map placeholder

Old Passage Inn

Passage Rd, Arlingham, GL2 7JR

(((() Fish & Seafood
  •  - Gloucestershire
Opening hours
Tuesday to Saturday: 12:00 - 14:00 & 19:00 - 21:00

I dine here often and it is always first rate. Friendly, informal but impeccable service, delicious and adventurous cooking and portion size delightfully modest so one can manage three courses!

Sue 18 September 2019
from Ozleworth

View all 62 reviews

Holding 2 AA Rosettes, The Old Passage Inn is a seafood restaurant on the banks of the River Severn with stunning views of the Forest of Dean. A 19th-century inn that was once an old ford, the fresh menu is predominantly British-influenced.

Focusing on sustainably sourced fish and local meat, The Old Passage Inn menu begins with enticing starters including seared breast of pigeon with celeriac gratin, pickled girolles and blackberry purée, and treacle-cured salmon with pickled beetroot and stem ginger syrup. The star main dish is fresh lobster, live from their own seawater tank and served with hand-cut chips and a choice of sauce. Other tempting options are roast monkfish with curried mussel fricassee, traditional beer-battered fish and chips, and roast breast of pheasant.

A striking green building, The Old Passage Inn Arlingham is decorated in bright, modern colours. From inside the restaurant or on the terrace, the views of the river and the Gloucestershire countryside are unrivalled.

The Old Passage Inn near the Severn Bore is a 20-minute drive from both Cam and Dursley and Stonehouse Train Stations.

Old Passage Inn

Passage Rd, Arlingham, GL2 7JR

Contact +44 1452740547
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Gloucestershire

See all restaurants in Gloucester

Customer reviews for Old Passage Inn

4.6 (((() (based on 62 reviews)
96% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((((
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (47)
  • lunch (39)
  • views (37)
  • romantic (22)
  • private dining (19)
  • al fresco (14)
  • luxury (14)
  • breakfast (9)
  • business (6)
  • value (6)
  • large parties (5)
  • afternoon tea (3)
  • child friendly (3)
  • trendy (3)
  • entertainment (1)
  • ((((( 13 October 2017 by Gillian from Cheltenham

    Very good meal, friendly service, beautiful setting

  • ((((( 7 June 2017 by Mrs from Minchinhampton

    Our family enjoyed a perfect lunch at a lovely location to celebrate my husband's 85th Birthday on Friday 26th May, excellent food and lovely staff. We will be back!

  • ((((( 7 June 2017 by Ian from Stroud

    Amazing food.
    Had taster menu and fantastic prestentation and quality.
    Will be going back

  • ((((( 25 May 2017 by Ben from Cirencester

    Excellent, as always.

  • ((((( 10 May 2017 by Howard from Stroud

    We had an excellent meal and in spite of several allergies the waitress and the chef coped brilliantly.
    Will definitely return for another celebration and a pleasant walk along the River Severn afterwards

  • ((((( 8 May 2017 by Nigel from Upton upon Severn

    Had a wonderful lunch. We both enjoyed our meals.,and the staff were very friendly. The location is very beautiful

  • ((((( 5 May 2017 by Chris from Gloucester

    excellent

  • ((((( 22 March 2017 by Carol from Haywards Heath

    A delicious lunch especially the frito misto sharing dish as a starter. There was soft shell crab and crunch oysters.

  • ((((* 19 February 2017 by Sue from Wotton-under-Edge

    The whole experience was wonderful. Friendly and deft service, imaginative menu, excellent food.

  • ((((( 5 February 2017 by Lyn from Gloucester

    The Old Passage Inn is a lovely destination, clean & fresh with friendly front of house staff. A clear & concise menu didn't make the choosing very easy as everything looks delicious! I opted for scallops & belly pork for starter, roasted skate wing with new potatoes and chocolate pave to finish. All done superbly well, I would highly recommend it. Not the cheapest restaurant, but as a visit for a special occasion, the fish-lover will not be disappointed. We also pre-ordered soft shell crabs, and the Inn made sure they got some in especially.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant