map placeholder

Number Sixteen

16 Sumner Place, London, SW7 3EG

(((() Afternoon Tea
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
Opening hours
Monday - Friday: 12:00 - 17:00
Saturday - Sunday: 12:30 - 17:00

It was raining so we sat inside. The restaurant is small and cozy, lots of light. We ordered the rooibos tea and everything in the afternoon tea menu was delicious. Service was good, waiter was polite and curteous. We never felt rushed, and we had a lovely time in Number sixteen.

Laura 09 May 2019
from Montreal

View all 202 reviews

Afternoon Tea at Number Sixteen hotel is an elegant and luxurious affair. With the option to take tea in any of the public spaces, from the library to the tree-filled hotel garden, there is a setting for every weather and occasion.

The Number Sixteen menu covers classic afternoon tea with the usual sandwiches and scones on offer, as well as some lesser-seen creations, such as arancini, accompanied by sweet options such as Bakewell tart. A lighter option on offer is the ‘fruit tea’, which consists of 5 plates of colourful treats themed around blueberries, orange, lime zest and honey. A gluten-free tea is available on request.

The stunning landscaped garden offers a blissful escape from the bustle of London, whilst the colourful drawing room full of modern, decorative art and bright pink fabrics, is a funky, laidback setting. The cosy library and light-flooded conservatory are also open for afternoon tea at Number 16 in London.

Number Sixteen is situated in the heart of South Kensington, with the museums on its doorstep, and South Kensington Tube Station just a 2-minute walk away.

Number Sixteen

16 Sumner Place, London, SW7 3EG

Contact +44 2036422038
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in London

See all restaurants in South West London

Customer reviews for Number Sixteen

4.5 (((() (based on 202 reviews)
94% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((((
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (185)
  • romantic (64)
  • al fresco (58)
  • luxury (47)
  • value (47)
  • trendy (46)
  • private dining (35)
  • lunch (30)
  • breakfast (23)
  • views (18)
  • dinner (17)
  • business (13)
  • large parties (8)
  • child friendly (6)
  • entertainment (4)
  • ((((* 26 October 2018 by Eileen from Eastbourne

    Had Afternoon Tea with a friend. Atmosphere was lovely, very relaxing and the staff very friendly. The Afternoon Tea was well-presented but it could have been better. Firstly, the helpings were small especially the scones which were tiny. A nice touch was that the scones were wrapped in a napkin to keep them warm. I think one of the staff could have checked with us from time to time to see if everything was OK. I don't know whether it a policy to offer more sandwiches if required but this did not happen. Also when we asked for another pot of tea as the first pot which had been brought at the beginning of the meal was cold, we were given hot water to add - again perhaps we would have been charged extra for a fresh pot of tea? Overall a lovely experience and a fantastic hotel but could be improved.

  • ((((( 25 October 2018 by Marguerite from Londo

    Lovely afternoon tea

  • ((((( 21 October 2018 by Elma from Albuquerque, New Mexico

    We attended High Tea and loved the experience. The sandwiches and sweets were very tasty. The staff were attentive and pleasant

  • ((((* 17 October 2018 by Kathrine from London

    My sister and I enjoyed a lovely afternoon tea at Number Sixteen on October 15. The tea and food were delicious, and the ambience relaxing. The service was, for the most part, excellent. The one complaint is that we were wrongly charged a drink that we initially requested due to confusion and soon after explained this to the hostess. She assured us that it wasn’t a problem and that she wouldn’t put it on our bill. After leaving, we discovered that it was indeed included in our bill even after being assured otherwise. Aside from that issue, I would happily recommend this as a place to dine.

  • ((((* 13 October 2018 by Jennifer from London

    Beautiful setting in this boutique hotel with our choice of garden or indoor table. It was very quiet and the tea service was lovely. A varied selection of savory sandwiches and small deserts. The jams, clotted cream and scones are usually a highlight but the scones were sadly very dry. Service was very good.

  • ((((( 26 September 2018 by Bradley from Kaukauna

    Wonderful atmosphere, the tea was delicious. The food was very good. Excellent variety for the price. The service was beyond expectations. I asked for the recipe for the frosting on the cupcake, not only did they give it to me but also the recipe for the cupcake, both wrapped in ribbon with two more cupcakes for us to bring home. Thank u so much for a lovely afternoon tea. They we're also very accommodating when we couldn't make our original reservation.

  • ((((( 3 September 2018 by Lucie from Montreal

    Very Nice afternoon tea et n à cosy garden. Staff is very nice.

  • ((((( 30 August 2018 by Gillian from London

    very nice afternoon tea, charming staff, lovely setting, very reasonbly oriced

  • ((((* 18 August 2018 by Natasha from London

    The afternoon tea selection was a lovely treat, all the food was delicious and presented nicely. We were lucky enough to be able to sit in the garden which is beautiful.

  • ((((( 10 August 2018 by Christine from Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea

    The earl grey tea and wait service were amazing!

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant