
    I love trying new dishes in here as they are always tasty and never disappoint .
    It is great that the menu gets updated ,gives more choices to try .
    Good quality products locally sourced , how good is that ?
    Look forward to revisiting in the near future.

  • ((((* 15 April 2019 by Natasha from Romford

    Truly lovely food. The restaurant was bustling and we had an enjoyable evening.

  • ((((( 12 April 2019 by Terri from Torquay

    Rockfish is one of my favourite restaurants in all of the area and often my first choice when eating out. I love the quality and variety and am never disappointed. While the fish or prawn tacos are my favourite, I often have a difficult time choosing what to have as there are so many delicious choices. I also greatly appreciate the unlimited chips! The small portions served as required means I eat fewer than I usually would but, more importantly, the chips are ensured to be fresh and hot throughout the meal. Although the place is always buzzing and busy when I go, I find the service consistently very good to excellent.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant