map placeholder

On The Rocks

1 Abbey Crescent, Torquay, TQ2 5HB

(((() British
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
Average
Main course: £15
Food spend: £30
Opening hours
Monday to Friday: 17:00 - 23:00
Saturday & Sunday: 11:00 - 00:00.

Fantastic food as always, a restaurant everyone should go to

Steve 05 June 2019
from Somerset

View all 662 reviews

A laidback seafront restaurant with stunning views over Torquay beach, On The Rocks sources the finest fish and meat for its varied menu of premium international flavours. There is also a dedicated vegetarian menu, and a terrace for al fresco dining.

The On The Rocks menu is packed with inventive recipes, beginning with starters like flame-grilled mackerel fillet with blood orange, pickled cucumber, fennel and wasabi snow, and fresh Brixham crab mac and cheese. There is a variety of fresh fish on the menu, from lemon sole to red gurnard, Elberry Cove mussels, as well as grill items like succulent burgers served with irresistible toppings like truffle mayo, mushroom and whisky, and streaky bacon.

Desserts at On The Rocks in Torquay include salted caramel panna cotta and dark chocolate fondant. A full wine list is joined with a selection of cocktails, spirits, beers and ciders.

Pairing a relaxed vibe with contemporary style and with great sea views, On The Rocks restaurant is a 12-minute walk from Torquay Rail Station.

On The Rocks

1 Abbey Crescent, Torquay, TQ2 5HB

Contact +44 1803203666
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Devon

See all restaurants in Torquay

Customer reviews for On The Rocks

4.6 (((() (based on 662 reviews)
94% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((((
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (563)
  • views (360)
  • lunch (304)
  • trendy (273)
  • romantic (250)
  • al fresco (209)
  • value (154)
  • private dining (97)
  • luxury (90)
  • large parties (76)
  • child friendly (69)
  • business (67)
  • entertainment (27)
  • afternoon tea (21)
  • breakfast (16)
  • ((((( 27 August 2019 by Anne from Torquay

    First time here, food was excellent, mussels, steak and hake.

  • ((((( 25 August 2019 by Martine from Teignmouth

    Booked a table for Wednesday lunch time. Very nice young lady served us and was happy to chat as the restaurant was quiet when we arrived . We decided on the three course lunch time special menu which was not only exceptional value it was also exceptionally good. The mussel chowder was excellent with lovely large mussels in their shell. The main course of whole Brixham plaice was perfectly cooked and very fresh . For dessert both the sorbet and the sticky toffee pudding were extremely good. All in all a perfect lunch in a restaurant with a view and lovely staff.

  • ((((( 24 August 2019 by Diane from Torquay

    Lovely setting, right on the seafront. We sat outside on the terrace. Only drawback was a few cigarette ends on the floor by our table. Not nice when eating. Staff were very attentive and helpful so alround good service. Food is cooked to order and is excellent quality especially the fish which was perfect. We had the lunch menu which is really good value at £13 for 2 courses or £16 for 3 courses. Will definitely eat here again.

  • ((((( 24 August 2019 by Simon from Torquay

    Fantastic food and service

  • ((((( 22 August 2019 by Meena from Leicester

    Great restaurant, excellent and tasty food, staff were friendly but not in your face! Nice atmosphere, would definitely recommend. A must try if you are in Torquay!

  • ((((* 22 August 2019 by E from Torquay

    Food was great.
    Staff well trained.
    Table in the back was dark.
    Did not like the policy of 2 hour seating. Felt a bit under pressure from frequent reminders of leaving time.

  • ((((( 21 August 2019 by Andrew from Torquay

    Excellent

  • ((((* 20 August 2019 by Yen from Torquay

    This was the second time was visited in a week, we came back for the seafood 5 course menu.. all courses apart from the main course was delicious.. I was not keen on the John Dory.. I was not aware it was not served as a fillet.. not sure I would have ordered it other wise.. my husband enjoyed his mackerel, so overall the kids and my husband enjoyed their meals.

  • ((((* 20 August 2019 by Alison from Torquay

    Lovely night. Monkfish dish was really really good, would definitely recommend. Dessert was disappointing so might miss on that next visit. (Crime brûlée n doughnut?!)
    Overall atmosphere was good, all staff very nice and gave good service.
    Will go back for sure.
    Many Thanks

  • ((((* 18 August 2019 by Dean from Torquay

    Food was amazing, nice location and good attentive service.
    Raining when we visited so found the flooring totally unsuitable and dangerous. Would benefit from from a rug to absorb excessive water. Partner and waitress nearly slipped several times.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant