map placeholder

Number Sixteen

16 Sumner Place, London, SW7 3EG

(((() Afternoon Tea
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
Opening hours
Monday - Friday: 12:00 - 17:00
Saturday - Sunday: 12:30 - 17:00

Fantastic service and beautiful grounds. Afternoon tea selection is good too, tea is excellent!

Glennia 18 May 2019
from London

View all 202 reviews

Afternoon Tea at Number Sixteen hotel is an elegant and luxurious affair. With the option to take tea in any of the public spaces, from the library to the tree-filled hotel garden, there is a setting for every weather and occasion.

The Number Sixteen menu covers classic afternoon tea with the usual sandwiches and scones on offer, as well as some lesser-seen creations, such as arancini, accompanied by sweet options such as Bakewell tart. A lighter option on offer is the ‘fruit tea’, which consists of 5 plates of colourful treats themed around blueberries, orange, lime zest and honey. A gluten-free tea is available on request.

The stunning landscaped garden offers a blissful escape from the bustle of London, whilst the colourful drawing room full of modern, decorative art and bright pink fabrics, is a funky, laidback setting. The cosy library and light-flooded conservatory are also open for afternoon tea at Number 16 in London.

Number Sixteen is situated in the heart of South Kensington, with the museums on its doorstep, and South Kensington Tube Station just a 2-minute walk away.

Number Sixteen

16 Sumner Place, London, SW7 3EG

Contact +44 2036422038
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in London

See all restaurants in South West London

Customer reviews for Number Sixteen

4.5 (((() (based on 202 reviews)
94% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((((
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (185)
  • romantic (64)
  • al fresco (58)
  • luxury (47)
  • value (47)
  • trendy (46)
  • private dining (35)
  • lunch (30)
  • breakfast (23)
  • views (18)
  • dinner (17)
  • business (13)
  • large parties (8)
  • child friendly (6)
  • entertainment (4)
  • ((((( 7 January 2019 by Laura from Gothenburg

    After researching a lot of afternoon tea options in London, I settled on Number 16 primarily because it seemed like good value for money. The Kensington location is very beautiful and understated. The lady that hosted us was very attentive and made sure that we had everything we needed. The meal itself was very pleasant, beautifully presented and everything tasted great. I particularly enjoyed the macaroons and the mini cupcake with cream cheese frosting. I would recommend the number sixteen to the those looking for an affordable afternoon tea option without compromising on style.

  • ((((* 1 January 2019 by Adela from Amsterdam

    We had a perfect afternoon tea at number sixteen. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable, the atmosphere was serene and we had a good view of the garden. They also make and fice you a nice looking doggybag if you want to take the leftovers with you. It was a good experience.

  • ((((( 1 January 2019 by Mark from Bromley

    We had afternoon tea which was very nice and in a lovely setting

  • ((((( 24 December 2018 by Zoe from London

    Amazing! We loved it !

  • ((((( 30 November 2018 by Christine from Boston, MA USA

    A lovely, welcoming, delicious place to go for afternoon tea. Can't wait to go back!

  • ((((* 29 November 2018 by Paula from London

    Had afternoon tea w/ my sister & nephew - on holiday in London over Thanksgiving.

  • ((((( 19 November 2018 by Kelly from lennik

    It was my very first afternoon tea and what a wonderful experience it was at Number Sixteen. The staff was very friendly, the hotel and setting were simply beautiful and the afternoon tea was just exquisite ! The scones were very tasty and the cheesecake was to die for !I would gladly return !

  • ((((( 9 November 2018 by Shafiqah from London

    extraordinary service and atmosphere, I always make sure to take my friends to your amazing place when they arrive to London,,its a place that I feel proud when I take any one to..

  • ((((( 31 October 2018 by Eveline from London

    Due to the fancy looking location I was happily surprised the price for afternoon tea was lower than expected, and the service was splendid! Very kind, polite and helpful. The food was delightful too. It looked very nice and we chose this place for afternoon because it had many things on the menu that are like-able or sounded good enough to try. Also offering of hot chocolate instead of tea was a big pro!

  • ((((( 29 October 2018 by Vi from London

    Very good experience at a great price. Loved the scones. Staff were very friendly and meticulous. Huge thanks!

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant